We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, nice price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5653 Bishop Avenue, Inver Grove Heights, MN 55076 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Inver Grove Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Waterloo, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice location, nice price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I only had to stay one night in the South St. Paul area and chose this Holiday Inn Express just by location and price. Which both were right on the money!
This is a rather new hotel so it was nice and clean. The free breakfast cannot be beat.
It had a nice looking indoor pool and hot tub but I did not use it.
Thank you Holiday Inn for making my stays away from home enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel5653, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I would like to take the time to thank you for your comments regarding you most recent stay with us. It is always great to receive feedback that tells us we are on the right track. Thanks again for your patronage and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Inver Grove Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
9
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This property was "refreshed" a few months ago when they changed hotel chains, and it help a lot. The room and bath were both very clean. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom had updated sink and fixtures. But there are were no towel racks or hooks in the bathroom - so no place to hand a towel. Breakfast was fine - the typical items for an HI Express. The staff was friendly. I will continue to stay here 2 or 3 times a year when in the area on business.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel5653, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I would like to take the time to thank you for your comments regarding you most recent stay with us. It is always great to receive feedback that tells us we are on the right track. Thanks again for your patronage and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Inver Grove Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel is recently updated and everything is new and very clean. The free breakfast had a variety to choose from, including hot and cold food. The hot breakfast had bacon or sausage, biscuits and gravy, and scrambled eggs. There were also hot cinnamon buns. The quality of the food was great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel5653, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I would like to take the time to thank you for your comments regarding you most recent stay with us. It is always great to receive feedback that tells us we are on the right track. Thanks again for your patronage and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Inver Grove Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

A new Holiday Inn & Suites (use to be Country Inn & Suites) now open and ready for service. I recently booked the one bedroom suite whirlpool suite for a wedding night gift. The bride and groom were very happy, late check out, a great room to relax and spend their first night of a long marriage. They were comfortable and pleased. Thank you Holiday Inn for rescuing this building and keeping another hotel open in Inver Grove Heights. Restaurants, gas station and movie theater all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel5653, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I would like to take the time to thank you for your comments regarding you most recent stay with us. It is always great to receive feedback that tells us we are on the right track. Thanks again for your patronage and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Inver Grove Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was recently changed to a holiday Inn express. It looks good. But the rooms are still very noisy. Rooms are clean. It takes a little bit of time to make all the changes. Remodeling seams done. Breakfast needs to be better refilled, if your not there when it opens, you will have slim pickins.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel5653, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We appreciate your response about the property. Feedback is the only way we can continue to improve our company.

The renovation is almost complete, but yes the major projects have been completed. It has been an exciting transition. Although your stay did not seem unfavorable, you did not have the experience that we expect of ourselves. We hope that you will provide us an opportunity in the future to correct that perception.

If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to me through the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for the weekend as we attended a wedding. We were quite surprised upon arrival as the hotel was under major construction, the front entry was closed so we had to enter through the only entrance which was at the end of the parking lot. The parking lot was packed with construction dumpsters and piles of material along with cars from the workers along with other guests. No carpeting in the hallways. I understand they were doing the best they could while attempting to stay open along with perform major construction but we were not notified this upon making the reservation or given any kind of discount for the inconveniences that we subjected too during our stay. Certainly left us with a bad tasted in our mouths. The staff was not overly sympathetic either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Jack H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret the issues you encountered during your stay. As our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, we want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review and make necessary improvements to ensure guests do not experience this in the future.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

As a CLub Carlson Elite member I was surprised. Worst Checkin Process I have experienced at a Carlson Property. No greeting, No Acknowledgement, the temporary checkin desk is a normal room stuffed with entirely too much furniture and 2 computers.
The checkin lady was rude, unprofessional, uninterested. She assigned me a room with 2 beds. I said I had booked a king bed room. She says Oh, that is going to be Extra. Huh? And she is holding my Club Carlson Elite card in her hand. Then she says, I have to take care of others, leaves all my paperwork, gets up and leaves, telling the other overworked front desk person " I dont understand what he wants"..... WOW!

Alright so I am assigned a 3rd floor king bed room, which is next to the stairwell. My profile, lists my preference as "room not next to stairwell or elevator" Oh Well. Front Entrance is closed for remodeling. Side entrance is very inconvenient. You will laugh at the bad design of the Elevator. Ok, the worst was over.

King Room was very nice. Good size room with microwave and fridge, comfy bed, Upscale bathroom. We decided to go for a swim. The swimming pool was freezing cold. We would not dare stepin the freezing water. In all fairness outside temp was 10 below. No warmth here.

The rest of the night went smoothly. Free breakfast was in the very nice newly remodeled breakfast room. The good: Free parking, free Wi-Fi, free breakfast, wonderful room, B-52 restaurant in the same parking lot.

The Bad: Too much construction. Staff has given up on making customers happy. Workout room is a joke. Unusable swimming pool. Room next to stairwell very noisey.

Another thing, my Credit card showed a charge from Holiday Inn Express, not Country Inn. Your guess is as good as mine. Is this hotel changing into a Holiday Inn Express? Either way I would stay away until the remodel is complete. And I would recommand all Carlson Club Elite to stay away.

Room Tip: Request room Away from the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona420, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts

Address: 5653 Bishop Avenue, Inver Grove Heights, MN 55076 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Inver Grove Heights)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Inver Grove Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inver Grove Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Inver Grove Heights Hotel Inver Grove Heights
Country Inn And Suites Inver Grove Heights
Country Inn Inver Grove Heights
Inver Grove Heights Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.