We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date of stay-20th July 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luppitt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Luppitt EX14 4RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Luppitt B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Date of stay-20th July 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Word of mouth recommendation led us to stay here for one night on way to our holiday destination. However, we could easily have stayed for a week!! Jane was a very welcoming host and looked after us as if we were close friends or family. The beds were comfortable and the food delicious-even for non meat eaters like us! The area is lovely and quiet which helped with a good nights sleep. If we return to this area we would look Jane and Jonathan up again.

Helen and Tony Collins

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
31
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights in this lovely farmhouse. We received a warm welcome from hosts Jane and Jonathan and nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was luxurious, comfortable and pristine. We were treated to a tasty, wholesome breakfast cooked to perfection. Beautiful part of the Devon countryside for anyone wanting a peaceful break. We would highly recommend this B & B it was just wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your appraisal of your visit last week. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and to have you stay at Dolish Farmhouse and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This charming B&B accommodation shows in every respect Jane and Jonathan's honed expertise in what makes for unforgettable time out 'away from it all'. A genuine personal welcome and meticulous attention to detail blends with respect for individual needs and opportunities for both companionship and quiet recuperation. The recently renovated accommodation is tasteful, restrained, restful and generously proportioned. The rooms are spotless, the furniture extremely comfortable, the bathrooms new and spacious. The perfect English breakfast uses only best quality fresh local produce. It is well worth the journey (including some labyrinthine lanes - Sat. Nav. is adviseable) to reach this little haven, tucked into the Blackdown Hills, devoid of noise except birdsong, with delightful sightings of wildlife: we saw a red kite, a scurrying weasel and a baby deer. The garden and meadow offer space to reflect and enjoy the pristine valley scene. A wealth of footpaths lead to hilltop viewpoints including an ancient hillfort. Local hostelries offer fresh home-made English food: unpretentious, tasty and generous portions We enjoyed every minute and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: All 3 double rooms are spacious and comfortable, newly decorated and fully equipped to a high standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your very comprehensive review of your visit. Jane and I are delighted you were able to get so much from your 2 day visit. The Swallow chicks from the barn have now fledged - 3 of the 5 survived. I think your sighting of a red kite may have been a buzzard. A few red kites are established, mainly South in Devon. Other Devon sightings are very rare. Buzzards are a similar size and some can be a slightly reddish brown underneath but not that chestnut brown of the red kite. Yes we're very lucky here at Dolish Farmhouse to be immersed in such a rich natural environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Thanks to Jane and Jonathan for a most relaxing break. The farmhouse is away from the hustle and bustle and it was a joy to go back each evening to such tranquil surroundings.

Not only that but to actually look forward to returning knowing that we would be in accommodation that is homely, clean and peaceful. The rooms are all comfortable and the decor excedingly tasteful.

Jane and Jonathan undoubtedly have the gift of hospitality as all the positive reviews on here reveal.

Thanks to you both for sharing your beautiful home with us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
So glad that you enjoyed the peace and quiet here....at this time of year of course the silence is interspersed with a pretty rowdy "dawn chorus" of swallows, squabbling sparrows, house-martins, quietly munching cattle and bleating lambs....how do we cope??!! I will email you a photo
of the 5 greedy swallow chicks you saw in the old Cider House, all with their mouths gaping! (I'll post it on our website too). And thank you for all your encouraging and positive comments. Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here two nights while visiting family in Luppitt. Immaculate accommodations and furnishings (Jonathan and Jane have photos of the farm when they bought it - the transformation is amazing). Hosts are very friendly and great company. Truly rural location but easy to get to, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to share your appreciative comments. We much enjoyed meeting you too. You must have found our recent deluge of rain a stark contrast to your hot dry Texas home! - but we do frequently remind ourselves that that's why this part of Devon is so beautifully green and lush.Very much hope you will be able to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Wow!
Met by a warm and genuinely friendly welcome which extended throughout our stay! We loved to hear stories of the restoration which has developed into the most beautifully crafted home - a tribute to the craftsmanship, dedication and vision of Jonathan and Jane. The care and attention lavished on the house was extended to us. We were so well looked after and given so much time over a busy Bank Holiday period. Delightful house, area, amazing breakfast (and the welcome cake!), such thoughtfulness but most important of all delightful people!

Room Tip: Talk to Jonathan and Jane!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
It makes it all worthwhile for us to be appreciated - and by such delightful guests, if we may say so! Thank you. Sorry if we went on a bit about the renovations - it's been our life for nearly 4 years - along with huge help from a small dedicated band of like-minded tradesmen, and women, and daughters! - (and our life for many years before that on numerous earlier 'home + tourism' renovation projects.) Just like our earlier homes where we have also offered accommodation, as we say on our website, "Dolish Farmhouse is now far too nice not to share!!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We spent two nights at this beautifully restored farmhouse set in the peaceful surroundings of the Blackdown Hills. The house was spotless, the bedroom tastefully furnished, the bed very comfortable and the welcome from Jonathan and Jane was warmth itself. A first class breakfast set us both up for the day as we set off to explore the local area. This is a great find and we will be back again before too long to sample it again!!.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for your very encouraging and positive comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay and quite understand why you have become "Devon devotees"! I'm sure you won't regret a move to this part of the world. Don't forget that our newly converted "Cider Loft", which you were able to see, is now available for Self-Catering - that could be an ideal base for you while you are house-hunting in the area. Let us know if we can help with information or advice in your property search.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: Luppitt EX14 4RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Luppitt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Luppitt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Farmhouse B&B and Self Catering retreat in tranquil Devon valley. Set in 4 acres traditional barns and land. Lovely gardens.Tasteful comfortable warm en-suite rooms. Beautifully restored using traditional materials. Dining Hall with flagstones, inglenook & woodburner. Guest's Sitting Room & small terrace.Delicious home-made bread and our own free-range eggs! Renewable energy sources. Wonderful walking. Wildlife. Winding lanes. Village inns. World Heritage Jurassic Coast 25 mins. Honiton and A30 10 mins. M5 20 mins. Exeter Airport 25 mins. Eco-aware friendly relaxed hosts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.