We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better options just a few miles away” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hibbing Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hibbing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hibbing Park Hotel
Save
You added Hibbing Park Hotel to your Saves list
1402 East Howard Street, Hibbing, MN 55746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hibbing
st paul, mn
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Better options just a few miles away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

I stayed here to visit family for a weekend. It was really overpriced. The good things: There's a bar/ restaurant that's very comfortable with fairly good food within the same building. If you get a little tipsy, like people tend to do on the range :) it's an easy stumble back to the room.

Not so good: The room Really need renovating. I think they're trying to go for the rustic look, but it's not working. The pool/ sauna was kind of dirty. The hot tub out of order. It was a nice place to stay 30 years ago.

Advise: a few weeks later we stayed at Chisholm Inn and Suites about 7 miles down the road, that place is much better and a better value.

  • Liked — bar/ restaurant within walking distance
  • Disliked — room in poor condition, No ATM, hot tub out of order on the weekend
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    12
    19
    14
See reviews for
22
12
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

We had a nice, large room with a king sized bed. The room had one stuffed chair and a straight back desk chair. The TV was small, but worked well. Everything was clean and in good condition. A microwave, coffee maker and small refrigerator were provided.

A few minor problems were encountered that would have been correctable had we stayed more than one night: we were a little short on toilet tissue, we could have used a couple more bath towels and the refrigerator froze the half and half sold over night. However, at $77 a night we were satisfied with our stay and we would stay their again. The staff was friendly and it was nice to have breakfast without going outside at the Grandma's restaurant that was attached to the hotel.

  • Liked — Large room with a king size bed.
  • Disliked — Short on towels.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

It its early days this hotel was "the" place to stay in Hibbing. Current owners should be taken out and thrown into the open pit mine. My last stay will probably be my last. There is no ambiance, from the disheveld entry and beat up hotel desk, to the unkept interior and very warn carpet. The room had a door lock that did not work and relocation put us in a room where hall light shined in from the hall around the entire side and bottom of the door. The bath puts most campers to shame. cracked fixtures, caked layers of paint on metal serfaces. thin plastic cups, the lowest quality of soap I have ever seen. It was also noisy, as halls and other rooms were terribly disruptive. Go to the Chisholm Inn & Suiets. There is nothing else worth looking at in Hibbing. Sad, once a town with some real classy lodging.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hibbing hotels

brooklyn, ny
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

Nothing to complain about our four night stay during Dylan Days. The rooms are not large but are of a comfortable size, not small (like some UK rooms I've been in). Water pressure is adequate. The property is clean and well kept (the pool 8am-11pm particularly clean). The staff were helpful and nice without exception. They arranged to have the hotel van pick us up upon arrival at Hibbing Airport and take us back upon departure flawlessly. We had laundry done for us reasonably priced and same day (drop off before 09:00am).

Grandma's Pub is open until 01:30am for drinks and the staff there were top notch too. We did not try the food but can certainly vouch for the quality of the Summit Pale Ale on tap.

Now, here is the best thing about this hotel and Hibbing too: We were able to walk everywhere! You leave via the side of the Park Hotel and walk straight into downtown Hibbing. There is about 100 yards of the shoulder of Hibbing's main drag(Howard Street) and then you are on the sidewalk for 7-10 minutes, passing front lawns of private houses and then you come to Zimmys (a must!)and the business district.

Continue walking and you can go by Bob Dylan's childhood home and the high school he attended. Keep going, and within a half-hour you can walk to the Greyhound bus museum, North Hibbing (from where many buildings were moved whole into present day Hibbing) and world's largest open pit iron ore mine.

Great service, great location, great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort frances
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2007

Water pressure sucked, staff are seemingly high school drop outs (not all but some), and when you turn the thermostat up, usually the heat comes on right? not here, this is the way to turn it off...

from frigid icebox to sauna in minutes and no inbetween, and it would be nice to be informed of extra costs before hand....

no nice review here...

  • Liked — forcede here by the team manager
  • Disliked — location of room and the temperature of room
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2005

The rooms were clean and adequate in size. The restaraunt was better than average - if you stay I would recommend the garlic steak. The staff was very friendly - would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the Hibbing area.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibbing Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibbing Park Hotel

Address: 1402 East Howard Street, Hibbing, MN 55746
Location: United States > Minnesota > Hibbing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hibbing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 125

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibbing Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.