We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appetizers Only & Limited Beer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hopkin's Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hopkin's Tavern
819 Main Street, Hopkins, MN
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 58 Restaurants in Hopkins
Cuisines: American
Description: This is a sports bar/watering hole in Hopkins MN. They have cold beer and stiff drinks.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a sports bar/watering hole in Hopkins MN. They have cold beer and stiff drinks.
Colleyville
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Appetizers Only & Limited Beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was my second visit to Minneapolis and in my dining club reviews, this place was mentioned as a new "restaurant". The "bar" has just appetizers (fried food) and limited pre-made pizzas. The beer selection looks very good, but the first three asked for by our group "we don't carry anymore". The next two "we are out of right now".
Plan on a place to play pool, do pull-tab gambling, drink Minnesota beers and eat fried food. If that's your idea of a great night out in a southwest Minneapolis suburb, try hopping downtown Hopkins and this "restaurant".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent beers on tap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Enjoyed a pretty good pizza and excellent selection of tap beer here. It was a pretty quiet afternoon but there were a few dour regulars(?)/locals watching a game (maybe their team was losing) and giving us a once-over twice (or a twice-over once). The only server/bartender was likewise on the job but, though good at the serving part per se, right on the brink of unfriendly. We might stop in again for the comedy night to see if the flat tone is a daytime/hungover thing (I suspect it is), but with Mainstreet Bar & Grill across the street, we won't come here again for lunch until we're crankier.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“New staff, all bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The staff has had some turnover. It is all very young and they should add at least add one mature person to run the show. The "bouncers" were too busy behind the bar flirting with bartenders and un-carded patrons and working their dance moves (same person displaying his dance moves the last time we were there). We sat to the bar and waited in excess of 5 minutes for service although their were many, many people behind the bar, most of which were NOT bartenders. Nonetheless they all walked by like we were invisible. Finally got a drink. When we wished to order another, the so-called bartender was way to busy talking to the water drinking person sitting next to us and chose not to see us. Bartender chose not see the customer that adds profit to the business and tips in her pocket. We left. Grade = F.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I like the Comedy Show on Tuesdays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I like it when a local place adds something new. The Tuesday night comedy show, Riot House, is fun for everyone. Touring comics stop in frequently for a guest appearance. The host, Corey Adam, has the right balance of friendliness, likability, and enough sharp-witted know-how to keep the pace moving and fun for the audience. It's a good looking joint too. It could be a good find for a Tuesday night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Bar pizza YUM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We go here primarily for the "bar" pizza...the crowd is stagnant. It appears to be the local hangout for the village drunks. Over time we have come to know the long time bouncer - nice guy and although our favorite bartender is no longer there, we will continue to go about once a month...got to have those Heggie's...ya know.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopkin's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Hopkin's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopkin's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.