We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best smoked fish in the north” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Russ Kendall's Smoke House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Russ Kendall's Smoke House
149 Scenic Dr, Knife River, MN 55609
218-834-5995
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best smoked fish in the north”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stop here and get the sugar cured king salmon. I have given this as a gift to several people and they practically beg for more.
They say it is the best they ever had!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cheese curds and smoked fish galore...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

What could be better. Everyone knows Kendall's. I wish they were around the corner from my house! Loved the Cajun curds and the smoked whitefish and trout. Yum!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Tourist Stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I got trapped into stopping here by Andrew Zimmerman and his show on the Travel Channel. I should have skipped it, like I did Bettys Pies. Expensive for what it is. I asked for a "small" piece of smoked whitefish and was given a 1 pound hunk. Tough to eat when driving, so we stopped along the lake shore and enjoyed the view while we sampled the fish. A little goes a long ways. When we arrived at the Art House B&B in Grand Marais, we shared our fish with the other guests.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great smoked white fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It isn't anything to look at inside- but you can't beat the smoked white fish. I wish I would have gotten more. Nothing says Northshore like a great smoked fish. Thanks

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We always stop here for the smoked shrimp. The cost is a bit steep at $4.00 a piece but they are a great treat and a must whenever we go up the north shore.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russ Kendall's Smoke House also viewed

 

Been to Russ Kendall's Smoke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russ Kendall's Smoke House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.