We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific expirience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frog & Bear Bed & Breakfast

Frog & Bear Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frog & Bear Bed & Breakfast
411 West Center Street, Lake City, MN 55041   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Lake City B&B and Inns
Rochester, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific expirience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Very nice rooms, great breakfast and nice hosts. I highly recommend this B&B. The best part of our stay was the personal attention we received from the innkeepers. They went out of their way to make our weekend special!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our book club group had a delightful stay at the Frog and Bear, with shuttle service from the marina, and a quick guided tour of Lake City. The house was charming, the rooms were clean, and the beds were super comfortable. The breakfast was amazing. Dale and Betty were gracious hosts. All in all, a wonderful experience that bears (not to mention frogs) repeating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Frog and Bear B&B last Saturday. The hosts are warm and friendly, also very accommodating! We stayed in a comfortable room. It was charming and romantic. Also nice and quiet (there were 2 other couples there as well). The neighborhood is picturesque and quaint. Nice for a moonlit walk! Nice park nearby and downtown is close. The breakfast was delicious!! I especially appreciated the extra "touches" i.e. the cute brownie sundae for breakfast dessert, refilling my coffee cup, water and soda's near our room, availability of brochures. I would highly recommend this B&B! We really enjoyed our stay in Lake City!
John and Melissa B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had a lovely time at the Frog & Bear, Beautiful rooms, Wonderful 4 course Breakfast, the Hosts were very Knowledgeable and had good information on Lake City. Located walking distance from the town and Lake Pepin. The B & B has 4 rooms, and we have booked all 4 rooms for next a night next June, we just loved this B & B.

Room Tip: Go to there website online and view each room, thy have 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Lovely home, eclectic and fun. Room was small but nice, and very quiet. Breakfast was delicious; inkeepers were great. We walked to downtown and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Frog and Bear provided a comfortable stay in a nicely furnished home.
Our room was small, however the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.
Betty was very helpful without being intrusive.
The breakfast was good and very filling.
The location was great- an easy walk to restaurants and Lake Pepin.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

My boyfriend took me here for a night away from the Twin Cities to celebrate my birthday. It was our first time in a B&B and this lived up to the name. It sort of reminded us of grandma's house with lace curtins and piano and harp, and all the frogs and bears that the owners collect charmingly placed around the house.
The room was nice, lace curtins and a very comfortable bed. A hightlight was the two-person jacuzzi tub in the huge bathroom.
The owners were friendly and even left sparkling grape juice and chocolates outside the door of our room when we returned at night.

And the best part was the 4-course breakfast with amazing popovers, waffles, fruit, and a pecan dessert served while the man of the us told us enthusastically about all that Lake City and the surronding area had to offer.

Thoroughly charming.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frog & Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog & Bear Bed & Breakfast

Address: 411 West Center Street, Lake City, MN 55041
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lake City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lake City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frog & Bear Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Frog & Bear Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list