We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Honiton Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Honiton Inn

The Honiton Inn
Awliscombe | Honiton, Awliscombe, Honiton EX14 3PJ, England
01404 46161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Awliscombe
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Honiton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Honiton Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Had a meal here for my birthday in early July and it was absolutely first class. The chef who started when the Honiton Inn re-opened a couple of months back has left and what a transformation in the quality of food and the price. There is a wide choice of food always available including fresh fish (delivered daily), great steaks, vegetarian options and a selection of 'daily specials'. I have receommended The Honiton Inn to friends and they have all reported that the food and service were faultless. The pub itself is friendly, welcoming, clean and tidy and, best of all, it has immaculate toilets! Don't miss the hidden beer garden around the back, on a sunny day it's a must.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food but horrific service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Came for a meal with 5 friends on a whim,it was a Saturday night and extremely busy, there was a short wait,but to be honest it wasn't anything you wouldn't expect on a busy night, and the food was well worth the wait..presentation was excellent, tasty and well worth the money...the pub itself has a lovely atmosphere and clean feel to it...my only issue with the whole night was the service,the waiting staff both old and young seemed either a little pushy or completely unhelpful and inexperienced... all in all though a lovely evening and well worth a visit

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No thanks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had heard the pub had reopened and decided to go for an evening meal. The service was pretty poor, we had to wait 45 minutes for our mains and the staff weren't apologetic. The price was ok but the food qulaity was bland and tastless.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Really Good.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Had a meal and drinks here with two colleagues as we were staying in the area overnight. The pub has been renovated recently to a high standard and is very nice indeed and it's obvious a level of care has gone into it. There were a couple of good local ales on tap and these were very nice - as was the food. We all opted for ham egg and chips and we all agreed it was very good indeed - top marks for both the food and drink. If you happen to be in this lovely area of Devon then this venue is certainly worth visiting, especially if you are hungry!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Village pub transformed by new owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We live in Awliscombe and are very happy to report that as of 2012 this pub, re-named called The Honiton Inn, has undergone a total make over and is now clean and well run. The food is good, there is an excellent selection of local ales and the atmosphere is friendly. From being a rather sad place, it is now once again a popular village pub.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Honiton Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Honiton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Honiton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.