We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific expirience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frog & Bear Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frog & Bear Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Frog & Bear Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
411 West Center Street, Lake City, MN 55041   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Lake City B&B and Inns
Rochester, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific expirience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very nice rooms, great breakfast and nice hosts. I highly recommend this B&B. The best part of our stay was the personal attention we received from the innkeepers. They went out of their way to make our weekend special!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our book club group had a delightful stay at the Frog and Bear, with shuttle service from the marina, and a quick guided tour of Lake City. The house was charming, the rooms were clean, and the beds were super comfortable. The breakfast was amazing. Dale and Betty were gracious hosts. All in all, a wonderful experience that bears (not to mention frogs) repeating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Frog and Bear B&B last Saturday. The hosts are warm and friendly, also very accommodating! We stayed in a comfortable room. It was charming and romantic. Also nice and quiet (there were 2 other couples there as well). The neighborhood is picturesque and quaint. Nice for a moonlit walk! Nice park nearby and downtown is close. The breakfast was delicious!! I especially appreciated the extra "touches" i.e. the cute brownie sundae for breakfast dessert, refilling my coffee cup, water and soda's near our room, availability of brochures. I would highly recommend this B&B! We really enjoyed our stay in Lake City!
John and Melissa B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had a lovely time at the Frog & Bear, Beautiful rooms, Wonderful 4 course Breakfast, the Hosts were very Knowledgeable and had good information on Lake City. Located walking distance from the town and Lake Pepin. The B & B has 4 rooms, and we have booked all 4 rooms for next a night next June, we just loved this B & B.

Room Tip: Go to there website online and view each room, thy have 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Lovely home, eclectic and fun. Room was small but nice, and very quiet. Breakfast was delicious; inkeepers were great. We walked to downtown and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Frog and Bear provided a comfortable stay in a nicely furnished home.
Our room was small, however the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.
Betty was very helpful without being intrusive.
The breakfast was good and very filling.
The location was great- an easy walk to restaurants and Lake Pepin.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

My boyfriend took me here for a night away from the Twin Cities to celebrate my birthday. It was our first time in a B&B and this lived up to the name. It sort of reminded us of grandma's house with lace curtins and piano and harp, and all the frogs and bears that the owners collect charmingly placed around the house.
The room was nice, lace curtins and a very comfortable bed. A hightlight was the two-person jacuzzi tub in the huge bathroom.
The owners were friendly and even left sparkling grape juice and chocolates outside the door of our room when we returned at night.

And the best part was the 4-course breakfast with amazing popovers, waffles, fruit, and a pecan dessert served while the man of the us told us enthusastically about all that Lake City and the surronding area had to offer.

Thoroughly charming.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake City
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
15.5 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
12.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wabasha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
16.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
16.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog & Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog & Bear Bed & Breakfast

Address: 411 West Center Street, Lake City, MN 55041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frog & Bear B&B is a charming 1890 Victorian home that features four unique and very beautifully appointed guest rooms all with private baths. Stocked butler's pantry, up stairs out side your room available to guests 24 hours a day. The front porch and secret garden are the perfect spots for sitting and relaxing. Beautiful Lake Pepin, the widest spot on the Mississippi River, is just a short walk from The Frog & Bear. In the morning, a sumptuous full breakfast is served in the elegantly appointed dining room by the fireplace. The Frog & Bear also officiates Non-Denominational Wedding Ceremonies - Civil, Secular, Religious or Interfaith. Personalized ceremonies created to reflect you, your relationship, and your beliefs. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frog & Bear Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.