We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem! Fabulous dessert too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Onion Grille

The Onion Grille
100 Sibley St, Hastings, MN 55033-1223
651-437-7577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem! Fabulous dessert too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were impressed by helpful staff, good prices, family friendly atmosphere, and great food. The local car show was going on a block over on the Saturday late afternoon we were there. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    20
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The setting is comfortable. Convenient to historic downtown and the food is wonderful. Their soups were great. The Flatbread pizza was very good and the Liver and onions was very good. A nice variety in their menu.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well above average restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The restaurant had interesting menu items and an industrial, re-gentrification ambiance. I had a parmesan crusted cod and my wife beef stroganoff that was out of this world. I also enjoyed a martini and locally brewed beer. All the while, a local artist taught four ladies how to paint using acryllics, right there in the restaurant. That was a innovative and entertaining idea!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food and service = GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We enjoyed the atmosphere, the welcoming staff and the food was wonderful! We visited for an afternoon cocktail before going back for dinner. We were staying in town so had a cocktail and then freshened for dinner and went back to enjoy our wonderful meal. Thank you!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were visiting family in Hastings and came to the Onion Grille for my son's 6th birthday... they're located a block away from the Mississippi River and the bridge(s), and they have a cute train that drives around the edge of the ceiling, with painted landmarks that match the town's. A huge highlight for a 6 year old boy... and for us, too :)

Our server was so friendly and helpful, and she really engaged our kids. The kids' meals are a reasonable size. Not too big, not too small. I had a sirloin with "drunk mushrooms" (soaked in beer, haha!), AMAZING and generous portion of veggies (green beans and carrots in a nice teriyaki mixture) and the leek au gratin potatoes. So so so good! My dad ordered the liver and onions. Ew?! But he loved it! Chocolate lava cake for the birthday boy to share? Thank you!

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. It has great ambience for couples going out for a nice dinner, and yet it was also welcoming for a large family looking for a place to celebrate!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Onion Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Onion Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Onion Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.