We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not excellent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Classic Rosewood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Classic Rosewood Inn
Save Saved
You added Classic Rosewood Inn to your Saves list
620 Ramsey Street, Hastings, MN 55033   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hastings B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice but not excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The exterior of this building is very impressive. The Victorian decor of the main floor is very nice. I kindly but honestly comment that I was mildly disappointed with the rooms (saw 3). The decoration didn't have the wow factor that other B&B's we have stayed in had (Rivertown Inn, Phipps etc). I was turned off by the hand painted animal scenes in the Solarium room. The inn keepers were welcoming and the breakfast was nice. They have ice cream, water machine etc in patio but perhaps we have been spoiled at other B&B's that have wine and cheese or other such things at check in. It was nice enough but I can't call it amazing in comparison of others in the Stillwater/Husdon area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
classicrosewood, Owner at Classic Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your critique and also for being a B & B traveler. We are grateful for each of our guests not just because we love serving and we get to enjoy this historic town Hastings and our two grand old buildings daily but we believe each guest is aiding the preservation and new life of these places! We believe the industry in fact pays tribute to those who built them over a century ago..We also love the Rivertown Inn and Phipps Inn and personally know the owners and of their dedication to preservation and service. We are not competitors although a forum like this might lead one to believe we are. We are friends and all loyal to the industry. The benefit of having eight rooms here is that each one is unique not just in decor but in architecture. The best feature we think of the solarium is the 15 foot glass wall that vaults to 18 feet with a view of the stars on a clear night. Again what is so applaud worthy in our industry is that each inn, each room, each food offering is unique and we think special in its own light. We appreciate the incredible opportunity we have to serve in hospitality and preservation. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    7
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
56
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our stay and breakfast at Classic Rosewood was incredible and perfect! This was our second time at Classic Rosewood for celebration of our 19th anniversary and the first seems not so long ago when we were newlyweds. Thanks Pam for your hospitality and sharing the history of the Inn, Hastings, and Gumby. I cannot help being intrigued to learn the past about who built a historic home and how it is transformed to a Bed and Breakfast.

Our dinner at Onion Grille was delicious and their customer service with us was professional. On our after dinner walk we were right there at the Hastings Saturday night Cruise-In seeing classic cars line the streets of downtown Hastings and seeing the Mississippi Riverfront.

It has been a long time since we have gone away for a weekend alone and had such an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The only difficult part of my stay was having to leave! I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of my stay. The owners are wonderful and you can tell they really care about their guests.

In addition the inn itself is wonderfully eclectic and inviting. The owners have done a great job restoring it and it is truly a historical gem.

If you're thinking about a stay, stop thinking and just do it. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Upon reaching the "landing" of the 3rd floor we were assaulted with the very strong scent of cat urine. Our room, the Cove, smelled very strongly of it as well. There were cobwebs on the ceiling and the carpet was stained and the edges of the flooring was black with dust and dirt. It was the most dusty, dirty, smelly place I've ever stayed. We literally went to Walgreens to buy Lysol. The rubber duck left in the tub was full of mold inside and the throw rugs were very dirty. Upon leaving we were able to look at the other suites on the 3rd floor and found that the entire floor smelled very strongly of cat urine. The owners were friendly and the food was very good, but I would never recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
classicrosewood, Owner at Classic Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
This review is very disturbing to us. Sometimes at orientation, when there is a group checking in at one time, not all details are heard or appropriately explained. We apologize. The musty smell was explained we thought at check in. So the explanation (not an excuse) --There was some roof damage done in the last hail storm and some of the insulation in the attic got wet. Also when it is extremely hot there is a burnt wood smell from the wood burning fireplace. We assume it may have been the combination of these two smells that irritated this guest. There are no cats in this building and never have been. The roof and insulation damage are being taken care of immediately. Also some people have a higher degree of scent sensitivity. The other comments are being investigated. We have to say the upkeep and cleanliness of this inn are on top of our mission (and have been for the 30 some years in business) of offering a quality stay. We have an amazing staff we believe who have an amazing commitment. As said before there is nothing more important than our guests' comfort We also appreciate the positive comments on the food and hospitality. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked a stay at the Rosewood to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. We booked the Mississippi Under the Stars suite ($279+tax). We arrived at 4pm (earliest scheduled check-in time) and rang the doorbell. Pam arrived in about 10 mins. There's a sign posted on the door saying it could take some time if she's helping others get checked in, so we expected a bit of a wait. We weren't sure if the doorbell rang or not since we couldn't hear it from the outside. Inside was dark so we actually weren't even sure if someone was there. We ended up ringing the bell again when another couple showed up to check in. We were showed to our rooms by Pam who gave us a nice tour and showed us where the ice cream and cookie jar were located :) The Mississippi Under the Stars suite is located in what would have been the attic of the house. It was quite warm. Temp said 77 degrees even though the a/c was set at 70. It was only mid-70's outside, so I'd hate to be there in really hot weather. The room was very clean, and of great size. There are two entrances to the suite, and the one is it's own stairway; however, the room is viewable from outside the door through a glass wall of sorts. We actually had someone come up the stairs and tried opening the door thinking it was another way up to their own room. Luckily we had that door locked. But like I said, they could still see in our room through the glass wall that only had a see-through drape hung over it. If you want true privacy, do not book this room. To their credit, they do have a sign at the bottom of the steps indicating that it's a private stairway. Someone obviously didn't see the sign. The Rosewood is about 4 blocks from downtown so it's an easy walk. Location was great. The bed was comfortable, but was actually two twin beds combined to form a king. When we went downstairs for ice cream before bed, there weren't enough clean spoons, so we ended up going into the kitchen and finding another. We could have rang the helper, but didn't feel we needed to bother. The sitting areas and porches are fantastic on the property. Sleeping was somewhat difficult due to what I believe were rattling air ducts in the walls as well as some kind of animal. Probably a mouse, bird or bat. We could hear it scratching against the wall by our heads. Wife didn't care for that much. Also ended up sleeping with the window open since it was cooler outside. A/C just wasn't able to keep up I guess. We had breakfast delivered to our suite in the morning. Food was very good. Would have liked more of it, but what we had was wonderful. Check-out is at noon. I ended up leaving a necklace in the room, and Pam was nice enough to mail it back to me. Overall, it was a nice stay, but I wouldn't book that room again. Not worth the extra cost of a normal room in the house in my opinion.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Mississippi Under the Stars room if it's hot outside. Also not worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
classicrosewood, Owner at Classic Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We appreciate praises and concerns. Thanks to this guest we did find there was indeed a squirrel in the top part of the peak of the roof area who has since been trapped and sent to a B & B at Carpenter Nature Center. We have no tolerance for anything that would disturb a guest's comfort here. We also have added a banner on the bottom of the private stairway in addition to the sign on the easel so that this "lost" guest situation would never happen again. We look forward to serving this guest another time and happy to hear they will return to try us again soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had stayed at the Rosewood a number of years ago and it was one of the first B&B’s at which we ever stayed. In the years that have followed, we have stayed at a number of other B&B’s and have gotten to see the good and the bad. We recently had a chance to revisit the Rosewood Inn and I can truly say that Pam and Dick really know how to do it right.

We arrived, rang the bell, and were greeted by Pam who had us come in and set our bags down while she showed us around the house. She pointed out the different common area and gave us a little history about the house and its original owners. She made sure to point out the collection of menus for various restaurants in town, gave us a sheet of events going on in town that weekend, and showed us a map of Hastings and pointed out the location of some sites to see.

There is spot that has a buzzer that she said could be rung in case something was needed and they weren’t around. They have a caretaker on the premises. Their cellphone numbers were also posted there, so you could reach them by phone, if needed. I later had to remind one of the guests about this, as she was having an issue with water in her room. In those situations it is very good to have quick access to someone to address the issue.

Pam then made sure to highlight the cookie jar and where coffee, hot chocolate, tea, and the fridge were located. The cookie jar was great. It reminded me of growing up at home (without a mother to warn you about spoiling your dinner!).

Since we were one of the first guests to arrive, she invited us to check out the other rooms. It was a nice way to scope out which room we would like to stay in next time.

After having a wonderful dinner in town and a dollar malt at the dairy, we came back and had a nice quiet evening. I read the history of the original owners of the house, how it had been Hastings' first hospital after their deaths, and how Pam and Dick saved it from being torn down after it was condemned in the 1980’s. Pam and Dick proudly tout the fact they utilized strong green ethics in the restoration and in the current running of the B&B. Some of these efforts might not be the cheaper route to go, but certainly have paid off in lessening the carbon footprint, which is priceless.

The bed was very comfortable and we slept well…so well we almost missed our breakfast time! They allow you to either dine in one of the main rooms downstairs or in the comfort or your own room. I was glad that we chose the latter, as we weren’t quite prepared to dine with others at that point. You also get to choose your dining time, so you can plan on sleeping in late and not have to worry about missing breakfast, as you would at some other B&B’s where the time for all guests is set. I awoke to the wonderful aromas of the breakfast being prepared. The breakfast was very good, with the wonderful bread pudding (which I read about in the entries written by past guests in the journals the night before) and great fresh fruit. We both had plenty to fill our tummies.

While we were checking out, we had a chance to chat with Dick and we told him that we were so impressed with their home and the way they ran it. We were given a care package which was not to be opened until we had gotten home. I won’t spoil it for you, but it was a nice touch. It was a great way to remind us of the wonderful stay.

To sum up, everything about our stay was first rate and I hope Pam and Dick have many more years of success. I have to point out the fact the lowest rating they have gotten is average and they personally responded to each of those reviews, which only goes to show that they really care that their guests have a good experience. There are so many places that never respond to complaints, even when they are directed to the management directly.

Room Tip: There is only one room with a shower, the rest of tubs, so if you have an issue with bathing in a tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
classicrosewood, Owner at Classic Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We love to have been part of starting you on your B & B adventures on your first stay here. That is main reason we love our guests so much --- B & B travelers have this amazing spirit of discovery and appreciation of the little details in life. We love that we had the opportunity to serve you again too! That is best -- repeat guests!
PS. One little note, we do have more than one room with a shower. You must not have seen the suites upstairs.--- they all have showers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The sheets were soft, the "my pillows" were great, special mattresses allowed me to sleep great both nights we were there. Great bike trails close by. Fabulous food delivered to room. We did couples massage. It's all good. Totally relaxed and ready to go back to reality. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Classic Rosewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Rosewood Inn

Address: 620 Ramsey Street, Hastings, MN 55033
Location: United States > Minnesota > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Classic Rosewood Hotel Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic Rosewood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.