We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sterling Bed and Breakfast

The Sterling Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sterling Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Sterling Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
312 W Lyon Ave, Lake City, MN 55041   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Lake City B&B and Inns
Shoreview, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lake city is a hidden gem for us, and we found out this B&B based on tripadvisor reviews and they are very true. We stayed for two nights on the Memorial weekend, and the stay was as relax as you can get. Susie is a wonderful host, and the restaurant Nosh which she recommended is so good that we went there twice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie S, Owner at The Sterling Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We had so much fun visiting with both of you during your stay with us! Your description of the places you visited while here were so interesting (and the description of the eagle having "lunch" was very eye opening). Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. We so appreciate it - and hope to see you again!! Enjoy your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a wonderful stay. Dave and Suzie were outstanding hosts. We had the house to ourselves and a beautiful restoration. Breakfast was outstanding and my only regret is we only stayed one night. Suzie even mailed me an article of clothing I left there free of charge. You don't find hospitality like this very often. We'll be back.
Jeannette R

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie S, Owner at The Sterling Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We are always so appreciative of guests who leave us such glowing reviews. Thank you! Of course, as we have said before, our guests are wonderful and they make it easy to pamper them :) The conversation at the breakfast table is where the fun really lies - and we had a great time visiting with both of you. I was happy to mail back the item you left. Thanks for your patience in the time it took me to get it on its way. And we would certainly welcome a return trip for you at The Sterling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed last weekend and had a wonderful time. Suzie and Dave have a long history of running B&B's and it shows. Wonderful hospitality, great breakfast, I would definitely go back! Thank you Suzie and Dave!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie S, Owner at The Sterling Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We enjoyed visiting with both of you and would love to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I were lucky to have our first bed and breakfast experience at The Sterling. Dave and Suzie were extremely friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the Austin Room and would recommend that room to anyone. The rooms were nice and cozy, but still offered plenty of space. The common areas were a nice place to relax in the evening with a glass of wine and the fire place in the background. We really enjoyed the dinner recommendation Suzie gave us as well. The made from scratch breakfast was also excellent. We really enjoyed conversing with Dave and Suzie and hearing their stories of the family and about the B&B business. We have nothing but good things to stay and took home some great memories from our first B&B experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie S, Owner at The Sterling Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! We enjoyed having you stay at our B & B. You are a delightful young couple and visiting with you was interesting and fun. We also attended the donkey basketball fundraiser at our local high school after your description of a game you attended. It was hysterical and we would have never considered going without your input. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This cozy and warm bed and breakfast is the perfect getaway for the weekend. It has a charm and warmth like no other. The owners run it and they make sure nothing goes bad, and make your stay a delightful one. The little details impressed me, and the rooms are enchanting. It is a real gem, located in a small town with its own charm. My fiancee and I had a great time, and we would go back in a heart beat. Lovely place!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own charm. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie S, Owner at The Sterling Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Cozy and warm are the two words we use most to describe our B & B. Thank you for putting those in your review!! You two were so cute and fun to have stay. I remember breakfast was really buzzing with lively conversation while you were here and you were definitely part of that energy. Thank you for your well worded review. You portrayed our B & B just as we hope it is perceived.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We read the reviews before staying here for our anniversary and The Sterling B&B lived up to all of our expectations. Suzy and Dave are wonderful, gracious hosts and have done a fabulous job of rennovating this house. The location is great if you wish to walk to dinner or the marina. We would have been happy with any of the rooms, but choose the Austin as it was the largest. We also spent time on the large, comfy porch and in the library room. The furnishings are high quality and everything is immaculate and tastefully decorated. Breakfast and the treats provided were amazing. We would highly recommend The Sterling to anyone looking for lodging in the Lake Pepin area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie S, Owner at The Sterling Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We have been a bit amazed at the incredible words describing guest stays at our B & B. We know that people have high expectations when they come here so we are thrilled when we meet those. That is our goal, but having guests like yourselves, makes our job easy. Thank you for telling our story for us in such a wonderful manner in your review. We cannot thank you enough for taking the time and effort to do so :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary with an overnight at the Sterling Bed and Breakfast this summer. We wish we could have stayed at least two nights! The place was cozy and Suzy and Dave, the innkeepers, were warm and caring. We loved our room (the Austin) and felt completely at home. We hope to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie S, Owner at The Sterling Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
When guests come to celebrate an anniversary or birthday, we know it is a special visit. Our hope is that we convey to them how we also think it is pretty special and we try to provide a few extras to cement that visit in your mind as a positive experience. You are such a lovely couple! I know you are both quite busy so we are grateful that you took the time to write a review for us. As we tell all our guests, please come again. We would be honored to pamper you another time. The porch is waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sterling Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Bed and Breakfast

Address: 312 W Lyon Ave, Lake City, MN 55041
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lake City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lake City
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sterling Bed and Breakfast! Nestled in the Mississippi Bluffs area of Minnesota’s South Shore, Lake City is located on beautiful Lake Pepin, a naturally occurring lake on the Mississippi River. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sterling Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.