We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Classic Rosewood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Classic Rosewood Inn
Save
You added Classic Rosewood Inn to your Saves list
620 Ramsey Street, Hastings, MN 55033   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a wonderful visit to the Classic Rosewood Inn in Hastings. Pam and Dick have put their heart and soul and whole lives into this beautiful old inn. The place exudes charm. It's cozy, warm and romantic. Thanks for a lovely visit to Hastings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    8
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
58
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We arrived at the Inn at the same time as another couple. They were "repeaters" so Pam helped them settle in first. She then came to tell us that they had expected us to arrive the next day. She graciously took responsibility for the mix-up, although I wasn't convinced it wasn't my mistake. She then offered us a free upgrade since our scheduled room wasn't available. She showed us around, told us the interesting history of the house, and brought us to our beautiful room. There was log-burning fireplace 2 feet away from the 2 person whirlpool bath and a gas fireplace in the sitting/sleeping area. Free cookies, ice cream, and hot chocolate or coffee were in a kitchenette, available throughout the day. Unfortunately, the cookie jar had been emptied when we stopped by at 8:00 pm for our snack, however we were able to survive by eating extra ice cream and enjoying our wine coolers in the whirlpool bath near the fireplace. Our bed was incredibly comfortable; we slept through our alarm in the morning. We chose to eat breakfast downstairs but we could have eaten in our rooms. Coffee, tea, and OJ were waiting for us on our table. Fresh cut up fruit was then served in a bowl. After eating this, individual egg bakes were served with bread pudding and apples on the side. We could not have been happier with our breakfast. With such great ambiance and food, we somehow stayed a little over 2 hours, talking and enjoying our time thoroughly. Upon departure, Pam gave us a small parting gift. The Classic Rosewood Inn was a grand experience and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Saying a place feels like home is in my opinion the highest form of compliment. Rosewood Inn is all of that and a step above. The amenities are gracious and memorable, but it is the inn keepers that truly set the house a step above. They are professional, attentive to detail, and full of real live personality. We had such an enjoyable visit, and came home feeling rested and pampered. We will definitely go to visit Rosewood again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, mn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The ambiance of this historical home takes you back to another era. The innkeeper is right out of the story books with her welcoming, creative personal touches and ever so pleasant with any requests. The food was fabulous. My husband who is a cook raved all day about his breakfast. The house nit picky clean.

Room Tip: They are all nice ...last time we stayed on top floor and it was quite large. Enjoyed having the add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice place, with a lot of potential. However, the prices, in my opinion, do not reflect the competition. The B&B lacks much of nice details. The host is nice, but one gets almost summoned with many rules and dos and don'ts (one can get already a feeling based on the replies from the host to other reviews). The breakfast was good. would not come back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
classicrosewood, Owner at Classic Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Feel very bad that this guest must not have liked my response to his or her traveling companion whose review dated September 1 gave us same rating. It is obvious this is same reviewer with same places traveled. We are sad that they were not more specific as that is how we learn and make improvements. We also feel bad they felt it necessary to give two reviews for one stay and wish we knew what rules they refer to..There are no rules here except for fireplace instructions and whirlpool instructions and tongue in cheek no running with scissors. No limit to cookies or ice cream or firewood No set time for breakfast, guest chooses,Also guest chooses where breakfast will be. No curfew, you get your own key. We again ascertain that we are not in competition with other inns and we love them all and all innkeepers too.Some of our favorite inns are those different than what we offer like log homes or train cars or yurts.Have said it before --there is nothing more important to us than our guests' comfort. We feel lucky with all your travels that we had the opportunity to serve you. We appreciate your kind words about breakfast. We wish you and your traveling companion the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I were enroute from Twin Cities in Minnesota to a week in Wisconsin Dells and really needed a totally restful night where we could crash and sleep. The Rosewood Inn was just the place --. The breakfast the next morning was so delicious. We really hated to have to check out as early as we did. Our only problem was getting our luggage to the second floor on the winding, steep staircase as my husband had hip replacement surgery a year ago and still has difficulty. The gentleman host graciously took some luggage up for which we were very grateful. The only difficulty was the very small shower -- but this home is an 1880 Queen Ann style home that has been made into a Bed and Breakfast, so some things aren't going to be spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this Inn!! Everything from the decor to the food to the Innkeepers themselves was exactly what you would want from a true bed and breakfast! My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and will certainly be back!! Many of the other B&Bs in the area lack the necessary Victorian charm, but not this one! The Rosewood Inn is decorated with exquisite taste and remains true from crown molding right down to the beautiful stone figurines! And don't even get me started on the food!!! The three breakfasts we enjoyed here were among the best we've ever eaten, (and we're breakfast people!) and were delivered to our room in such lovely wicker baskets! I could go on and on about this wonderful inn, but I recommend you see it for yourself!!

Thank you for a wonderful honeymoon stay!

Ben and Alana S.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Classic Rosewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Rosewood Inn

Address: 620 Ramsey Street, Hastings, MN 55033
Location: United States > Minnesota > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Rosewood inn is no longer open. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Classic Rosewood Hotel Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic Rosewood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.