We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax in devon countryside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Park Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Deer Park Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Deer Park Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weston | Honiton, Buckerell, Honiton EX14 3PG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckerell
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
“relax in devon countryside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

For those of us who navigate by the sun and the stars it was a difficult place to find but well worth the effort, more signs please.
The building we thought was Georgian and very pleasing., staff were friendly and helpful and seemed to enjoy their work.
We had a very nice room on the 1st floor, good views from our big window and a well appointed bathroom, Above all the bed was good, which is important as my wife suffers from a bad back..
Food was excellent in the modern restaurant style and breakfast copious.
Interior décor retained a lot of Georgian features enhanced by a magnificent collection of original paintings of mainly sporting subject through the ages.
We felt a few floral displays could have enhanced the atmosphere.
I had a go at archery, it took a month before I recovered use of my right hand , I should have gone fishing!
overall we enjoyed our weekend and will return when we get a chance

Room Tip: Ask the manager for his recomendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    69
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
76
151
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Deer Park with my in-laws just after Christmas for 2 nights. My husband had been diagnosed with an infection the day before our stay that required him to shower and not bath. the room we had been allocated had no shower. The hotel manager upgraded our room to one of their best at no extra cost. I certainly was a beautiful room. I would have found the original room a tad expensive, I think. One thing I would suggest is that the hotel install full length mirrors in the rooms. There was a New Years Eve Masked Ball and had I been going, I would have liked to admire myself in the mirror before we trouped downstairs.
But, yes, a very pleasant experience. The Breakfast was wonderful and the Breakfast Room was beautiful. My husband & i have stayed at the Deer Park in the past, about 8 years ago and the beds were not comfortable, some of the rooms were cold. That has all changed, the bed are wonderfully comfortable and the rooms were very warm.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the hotel are difficult to get to and need a bit of improvement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant - it was incredibly quiet and relaxed and the food was delicious. Unfortunately our room was awful - it was on the ground floor, incredibly noisy (next to to the kitchen), dated with very poor facilities. If you are staying do make sure you are not on the ground floor - I believe there is only 1 room there. Sadly this poor experience contributed to our decision not to consider the venue for our wedding which was the main reason for visiting.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear KMary2014,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

Please accept my most sincere apologies that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. As you can see from previous comments this is certainly not the norm, I do not however take away from the fact that we didn't get it right this time.

You may not know that the hotel became under new management in January 2013 as you can see from previous comments we have invested heavily in the Deer Park over that time covering all aspects of the hotel from the grounds, restaurant, kitchen and some bedrooms. It is only a shame that we can not do everything in one go.

Please rest assured that we are continually updating the hotel, with a half million pound refurbishment currently underway in our Mews building and 5 bathrooms in the main house to be completed over the next two months.

If you haven't already it might be worth while contacting Mike our Events & Sales Manager as he could discuss in great detail the plans for the hotel which very may be completed by the time you would be looking to hold your wedding.

Mike@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk

I thank you once again for your review and I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the food!

Kind regards

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Mine Host Mark Godfrey has done a fantastic job refurbishing this beautiful hotel. Add in the stunning surroundings and you have the perfect package. The staff were courteous, friendly and extremely professional (how refreshing is that !! )

The Hotel and Dining experience is of the highest standard and cannot be faulted. We will be going back (very soon) in 2014, thank you once again for the experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear BDoutch,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

The team really have done a fantastic job over the last 12 months with Mark very much leading from the front.

We are extremely lucky to have such a dedicated team here that just want to deliver marvellous hospitality.

Thank you once again for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the VERY near future.

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fantastic evening. The food was just marvellous as was the service and the entertainment, in fact all aspects of the evening were without fault. The new management have done a great job in turning the hotel around. It's very nice to see such young staff treating clients with courtesy and being attentive to their requirements. It's a credit to the MD; and it's very clear that he knows how a Hotel should be run and is setting the bar high for all.
Yes we would love to go to next years Ball.

We wish them all the very best for 2014.
Sincerely.
M-----O--------------.
Ol'Bean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear 189420,

Congratulations to you for being our first guest to leave a review in 2014!!

Thank you for such a great review also, yes 2013 was a lot of hard work but great fun as well! Lets re cap on the year.

* Drive way re surfaced
* Italian Garden built
* Walled Garden brought back to life
* Created a Car Park
* Facade decorated
* Wood Burning Clay Oven
* Boimass Boilers
* New Kitchen
* Restaurant refurbished
* Conservatory refurbished with new sky light
* Soft furnishings refurbishment on several guest bedrooms
* 2 Fountains in the grounds
* Zip Wire in the Grounds
* Marque interior updated

I am sure I have missed one or two as well.

Moving in to 2014 we have started our half a million refurbishment of our Mews building and have plenty more planned.

We will continue to invest and develop our team as well as the hotel and we all look forward to welcoming many more friends new, old and yet to be into our lovely Country House to give some of the most outstanding hospitality for miles around.

Hopefully we won't have to wait until New Years Eve to see you again 189420!!

Many thanks

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

First visit to Deer Park. Stayed on business in early December - a trade show was being held in the marquee in the grounds. Staff were fantastic from the initial welcome, throughout the stay, check out and the after service - I managed to leave a suit in the wardrobe of the room. After speaking to reception, the kind lady went and retrieved said suit, called me back and then posted it back to me safe and sound (and despite me offering, paid for the postage!). All staff were enthusiastic and energetic - nothing was too much trouble. The food served at the event was also of a very high standard, despite catering for nearly 100 people - i can only imagine the food when dining separately is fantastic! Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear M4bw,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

It was a pleasure to host the trade show here and I am so pleased to read that it all went off superbly.

I will ensure that I pass your comments and thanks on to the whole team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our second visit to Deer Park this year. We were met like old friends (including our dog Sophie) and treated royally throughout our blissfully relaxing stay. Our rooms on both stays were spacious, elegant and immaculate as were the main rooms of the house. We cannot praise the management and staff enough - nothing was too much trouble (although I think we may have been merely basking in the light of Sophie's inside track with the family dogs!) The arrangements for her were wonderful with the dog's pamper hut (all essential items available if required) with towels and hygiene facilities - so much nicer for everyone. The grounds were beautiful with well-kept walks and beautiful views. On this last trip, we also had the pleasure of a falconry show! Thank you so much for all your attentiveness and the laughter. Looking forward to seeing you early in 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Sophie,

It was as always a pleasure to have you stay with us Sophie and of course your Humans too!!

Hugo & I were just talking the other day that we missed you and remembered about you looking out the window on to the garden and all the rabbits!!

We do hope that you can come visit us again soon.

Storm - Border Collie to the Front of House Manager
Hugo - Westie to the Managing Director






Dear CHB51,

Thank you so much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to welcome back family (guests) and I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed yourselves once again.

Looking forward to your next visit and maybe a glass of wine and a good catch up.

Many thanks

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Park Country House Hotel

Address: Weston | Honiton, Buckerell, Honiton EX14 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Buckerell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckerell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Park Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Devon...Perfectly Positioned Hotels in HonitonThis 18th Century Georgian country house is one of few hotels in Devon situated within 80 acres of unspoilt countryside. Elegant interiors represent everything you would expect from a quintessentially English country house hotel with classic furnishings and grand paintings.From the moment you arrive up the mile long drive you’ll find that everything, from the attentive service and accommodation to the exquisite food and family friendly atmosphere, is created to make you feel right at home at one of the most charming Devon hotels.Countryside Devon Wedding VenuesWith stunning grounds, classic interiors and attention to detail, the Deer Park offers one of the most romantic wedding venues in Devon. Accommodating up to 50 wedding guests in the main house, or up to 130 wedding guests in the marquee, this historic house offers a venue perfect for all types of wedding celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Deer Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Park Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Park Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.