We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rookery Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rookery Barn
Save
You added Rookery Barn to your Saves list
Sea Palling Road, Ingham NR12 0TW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ingham B&B and Inns
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had three nights at Rookery Barn and three delicious breakfasts.We stayed in Pebbles which has its own private patio area,perfect for a glass of wine after a day sightseeing.The room was spotless and very comfortable and the position of the barn was perfect for the coast and the Broads,both of which are a short drive.Tony and Lyinda were very helpful and perfect hosts and also very knowledgable about the local area and places to eat.Would definately recommend this place and will be returning in the future.Overall 5*s faultless!
Russ and Sam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We discovered Rookery Barn whilst searching the internet and from the moment we made contact with our hosts Tony and Lynda we knew we wouldn't be disappointed. On arrival we were made to feel welcome guests in Tony and Lynda's home. Our room was homely, clean and comfortable with noticeable little details added. An advantage is that the rooms are self contained at one end of Rookery Barn giving privacy and quiet. We stayed in Driftwood which has a private separate bathroom with roll top bath with shower attachment and although some people may prefer a separate shower, all the other comfort features of the room more than make up for this. Much care is taken by Lynda in the expert preparation and presentation of the delicious breakfasts enjoyed overlooking the lovely garden and water feature. Now we have discovered Rookery Barn, we will certainly visit again in the future. Lynda and Tony were happy to offer recommendations for eating and sightseeing. With family, we visited The Star at Lessingham, which, although looking unkempt from the outside, provided us with a decent pub meal with the service being friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: The upstairs room has a bath and shower attachment so if you have mobility problems or difficulty wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish Tourer
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at Rookery Barn for four nights. High class accommodation and hosts could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We chose this B&B based on Tripadvisor recommendations which are absolutely spot on! We could not have wished for a better location to explore the Broads in our search for the elusive Swallowtail butterfly (seen at nearby Horsey Broad). There is an excellent restaurant and great farm shops close by and there are lots of unspoiled Norfolk villages and gardens to explore. We look forward to returning for a winter break - hopefully to see seals on the nearby coast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a wonderful place! Behind the wall and barn door a haven of tranquility and calm. Beautiful accommodation, tastefully furnished, plenty of room and cupboard space, a large bed with big pillows. A tranquil view from the window of an English garden with flowers,a lawn, Summer house and quiet water fountain,all well maintained. The breakfast room is bordered by a patio with wooden garden furniture and parasol. the breakfast was beautifully cooked, hot and without grease! A visiting pheasant completes the total experience. Lynda and Tony made us so welcome, we felt we'd been here for more than three days. Don't miss this B.and B.
Christine and Nigel

Room Tip: Driftwood faces the garden as does Pebbles
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgess hill
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Lost track of the number of return visits to Rookery Barn and am now firm friends with the owners.
The level of service is simply unsurpassed anywhere. So friendly, kind and thoughtful.
To Lynda and Tony I say "Thank you so much!"

Room Tip: Choose what you will you can't go wrong. One room is on ground level the other is upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We came all the way from Berlin and hadn't expected such a warm and friendly welcome, Linda and Tony really received us with great courtesy and warmth and made our stay absolutely delightful. The house and garden are very nicely kept and furnished, breakfast was individually prepared and delicious, the location is ideally situated in the beautiful countryside between the see and Norwich.
We really had a relaxing stay and will come back. :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. Very friendly. The Driftwood room lovely. Breakfasts to a high standard. Delightful character. Stayed 3 nights in early November 12, received excellent service. You'll gather we had a great time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rookery Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Barn

Address: Sea Palling Road, Ingham NR12 0TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Ingham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ingham
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful brick and flint 18th century barn standing in a pretty garden bordered by woodland. Two character bedrooms are situated in a self contained annexe. We are 3 miles from lovely unspoilt beaches and 15 miles from the excellent city of Norwich. There is a first class pub/restaurant 500 yards away. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rookery Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.