We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and charming.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stone Mill Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
“Comfortable and charming.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

This was a lovely place to stay. We were in the Boat Room. It was comfortable, roomy, and had all the comforts we needed. The breakfast was simple and satisfying. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    59
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
212
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

If you have kids of any age, this is one of the only places in this small town of 785 people that will allow them to stay here. Many of the rooms have great lofts, which was perfect for us with two children under the age of 6. The kids could sleep upstairs while we stayed downstairs watching TV and enjoying a glass of the local wine. Special touches like lotions and soaps made by a local business in the room and providing a selection of wine made by the local winery made the stay unique. Local masseuse resides downstairs from the inn and one of the best restaurants in town (Kari's) is right across the street. The residents down the street were a little noisy around 8pm on Saturday night but they calmed down by 9pm. Don't judge this or other places by the "located on the bike trail" claim. The entire town is located on the bike trail!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Egg Suite which has a private entrance that I absolutely loved! The town is wonderful. We walked around and took in the sights. We didn't use the Root River Trails this time, but plan on going back and using them next time. This is my 2nd stay at Stone Mill Suites, and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

If you want quiet, relaxation, theme suites, great value, very clean, then stay at Stone Mill Inn and Suites in Lanesboro. Hop on your bike and bike one of the most beautiful trails in the US.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

A unique inn built in an old mill with large themed rooms, and jacuzzi rooms. Lanesboro is a quaint town in bluff country, with good food, unique shops, and the Commonweal theater. The Root River flows through town - trout fishing and tubing. The root river bike trail runs through town, it is a scenic enjoyable trail.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbd7877
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

My kids and I really enjoyed our stay at the Stones Mill Inn. We stayed in the Egg Suite and the adjoining Hen House was perfect for our kids. I loved the fact that it was the old cold storage room. It made it the perfect place to sleep. We definitely plan on going back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We (myself , my 15 year old daughter and my 16 month old Daughter) just got home from our 1 night stay at the Stone Mill Suites in Lanesboro Minnesota . We stayed in the Crate room - a great themed room and very spacious . All of the rooms are themed rooms and done in a very tasteful manor. The Stone Mill Suites is a wonderful place to stay with you family or a get away with your spouse . The staff at the Stone Mill is very friendly and accommidating , the area shops have a little bit for everyone and the Pastry Shop is wonderful (not a big menu but the breakfast of toast , omelet and fresh baked scones will have you coming back for more ) . If your passing through Lanesboro or you need a get away you should really check out The Stone Mill Suites . C.G. (Minnesota)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Stone Mill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.