We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE! LOCATION GIVEN INACCURATE & STAFF HAS QUIT” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Podere Campaini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Podere Campaini to your Saves list
Podere Campaini
Vicinale Capriggine 111 | Volterra, 56048 Villamagna, Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BEWARE! LOCATION GIVEN INACCURATE & STAFF HAS QUIT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We had reservations for May 1. After a long day of driving, we arrived in Villamagna, only to discover that the directions provided by the lodging were totally insufficient and inaccurate. I called the place and got an Italian voicemail....no one to talk to. I then called both the cell numbers provided by the lodging on Venere and both very nice ladies told me in their best but heavily accented English that they no longer work there, that no one at Podere Compaini spoke English, that it was hard to find, but they tried to give directions.. As best I could understand from them, this place is not in Volterra or Villamagna---maybe somewhere in between but no specific directions given by the property on the website or confirmation, and current Garmin GPS does not show the road existing--- and although many podere and agriturismo have signs on the roads, Podere. Compaini does not. After spending over an hour trying unsuccessfully to find the place, including asking the carabinieri in Villamagna, I gave up and drove back to Siena, luckily getting a last minute room at Il Canto del Sole (very nice--go there instead of Podere Campaini.) Unless you can talk to the owner directly and get explicit directions, don't book here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This family run accommodation is everything a couple singles family - anyone really would need to enjoy a stay in rural Tuscany. I am a lone parent and stayed with Daiana and Cassandra for one week with my family and my son's girlfriend. They were 14, 17, and 18. We had a great time - Daiana and Casandra and their family make you feel very much at home - it is indeed just that - a home from home and the apartments are new and beautifully presented - the pool spotless cleaned every day for 3 hours. The view from anywhere is spectacular rolling Tuscan hills and cypress trees. We will definitely be going back. The only tip I would give is a car is needed definitely to make the best of the surrounding area - 10 mins from Volterra by car, 1 hour to Pisa and 1 hour to Florence.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

My wife and I travelled to Italy for the first time in May 2011 with our 2 teenagers. This was the first place we stayed and it was perhaps our favorite mostly because of the wonderful people. Cassandra was genuinely friendly, helpful, and interested in our family and our trip. We got very lost trying to find the property (never rent a car without a GPS, doh!). Cassandra had us park on the edge of Volterra and then she drove into Volterra and found us. The rooms were squeaky clean, as was the pool.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Podere Campaini was the best part of my Italian vacation last summer. I thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful, authentic food , chatting and dining with the other guests, the beautiful pool and the gorgeous scenery all around. And, the hostesses were incredibly accommodating and friendly. They embraced me into their warm family and I cannot wait to go back! Thank you, Daiana and Cassandra!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We returned for a short holiday at this well-run and very friendly Agriturismo farmhouse because of the package being offered that included riding in the local area and also because of the location and good quality accommodation.

The accommodation and setting were once again excellent and it was very nice to see the local area at a different time of the year.

We went riding for an afternoon. The package was organised in conjunction with Area 52 Park who looked after us very well and took us in to beautiful parts of the countryside. The horses (and guides) were patient and great fun.

The addition of riding to our holiday made the overall break tremendously relaxing and we highly recommend both Podere Campaini and Area 52 Park to provide a super holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

This villa is in a beautiful location and is far from main roads so very quiet. The villa has been well refurbished and has excellent and modern facilities while retaining the traditional look and feel one would expect from a villa in Tuscany.

The surrounding villages and towns are within easy reach but again not too close to retain the feeling of peace and quiet.

The owners are extremely helpful, friendly and made our stay a great pleasure.

We look forward to returning to Podere Campaini.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Podere Campaini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Campaini

Address: Vicinale Capriggine 111 | Volterra, 56048 Villamagna, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra > Villamagna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Villamagna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Campaini is a charming agritourism holiday farm poised on the crest of a hilly expanse, amongst an olive grove, overlooking the small, enchanting city of Volterra, in poetic Tuscany. The Campaini Estates offer spacious, comfortable apartments styled in traditional Tuscan architecture, characterized by sturdy wrought iron beds and timbered ceiling beams. Brightly sunlit living spaces are replete with modern conveniences: television, air conditioning and broadband Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Podere Campaini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podere Campaini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.