We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stone Mill Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    60
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
46
217
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I loved that the place was clean-especially the bathroom. We stayed in the Crate Room. This is way over-priced---your view out the tiny window is into a cement block retaining wall 2 feet away. Just sayin' if you want a view of the world-this isn't your room. Also, the room is very damp since it's on the lowest level-or basement. No way we could have used the jacuzzi-it would have been like the tropics. I wish the toilet had a lid---you can't set anything on top of the toilet without risk of it falling in. Speaking from experience on this one. As much as they want to keep the "integrity" of the room-I think they should close up the holes in the ceiing where the old junction boxes were--for those of us that have experienced bats or mice--this was too creepy. The continental breakfast was hohum-and shorter time than a traditional hotel-but I guess if you want better, a true B&B is the ticket. The staff was very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Try anything on the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We happened upon the Stone Mill as it was the site of the Amish tour we were taking. It had the perfect room situation for my daughter and I and a foreign exchange student (the Bicycle room) and we booked it sight unseen. The woman at the front desk was extremely helpful, low key, and most kind. She also had the kind of refinement I associate with the British, which was delightful. Our room was immaculate, the sheets were of very high thread count, and all was comfortable. I loved the outside seating as it allowed us to visit with other guests and enjoy the view. The flowers and hanging baskets are exquisite. There is a shed available for safe bicycle storage.

Room Tip: The rooms directly off the main street are accessed by steps and are probably not appropriate for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holdingford, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed in the Amish Room and it was adorable! It was clean, cozy, and a very nice room. We loved the street access from the room and the secure storage area for our bikes. We were impressed with the service and personal care given by staff. Some of the best bike trails we've been on...HIGHLY recommend Stone Mill if you are in town for trails or just to relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stone Mill is exceptionally clean, unique and charming. The owner and employees were very friendly. Breakfast was also very good. The beds were comfortable and it was pretty quiet for sleeping. We enjoyed our stay very much and will likely be back for a third time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

delightful, friendly staff with clean Inn. purpose of trip was to bike and the Inn kept our bikes in a safe, secure location on the property. Easy access to dining/theatre in downtown Lanesboro. Stayed in the Garden Inn Suite that had generous space for two adults.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed two nights at the Stone Mill Hotel and Suites while in Lanesboro for golf and bike riding. Stayed in the Crate Room which we found to be charmingly decorated and comfortable. Rick showed us to our room giving us a history of the building and showed us the vacant room next door. The Stone Mill was convenient located to the bike trails and downtown which made for a nice stroll in the evening for dinner. The Stone Mill will be on our list of places to return too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Stone Mill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.