We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B we've ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luppitt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Luppitt EX14 4RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Luppitt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best B&B we've ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have stayed in many B&B's and have just come back from spending a wonderful 2 nights at Dolish Farmhouse and it is the best B&B that we've ever stayed in! The owners - Jane & Jonathan were charming, friendly and extremely hospitable - you felt as if you were staying with friends.
We arrived after a 5 hour drive, to some delicious, freshly made, lemon drizzle cake (still warm) and some lovely tea & coffee.
The farmhouse has been renovated to exceptionally high standards and is really tastefully decorated. We stayed in the Hartridge room and had the best nights sleep that we've had in a very long time. We had a superking sized bed - perfect for my 6'4'' husband! The mattress was memory foam - the first time we've slept on this and it was extremely comfortable. The bedroom was large, with plenty of wardrobe & drawer space. There was also a sofa and little table, which was great, so we didn't have to just sit on the bed. There were tea & coffee making facilities and Jane would frequently bring us little flasks of fresh milk up to the bedroom.
The bathroom was a really great size, with a fabulous large shower, sink & toilet. There was also the welcome addition of a chair in the bathroom too. There was always plenty of hot water, no matter what time of day or night.
The entire farmhouse is warm and cosy and it's spotlessly clean and there are lots of little personal touches throughout.
Jane's breakfasts are to die for! The best cooked breakfast that we've ever had. Not greasy, full of flavour and cooked to perfection, all of which I believe is sourced locally. They have their own hens and you can really taste the difference between their hens eggs and the supermarket eggs that we're used to. Jane also makes fresh bread each morning, which is delicious and the preserves are locally produced. She also provides cereals, yogurt and fresh fruit.
Dolish Farmhouse is in blisfully quiet surroundings, down a really quiet country lane with nothing to hear but birdsong - a perfect location to get away from it all. We have certainly come away feeling really refreshed & relaxed.
Jane & Jonathon also showed us around their other rooms available to book in the future, including self catering accomodation, which we're considering about using in the future if we come again with our children. All the rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated to as high a standard as our room was. So which ever room you book - you will not be disappointed.
We booked the farmhouse as a base to stay at, whilst we attended a wedding in a nearby village and our only disappointment was that we couldn't have stayed at Dolish Farmhouse longer. We really didn't want to leave!! When we are next in the area, we will without doubt book the Dolish Farmhouse to stay in again.
We cannot recommend it highly enough....Book...You will NOT be disappointed! We initially booked it, after reading the previous glowing reports on here. Just check out all the previous reviews - we can't all be wrong!!!!
Thank you Jane & Jonathon for making us feel so welcome & providing us with a wonderful slice of much needed rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Well that's the most detailed review we have ever received! Thank you so much for the time and effort you have put into that. It means a great deal to us as owners to have such positive feedback and gives us renewed energy! More importantly of course it's enormously informative for prospective future guests.
I'm glad we had the opportunity to show you our self-catering "Cider Loft" hide-away too (which is now listed separately on Trip Advisor under Honiton Holiday Rentals.) Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
31
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this fantastic bed and breakfast and would highly recommend to anyone. Our room was great, massive bed, although the memory foam mattress was not to our liking, but this is purely a personal thing. Bathroom spotless with good shower and plenty of hot water. As someone else has said, a lovely touch with the chair in the bathroom and coat hooks on the bedroom wall. Masses of space in the wardrobes too. This really is a quality b & b and we will not be going anywhere else when visiting our relatives close by. The breakfast was superb, on the first morning I mentioned I did not like smoked bacon and the next morning Jonathan had got some in especially, which was a lovely touch and much appreciated. The homemade bread was to die for as was all the food. The only thing missing for us was a TV in the room, but can understand the reasons that TV's were not in the rooms (in case other guests came in late and had the sound up high to disturb other guests). Although maybe a polite note would suffice?

Room Tip: All rooms were great (we had a guided tour) Although one is not ensuite but private bathroom opposit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your comprehensive appraisal. Jane & I are delighted that you plan to return to Dolish. Sorry that the memory foam mattress in Hartridge didn't suit you. If there's one thing we've learnt after 35 years in tourism it's that in B&B the bed is important and so is the breakfast... but there is no bed that suits everyone! We've based our furnishing choices on what we believe suits most visitors most of the time and try to offer some choice. e.g. our 6 foot super-king link bed with memory foam mattress, which nearly all our visitors find supremely comfortable, and two regular double beds with good quality pocket sprung mattresses, one a bit firmer than the other. We've made sure that all these details are clear on our website. We've found that most people prefer smoked bacon too..but understandably not everyone! We use best dry-cure back bacon but one or two prefer streaky..some like it fleshy. some prefer it so crispy it pings off the plate! We just aim for the best quality we can afford, in everything. Yes, TV in rooms is a tricky one. I know you understand that this is a deliberate decision on our part (not of course out of meanness!) - we do market Dolish specifically as a rural 'retreat' where you can expect tranquility & peace, surrounded by nature. We've tried using polite notices re TV volume late at night & early in the morning at past establishments with mixed results I'm afraid. It could be very upsetting for guests that have come for a complete rest to be disturbed by a TV in an adjoining bedroom, so to avoid this risk our compromise is a guests' dedicated TV lounge downstairs. Many of our guests find this arrangement a relief. Our new Self-Catering "Cider Loft" apartment does have a TV, as this is further away from our B&B rooms.
Very helpful to have raised the issue though and thank you for your understanding on this.
(P.S. I've noted your bacon preference ready for your next visit!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were served with tea and biscuits on arrival, a gesture much appreciated after several hours on the road. Our room was a delight with an enormous and very comfortable bed. The bathroom was pristine. The additional small touches of a chair in the bathroom, coat hooks on the bedroom wall and fresh milk in a thermos to make your own tea were very thoughtful. Breakfast was excellent. Jane and Jonathan were the perfect hosts, friendly and charming to chat with. Unfortunately, we were only able to stay one night.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Jane is also a 'dab hand' at making really delicious lemon drizzle cakes and chocolate cakes. She always offers guests on arrival either warm cakes or at least tea and biscuits. (This is why I'm often found hovering hopefully near the kitchen around 4pm!) Thank you very much for all your helpful feedback. It's the mention of the smaller details that helps paint a picture for other potential guests. We hope you'll be able to stay longer on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Godstone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Some of the best B & B accommodation we have ever stayed at: we felt almost part of the family with Jane and Jonathan's warm friendly approach. Lovely, comfortable and airy bedrooms, good size bathrooms with modern fittings and powerful showers in a large old farmhouse renovated to a very high standard. Comfortable lounge with TV and selection of DVDs and books. All this in a peaceful rural setting. Excellent tasty breakfasts using locally sourced produce where possible.
They offer self-catering too with a huge kitchen. Can Google it for more info. We enjoyed it so much we have stayed twice in succession.

Room Tip: Check their website for details
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
..and we hope you will return again soon for your 3rd visit! We'l have to line up another Bollywood DVD for you! It was a great pleasure to have you stay once again and thank you for helping to give future guests some first-hand insights. Glad you liked our home-pressed apple juice..despite the poor year for apples, we nearly have enough for another pressing. We also plan to replant the old apple orchard this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

What an excellent place to spend the night. A very warm welcome to this beautifully renovated farmhouse. Our room was spacious, spotless and very tastefully decorated. The recommended pub for dinner did not disappoint and the breakfast was lovely. Would definitely rate this 5 star!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and thank you so much for reviewing your experience. We're finding that we're pretty ideally situated for a peaceful stop-over for those en route to or from Cornwall or West Devon..as you now know, once in the Luppitt valley, it's hard to believe that you're just 10 minutes from the A30 at Honiton and 20 minutes from the M5 at Wellington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich Cheshire England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My Wife and I have stayed in many B&B's all over the UK. Dolish Framhouse is "SIMPLY THE BEST"
we have ever stayed in. Starting with a warm welcome from Jane and Jonathon. The accomodation is superb. Comfortable beds in immaculate,airy bedrooms,a beautful private bathroom with rolltop bath and luxurious shower cubicle. The whole house is pristine. It has a comfortable lounge with TV (for those who dont wish to leave the busy world behind for a while) and the dining room is very homely.
The typical English breakfast can be rather large, with bacon, blackpudding, tomatos,sausage, beans, mushrooms and last but not least fresh eggs (from Jane's own free range hens) which can be cooked to your preference. The breakfast is served in any combination of the above items to your own requirements. There is a choice of cereals etc, fruit juice, fresh fruit and fresh homemade bread plus jam and marmalade made locally. Scrumptious food.
Dolish Farmhouse is located in a beautiful and quiet valley. You can hear the silence. It's a central location for East Devon whether you want to visit the coastal towns or local villages or have a fly fishing holiday on the Rivers Otter, Axe or Yarty. We spent six enjoyable nights with our wonderful hosts Jane and Jonathon and will without doubt go back again.

Room Tip: We liked Hensemoor it was located at the front ofthe hous over the lounge area and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Word of mouth recommendation led us to stay here for one night on way to our holiday destination. However, we could easily have stayed for a week!! Jane was a very welcoming host and looked after us as if we were close friends or family. The beds were comfortable and the food delicious-even for non meat eaters like us! The area is lovely and quiet which helped with a good nights sleep. If we return to this area we would look Jane and Jonathan up again.

Helen and Tony Collins

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: Luppitt EX14 4RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Luppitt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Luppitt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Farmhouse B&B and Self Catering retreat in tranquil Devon valley. Set in 4 acres traditional barns and land. Lovely gardens.Tasteful comfortable warm en-suite rooms. Beautifully restored using traditional materials. Dining Hall with flagstones, inglenook & woodburner. Guest's Sitting Room & small terrace.Delicious home-made bread and our own free-range eggs! Renewable energy sources. Wonderful walking. Wildlife. Winding lanes. Village inns. World Heritage Jurassic Coast 25 mins. Honiton and A30 10 mins. M5 20 mins. Exeter Airport 25 mins. Eco-aware friendly relaxed hosts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.