We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Anniversary at The Stone Mill Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stone Mill Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Delano, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Anniversary at The Stone Mill Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 35th anniversary at the Stone Mill Inn and Suites in Aug. 2013 and will definitely return there sometime. The owners and staff were so genuinely friendly and welcoming, always taking time to chat with their visitors. We had an incredible meal at a restaurant called Intermission which is right next door to the Commonweal Theatre where we went for a great performance after dinner. Both are located directly across from The Stone Mill so it was super convenient. When the play let out fireworks were just beginning in honor of Buffalo Bill Days, but it felt like our own personal "anniversary commemoration!" The owner of the Stone Mill had set out chairs and tables, partially blocking the street, so their guests would all have premiere viewing of the fireworks.....nice touch and great fun! We biked both days on the Root River Trail and enjoyed exploring Lanesboro with it's quaint shops and restaurants as well as several little towns on the bike route. We loved the fact that we parked our car upon arrival on Friday and didn't get back in it until our departure on Sun. yet saw so much! We stayed in the Mill room and liked the privacy and uniqueness of being in the old restored mill though a quick look at some of the other rooms led us to think that there wouldn't be a "bad" one to be had!
Thanks so much for a memorable trip!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Mill Room. Very private; only room in the building so have it all to yourself at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    59
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
212
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Davenport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great place to stay for a getaway. Close to everything. Just steps away from the Commonweal Theater and a block off the bike trail. The staff and the owner were very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast. Great giftshop with many locally produced items. We will return there again!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the breakfast eating area will be quieter for late sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukee, Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We love Stone Mill Hotel & Suites! We always request the Amish room because you can conveniently park right outside your door. The staff are always very friendly and helpful; the room is always clean; the breakfast has wonderful pastries. Having locked storage for our bikes is a nice plus.

Room Tip: Amish room has inside and outisde doors. You can park right by the outisde door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Point, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this Inn. Great attention to detail was given. The locked bike storage was so appreciated and sitting on the porch a pleasant and relaxing place to be. Wonderful easy breakfast....spotless rooms, and gracious host and staff. Highly recommend this Inn with wonderful biking just a block away. We stayed Mid week ( aug 20-22) and it was quiet in town and the trails were ours! Claudia

Room Tip: Loved being on the lower floor, 2nd floor suite( the forest suite). Quiet, and easy access to the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We would highly recommend Stone Mill Hotel & Suites to anyone looking for a relaxing get away in Lanesboro. We definetly plan to go back again. The staff was excellent and our room, with a whirlpool, was very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I went to the Stone Mill for a quick two day getaway. We had a great time biking and exploring the town. The hotel was great and the staff was very friendly. Loved all the different themed rooms. Would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in the "Grain Room". The room was very attractive, clean, and comfortable. My only comments are that the Grain Room overlooks the parking lot and up Main Street, which is not bad, but there is a light in the parking lot and at night the curtains do not block out that light. Light blocking curtains would solve this problem. Also, the room is on the 4th floor and up a steep set of stairs. While this was not a problem for us, it may be for someone else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Stone Mill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.