We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great welcome and great pub up the road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Marsh

Save Saved
You added The Cottage Marsh to your Saves list
The Cottage Marsh
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cottage Marsh
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Marsh EX14 9AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Marsh B&B and Inns
isle of wight
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“great welcome and great pub up the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

cottage marsh , really nice welcome, great breakfast and good food in the pub within walking distance

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
12
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Lovely place, the owners couldn't have been more accommodating. Breakfast was hot and delicious and the room was warm and comfortable. We wouldn't hesitate to use the Cottage again and will be recommending it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

We recently had the pleasure of staying here for a couple of nights after reading the positive reviews on TA (ignore the one bad review which is just laughable). Lovely comfy room and also nice and warm despite the freezing temperatures outside. Excellent cooked breakfast as well. Michele & Chris, the owners, are very welcoming and we were treated like friends rather than guests. Would love to come here in warmer weather and take advantage of sitting ouside on the patio! Would have no hesitation in recommending this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Nestled on the Devonshire - Somerset border, The Cottage B&B at Marsh is a favourite with 3 generations of my family. We have stayed there many times and can honestly say that for quality, friendliness and value for money there are none better.

The rooms are elegantly decorated, clean and comfortable. A tea or coffee and a good chat are part of the booking-in process. Michelle and Chris have never failed to provide a first rate service and, on occassion, have given assistance "above and beyond the call of duty". A delicious meal may be taken at the very hospitable Flintlock Inn; just a short walk up the quiet the village high street.

In the morning, a breakfast of local produce and fresh eggs is served; enough to set anyone up for a day of onward travelling, antique hunting in Honiton or exploring the local countryside. In the afternoons cream teas are available.

As an Army Officer and now as a businessman and parent, I have stayed in many, many places but The Cottage at Marsh is a place we always look forward to staying and will do so for many years to come.

The White family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Having just come home from a wonderful week spent at the Cottage in Marsh, we would like to say it was truly a wonderful place to stay. Michele and Chris very friendly and welcoming. We had a double room with a very comfortable bed. An ideal place to stay to tour around Devon, somerset and Dorset. Thank You again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We have stayed at the cottage Marsh twice now having found the name on the Devonshire Tourist board website. We arrived in the evening the first time and was greeted with open arms, like old friends. Michelle had booked us in at the pub for an evening meal. It was as she described it on the phone, excellent, 2nd to none!. We have a lovely nights sleep in the double room, very nicely decorated and the wet room was great too, with the nice touches like shower gel, fluffy towels etc. The full english breakfast was served at a time that suited us for our onward journey and we even bought some of Michelle's hen's eggs. Which were delicious too!. We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked again directly for our second visit. My parents live in West Cornwall and we live in Essex so this is a conveniently located stop over. The price is good too compared to the local Travelodge/Travellin in the area. Good value for the great hospitality and great food. Rocky the dog was so cute, and as welcoming as Chris and Michelle. We have recommended the Cottage to all of our family visiting Cornwall as well as leaving the Cottage cards at my Parents for anyone travelling towards Essex.

Keep up the good work Chris and Michelle, we will be back.
Maria and Craig McPherson-Davis.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

After staying at many B & B's, finding 'The Cottage' at Marsh was a joy.
Michelle and Chris are wonderful hosts and you can see they take pride in their business. The room was immaculate and it is the little extra touches that made the difference. The bed was so comfortable which really does make a change. Breakfast was just right and so well cooked. The friendly atmosphere in the morning brightened our day. My husband and I will definately be returning. If you want to know how to run a 5 star B & B go and visit 'The Cottage' at Marsh near Honiton.
Thanks Chris and Michelle.
Carol and Barrie Stacey - Maldon Essex.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cottage Marsh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Marsh

Address: Marsh EX14 9AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Marsh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Marsh 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Cottage Marsh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Marsh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.