We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of World's End

World's End
Arundel Road, Patching BN13 3UQ, England
01903 871346
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
World's End is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Patching
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Satisfactory but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Visited for Sunday lunch with my father and son. Roast Pork and Roast beef were on offer but there were other items on the menu (including burgers) plus some specials.

The Roast Beef came with roast potatoes and three vegetables (swede, red cabbage and carrots) as well as a Yorkshire pudding. The taste was nothing special but I could not fault the size of the helpings. My son's opinion of the food was less complementary than mine. One of our party ordered scampi and chips off the specials board which I suspect was bought in pre-prepared.

There looked like there was a good selection of beers but unfortunately I did not sample them as I was driving.

When we arrived the pub was about a quarter full and the service was reasonable although they did seem to take a long time to serve the food. As the pub filled up, the service degraded.

There were a lot of families with young children and the pub served them happily.

The building itself is quite nice and well decorated unlike other places I have been to although it does feel as though it is part of a chain rather than a "local". There is plenty of car parking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    29
    25
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Please don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Like previous reviewers we used to go here and thought we would give it another go, first mistake ! Second mistake putting Up with sub.standard main courses, I ordered liver and bacon with mash which was totally over cooked potato was more like sauce and the liver tough and rubbery,my husbands lasagne salad and garlic bread was only enough to feed a 5 year old a blessing In disguise really as it was boil in the bag quality ,third mistake ordering sweet , my bread and butter pudding was an absolute insult a stale dried looking slice of bread wedged in a tapas ramakin no moisture at all ,even the poor waitress was embarrassed to serve it , my husbands mixed berry crumble was so microwaved it was hard and uneatable, feedback given to the snarly faced manager was not taken kindly who said he had never had a complaint before ,believe that you will believe anything

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arundel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“its certainly changed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

we used to go here quite a bit a couple of years ago, the food was good and the bonus was you could take dogs in.

however now it isnt worth visiting anymore. the older male bar man has always been abrupt and rude but i'd of hoped he could answer a simple question about the menu without any sarcastic remark, no such luck. it is also frustrating to go out, ask for what you want and be picked out on silly details in how you request it.

each of our dishes was either bland, overly dry, burnt, overpriced, overly cooked in the microwave, covered in things that werent listed on the menu, lacking the things mentioned on the menu, flavourless or inedible. there really wasn't any point complaining as the waitress wasn't fussed and the bar man really wouldn't of given a damn.

i understand businesses work hard to create a good atmosphere and menu and websites like this don't help but i really wouldn't want someone to waste their money

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We arrived at lunchtime having decided to give this place a chance after its refurbishment, there were only a few other people already in there and there wasn't a warm or welcoming atmosphere. The décor was impressive but it was cold inside. We waited to be served with our drinks and were given a menu to peruse. The waitress (who had forgotten how to smile) came to take our order, after selecting what we wanted we were then told there were no grills working and the burgers, steak and gammon etc were all off the menu. We then reselected the lasagne and one of the specials off the board, which we hadn't been told about by the waitress - a barbecue chicken. Our meal was served within 10 mins of ordering and looked and tasted awful, the lasagne looked like a microwaved ready made one from a cheap supermarkets basic line and had no taste to it, nor the filled layers as you would expect. My friends chicken was tough and smothered in a luke warm sauce, the frozen peas appeared as if they had only been shown hot water and a few chips on the side finished off the dish. We did not even attempt a sweet. In all we were out of there within an hour wishing we had continued a bit further up the road to The Fox where we knew we could be assured of excellent food, warmth and friendly service. We will not be going again to the Worlds End which is a shame as the premises are impressive, and we will not be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Nice meal visted the Worlds End with my Daughter and son in Law. We had a lovely meal however the platters we had for a starter was very dissapointing we had the .Hot & Crispy platter which at £12.75 and £ 7.99 for the mezze board was very expensive they were very small. when we expressed our dissapointment to the waitress her reply was " yeah everyone complains about the platters. Would go back but would not have the platters again as compared to other restaurants they were not good value for money.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World's End also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Angmering, Littlehampton
 
Angmering, Littlehampton
Angmering, Littlehampton
 

Been to World's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World's End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.