We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surpassed our expectations by far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stone Mill Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shell Lake, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“surpassed our expectations by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This historic inn was charming and interesting. Each room was cleverly decorated in a different theme. It was clean and attractive. All the people from the inn keeper to the cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. I think it says it all that we are already planning on going back next year. An added note is that the paved Root River Bike Trail is practically right out the door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    60
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
46
217
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Isle, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is our third time staying at the Stone Mill Hotel & Suites and we absolutely love it! Everyone is so very friendly and eager to sit and visit with you. The breakfast is wonderful and the rooms are always nice and clean. We love the different themes of the room and we stay in a different one each time we visit. The town is very quaint and charming. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Lake, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have just returned from spending three days at this wonderful B & B and have already made plans to return for a longer stay in the spring of 2014. Everyone is very friendly and helpful, right down to the cleaning staff and the nice person who takes care of the filling breakfast each morning. The town is a great place to relax, shop, and see the sights. Five of our group of six brought bikes so that they could take advantage of the outstanding trails in the area, and there is a bike and kayak rental place in town for those who don't bring such things but change their mind after getting there. There is a shed for storing your bikes, and the outlet for a winery around the corner. Shopping is excellent and all within two or three blocks.

Room Tip: There are various room sizes; there should be something for everyone. There are two rooms on the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our third stay at the Stone Mill. My husband and I have been extremely satisfied at every visit. We love the location, the atmosphere, the themed rooms, the excellent staff. This stay we included my elderly in-laws, and the staff went out of their way to make accommodations for their physical needs. The only draw back was that the first night the phone in the common area, below our room, rang on two occasions, waking us up.

Room Tip: My husband says, "You can't go wrong!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waite Park, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed one night at the Stone Mill over our annual fall trip. I liked the small town feel of the place. We stayed in the Fish Room and it was very clean. Next time I would try a different room. I also liked the feeling of staying in a bed and breakfast but it is not one. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was OK. Plan to make this a stop again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Downtown Lanesboro is at your door. The pastries are excellent! The rooms are a lot of fun. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will stay there again when we want a quick biking/hiking outing. While we didn't take advantage of it, the commons area looked like a great place for group gatherings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We love staying at the Stone Mill Suites! The hospitality is terrific (thanks, Mandy, for making us feel so welcome!), the breakfast is great, the rooms are decorated nicely and it is very clean. The location is convenient to all the shops and restaurants AND to the fabulous bike trail.

Room Tip: Check out the photos on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Stone Mill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.