We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay , great view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Hall's Alaskan Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
John Hall's Alaskan Lodge
1127 N Lakeshore Drive, Lake City, MN 55041   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lake City
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay , great view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Very clean , inexpensive place to stay ...... was pleasantly surprised ........... I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, MN.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I stumbled across this unadvertised lodge several years ago and was amazed at the location, comfort and price! could not believe more people didn't know about this place. I had vacationed in the area several times before and did not notice it at first.... so glad I finally had checked it out!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We first came accross this hotel by accident upon arrival to Pepin by boat from Iowa. Needed a place to stay and were shocked that we had a suite for such a low price! Very clean, well decorated rooms with nice kitchenettes/fridge/microwave in suites. We have parked in the marina and John himself drove us to our boat at the marina when we were ready to go home! Kind people! They recommend good restaurants locally. We have stayed here with friends in winter, arrived by boat in summer, and returned in the fall for our anniversary. The fireplaces are wonderful in winter and fall! The hottubs in the suites are awesome and it is just a really romantic place to spend a weekend!!!! Sitting up on the deck and watching the lake is so relaxing. We are hooked and will keep returning. ---Cory & Sarah from Iowa

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnhallsalaska, Owner at John Hall's Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We only spent 1 night here and were so disappointed that we had to leave. The room was beautiful. We had a suite on the second floor. The vaulted ceilings made the room seem large. There was a queen sized bed that was utterly comfotable with a thick pillow top and 300 count sheets. We had a plasma TV and a leather couch in the room. The bathroom had a separate walkin shower and large jacuzzi tub with well working jets. There were double sinks and very nice granite like counters and tile floors. We had a balcony that looked out to Lake Pepin and the bluffs of Wisconsin. The staff were kind and efficient. There is a fridge and microwave in the room and a few dishes if you wanted to eat take out on something other than paper. If I had a complaint it would be that you can hear the road traffic and the train when it goes by. But that didn't matter as everything else was so wonderful. I can't wait to go back again and stay there. It is very reasonable in price also. They have larger suites but we did not see them. Ours was perfect for 2.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie du Chien, WI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

My wife and I booked a one-night stay at the Alaskan Lodge on Saturday, August 8, 2009, as we traveled along the Minnesota side of the Mississippi River. The previous night we had stayed on the Wisconsin side and visited Waumandee, Alma, Nelson before crossing over at Wabasha, MN, and heading up Highway 61 to Lake City, Minnesota.

We arrived to the property late morning and were pleasantly surprised that our room was already cleaned and ready! We had a standard suite (#9) that had a living room window view of Lake Pepin. The room décor was as advertised. You entered into a small living area with black leather loveseat/couch and recliner; small table and two chairs for dining and a kitchenette. Should you wish to cook while visiting (we did not), a stove top, microwave and small refrigerator was provided. There were also dishes and tableware for use and a small sink for clean-up. There was a separate bedroom area with queen bed and dresser and a step-down full bathroom off the bedroom. All furnishings were very nice and clean. We did have some “minor” housekeeping issues which I reported at checkout – the recliner did not recline as the mechanism was broken; the toilet needed to be adjusted every flush or it would continue to run; and the drains in the bathroom took forever to go down and when taking a shower the water was well above my ankles before I was finished. The A/C unit was located in the front wall of the living room and seemed to cool the entire area but with the very humid conditions we experienced while visiting, it seemed quite damp in the bedroom and bath areas. There was one TV with cable in the living room area and wireless Internet was accessible free of charge.

We are more the shopping/tourist type of people and found the downtown Lake City shopping to be marginal at best. We spent a couple of hours walking the downtown before heading 15 minutes “upstream” to Red Wing. We found the shopping in Red Wing more interesting and spent time there before heading back to the Alaskan Lodge to “cool off” as highs were in the mid 90s with humidity levels 60% or higher! Lake City seems to be the place for boating, jet skis, water skiing, etc. We did enjoy the walking path along Lake Pepin as we strolled around after sunset.

The highlight of the Lake City trip was our dinner at the Chickadee Cottage Café. This restaurant is well-known for their breakfasts and lunches and opens for dinner seasonally on Saturday evenings only. We had a 7 p.m. reservation and the food and service could not have been better. I enjoyed the sirloin steak dinner for $12.95 and my wife had the shrimp for just $9.95! The prices were so affordable and the food was delicious. The Chickadee also offered drink specials, beer and soft drinks. I would highly recommend this restaurant during your visit to Lake City.

I think you’ll find the Alaskan Lodge a nice choice when visiting Lake City. The location is excellent – right off Highway 61 with a direct view of Lake Pepin. Our room rate was $129.00 for the standard suite and we felt it met our expectations…even with the minor housekeeping problems.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul,MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Absoluted Beautiful! We opened the room door and didn't want to leave. Everything plus more to for a very romantic overnight extra special. Didn't want to leave. Fireplace and Jacuzzi along with the large layout for the room we loved the best. The price was very reasonable. We will be back many more times along with telling friends.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

We came into town really late at night and saw the AmericInn about a block away from Alaska Lodge. We were going to stay at the AmericInn but decided to check out the lodge. I am really glad we did. The room was beautiful and felt very much like home. The price was also cheaper than the AmericInn. The rooms have everything you need, some even have stoves. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Liked — It felt very home like
  • Disliked — the parking lot was really slippery
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to John Hall's Alaskan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Hall's Alaskan Lodge

Address: 1127 N Lakeshore Drive, Lake City, MN 55041
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lake City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All lake view suites. Two types of suites- Standard and Superior Suites. Superior suites feature whirlpool jacuzzi tubs, flat screen TVs, kitchenettes, fireplaces, private deck- perfect for a romantic getaway. Standard suites are Alaskan cabin style featuring full or mini kitchens with two rooms suites and leather furniture. Most comfortable beds on Lake City! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Hall`s Alaskan Hotel Lake City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Hall's Alaskan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added John Hall's Alaskan Lodge to your Saves list