We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nichols Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nichols Inn to your Saves list
Nichols Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2400 Vermillion Street, Hastings, MN 55033 (Formerly Asteria Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hastings
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was in Hastings a couple of years ago and stayed at the motel across the street. Big mistake. Nichols Inn is much much nicer. It's clean, has a pool & hot tub, the breakfast is better, and the staff is nicer. I highly recommend it

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
It has been our pleasure to have you and your wife as our guest. We have enjoyed talking with you when you come down for breakfast. We are so pleased that our hotel has met and exceeded your expectations. Our goal is always to have a friendly staff to assist you and a clean and comfortable hotel for you to relax in. Thank you again and please come see us again when you visit Hastings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First rate service. Excellent Breakfast. Waffles - Yummy. Nice Room. Pool is great.
Overall very nice experience and price is right. I would recommend this hotel. It is the best in the area. Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Just ask front desk - they will help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for being our guest at Nichols Inn in Hastings. We are glad that you found our front desk staff accommodating during your stay and that you enjoyed your breakfast and other features of our newly renovated hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We will look forward to having you as a guest again on your next visit to Hastings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The overall rating of this property as a 5 star is under rated, The hotel is completely smoke free, and decorated so tastefully. I plan to make regular visits to this hotel and hope you do as well. You won't be disappointed, I guarantee it. It was great to visit with employee Debbie. Compliments to the staff and owner on a job well done in remodeling and making us feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel on your recent visit to Hastings. We are always excited to have return guests, especially guests who had not had the opportunity to experience our total remodel.

I am glad Debbie was able to chat with you and ensure that you were having a relaxing stay, that is a number one goal of ours.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

This hotel has recently been upgraded/renovated and it is beautiful! The lobby and our room were very welcoming, clean, and fresh. We only stayed one night so we didn't need housekeeping services during our stay but our room was VERY CLEAN when we checked in which is most important, in my opinion. The breakfast in the morning didn't have too many options. The only hot item is waffles and they do have hard boiled eggs for some protein but it would have been nice to offer a meat product as well. The staff wasn't rude but weren't very friendly either. This is beautiful hotel, add options to the breakfast and work with the staff on customer service and I feel confident that you will continuously exceed guest expectations.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2015
Thank you for staying with us at Nichols Inn on your most recent visit and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your room and had a relaxing stay. We take your comfort very seriously and hope to see you the next time you visit Hastings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We recently stayed here on a weekend for the show choir concert at Hastings high school. This hotel has recently been renovated. It's by far your best option in Hastings. They have a nice pool and hot tub. Rooms were clean and comfortable. There is complimentary breakfast in the lobby which was nice. If you need to stay in Hastings I recommend this hotel. Also Las Margaritas is next door, great dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2015
Thank you for your complimentary review! We take our guests comfort very seriously and we appreciate that you had a relaxing stay with us. It was a real pleasure hearing about the Choral Competition, and again congrats on girls placing so well in the competition! We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Hastings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Clerk at front desk was average friendly. Outside exterior looks deceiving, but inside is nice. I think it used to be an Americinn hotel. Room was small...we just had one king bed but was amazed room size was not larger for the price. $99.90 on Friday and and Saturday nights (which is when we stayed) seems like a lot for a small room with no chair or patio, in what seems like a small town. However we opted to stay here while seeing a show at Treasure Island, which was full. Continental breakfast was the usual, average... I've had several others with a lot more variety and choices. Doughnuts and bakery items from the local bakery are good though. Would stay here again if visiting the area.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2015
Thank you for being our guest at Nichols Inn in Hastings, MN. We appreciate that you chose to be our guest and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

This is probably one of the nicest motels we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed at quite a few. Everything is new and updated, including everything in the bathroom with a great shower. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Someone has paid attention to the details here - a full-length mirror, a swing-out two-sided mirror (one side being magnified which is great for putting on make-up) by the bathroom sink, and easily accessible electrical outlets on the base of table lamps. They even had bath towels which were of two slightly different sizes - two which were big and thick and plushy, and two which were just a little smaller and thinner which are great for women for wrapping our hair after a shower without our heads being as heavy as a watermelon. Everything was tidy and clean. We highly recommend the Nichols Inn.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HastingsNichols, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel, we really appreciate your taking the time to do so. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the remodel we have just completed was appreciated. We are excited with the changes and updates we have made and it is so gratifying to hear that as a guest you noticed them! We look forward to having you be our guest again when you return to Hastings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nichols Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nichols Inn

Address: 2400 Vermillion Street, Hastings, MN 55033 (Formerly Asteria Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nichols Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nichols Inn is a family owned and operated property that prides itself on being clean, quiet and well appointed with well trained staff. The block built construction of the hotel ensures a quiet and restful nights sleep. When you wake up at the Nichols Inn enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast and waffle bar. Take a dip in our indoor pool and relax in our spa. Other amenities include free HBO, flat screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. This property is 100 percent non smoking and Pet- Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Nichols Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nichols Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.