We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Colwell Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Offwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Colwell Farm
Save
You added West Colwell Farm to your Saves list
Offwell, Honiton EX14 9SL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Offwell B&B and Inns
Buckinghamshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Get away from it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

You will be hard pressed to find a more tranquil spot to escape city life. From the start I was impressed with the quick response to my booking enquiry and queries by Frank. Upon arrival his wife Carol welcomed us with the offer of complimentary tea and home-made cake. We stayed in Farmer, a large room on the end of the row of 3 rooms. It was tastefully furnished, complete with a bathrobe and tea facilities. The view from our terrace was stunning with a beautiful landscape and lovingly tendered shrubs and potted plants. Having eaten dinner at The Railway gastropub we returned to sit on our terrace with a glass of wine looking up at the stars. Nearest town of Honiton is 3 miles away (£11 each way by taxi). The lane leading to the farm is very narrow with both side mirrors of our car brushing along the shrubbery on either side of the lane. However when we visited early June we saw just one other car as we travelled along the lane. Highly recommend pancakes for breakfast and home-made bread toasted. Frank and Carol were perfect hosts leaving us to enjoy their beautiful home in peace but chatting to us after breakfast, giving us a flavour of local life and recommending walks and places to eat. Will definitely recommend to family and friends and return soon.

Room Tip: Frank suggested Farmer when I mentioned that my partner is 6ft 8in in height and it was very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed with Frank and Carol for 2 days recently. Our first visit and I hope it wont be our last. They are excellent hosts, what a location! Devon at its best. Great breakfast, lovely room, nothing too much trouble. The take home steak was very good too!!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms individual and of a high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Second visit for us and just as good as the first. Frank and Carol are great hosts and we felt very welcome in their home. Stunning view from the room, plenty of space, nice bathroom, great breakfast. The comment from Dorothy is echoed, please try the blueberry pancakes, you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Been in "Farmer" both times, no wish to change when we go again as we undoubtedly will
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Despite being only a short distance from a major town such as Honiton and just off the A35, West Colwell feels as if it could be on the Moon. Set facing out across a secluded, wooded valley, there is absolutely no traffic noise and virtually no light pollution. It is true that the lanes to the farm are narrow and have hardly any passing places - and so should only be tackled by those who are prepared/confident in reversing, if you should meet someone head-on. But the location makes this a very minor issue: it is enchanting and tranquil.

It is therefore a great place to 'get away from it all' and yet handy for getting to other places, such as Lyme and Axminster. We stayed in 'Farmer', one of the rooms with a terrace. It was great to be able to sit outside on a summer's evening, after a walk, with a glass of wine and look across the woods and fields. Frank and Carol are also attentive hosts for whom, it appears, almost nothing would be too much bother. Sawday's and several other reviewers mention the breakfast, which is excellent (though please consider adding a sausage) - the best thing about it being Frank's homemade bread, which I would be happy to have on its own.

We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the best are undoubtedly those with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

What a find ,another Alastair Sawday delight. Carol and Frank the perfect hosts. , and would recommend Franks speciality blueberry pancakes with maple syrup a treat not to be missed , if you want to be spoilt then this is the one, nothing to much trouble, attention to detail and comfort certainly 1st class , we will hopefully be visiting again THANKS VERY MUCH ANN & MIKE THOMPSON

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Frank & Carol have manage to establish this peace oasis in the middle of the forest.
it is a 3 bedrooms B&B in a very quite location that is ideal for a very good city break or a holiday..we stayed in the Capitan room and it was spotless clean with a nice elegant toughes.the award wining breakfast made by Frank is out of this world ( try the blueperry pancakes ).
thanks Frank and Carol for the special care and all the valuable informations about the area that made our stay pleasant.

Room Tip: Spare enough time for breakfast as it is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

First, a warning: the drive to West Colwell Farm isn't for the faint-hearted. It is set on one of the narrowest lanes you've ever seen, which bends and twists its way through tall hedges. At one point the road became so narrow that we thought we might have mistakenly driven onto a footpath! But don't despair. The lane is definitely passable (even by trucks), and the destination is well worth the effort.

Even in a beautiful part of Devon, West Colwell Farm's setting is exceptional. The farm is tucked into a hidden valley surrounded by rolling green hills and trees, in a genuinely picturebook setting. Young cattle amble down the wooded lane, and swallows dart across the fields. This is rural bliss.

Carol and Frank Hayes have turned an old barn into a welcoming haven. Each of the three rooms has a terrace with a stunning view. I particularly liked Captain, which is decorated in a nautical style. The member of our party who stayed there loved it - he felt that it had everything he needed and more, and he was sorry to leave. I stayed in Blossom, which was charming and very well appointed, although I must admit that I would have preferred a room with "real" windows rather than skylights.

Carol and Frank are wonderful hosts. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome, and their close attention to detail makes all the difference. They spent a very long time, for example, sourcing just the right bacon for breakfast, and that effort has definitely paid off. It was, quite simply, the best bacon I've ever had. Frank's superb homemade bread was also outstanding.

We only stayed one night at the farm, and unfortunately, the weather was too wet to allow us to enjoy the terrace. But we are hoping to return to this idyllic spot, next time with our walking boots...

Room Tip: Captain is lovely, Farmer a bit more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Colwell Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Colwell Farm

Address: Offwell, Honiton EX14 9SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Offwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Offwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Colwell Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.