We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the Stone Mill Hotel and Suites...always a memorable stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Stone Mill Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Tingo.com
and 4 more sites!
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lanesboro
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staying at the Stone Mill Hotel and Suites...always a memorable stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I drive from Mpls to Lanesboro, MN several times every summer to bike the Root River bike trail. We always stay at the Stone Mill Hotel and Suites. We are always greeted with a friendly smile and the most accommodating staff. Their location is ideal for biking, touring, or just wanting to walk through this beautiful historic town! We have stayed in all of their themed suites and have enjoyed the cleanliness and unique decorating for each and every one of them. We would highly recommend the Stone Mill Hotel and Suites to anyone wishing to visit Lanesboro! We book our stay for midweek as they fill up quickly on weekends.

Room Tip: A Jacuzzi Suite is relaxing...after a day of biking the scenic Root River Trail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    56
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
41
198
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay! The location is PERFECT, the staff is so kind, and the rooms are fun, clean and comfortable. They provide an excellent breakfast with delicious local pastries being a favorite. We especially enjoyed the free local wine tasting they had the night we arrived. As I mentioned, the staff is awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our stay at Stone Mill was fabulous! From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and right at home! We were three couples enjoying an extended weekend and we all had a wonderful time. Our rooms were very quaint and VERY clean. The common areas made for great gathering and socializing time for our group and other guests. Love Lanesboro! We will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, MN
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Once again we enjoyed a lovely stay at this Inn. You never have to move your vehicle again to enjoy the small yet full of options of things to do town of Lanesboro. The breakfast was fresh and delicious ... Inn & rooms spotlessly clean and well appointed ... like stepping back in time. We enjoy the glider chairs/table on the front deck for visiting, sipping wine and just relaxing and enjoying the sights. The live Theater is just across the street and the winery only a block or so away. There are many excellent dining experiences to enjoy from casual like the diner on wheels to fine dining right across the street. The staff are very accommodating and pleasant ... all of our needs were well met. We will visit many times in the future, and continue to tell others about it.

Hope to see you again soon,

Cliff & Wendy
Waverly, MN

Room Tip: The Forest room is a favorite ... if you require a King size bed then we like the Garden Loft Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnells, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stone Mill Hotel & Suites is a great place to stay and relax at while visiting Lanesboro MN. I stayed there while on a biking journey as it is very close the the trail. Friendly staff, great rooms and an excellent breakfast made the trip so enjoyable. A great biking trail and a great place to stay, can't beat Stone Mill Hotel & Suites!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at StoneMill Suites for our 36th wedding anniversary. The Inn is very nicely done with unique rooms. IT is centrally located in downtown Lanesboro which made our getting around so easy on our two feet! The Inn was helpful in obtaining reservations and making sure we had everything we needed during our stay. It was a nice break!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A lovely place to stay that is near everything to make your trip a success. Staff was extremely helpful throughout our stay. The bike paths in Lanesboro are incredible so highly recommend bringing your bikes. The theatre in Lanesboro is of the highest quality. Overall, a wonderful place for a fun weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Stone Mill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.