We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and Fine Cuisine in Harmony, MN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of QUARTER/quarter

QUARTER/quarter
25 Center Street East, Harmony, MN
+1 507-886-5500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Harmony
Price range: $4 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Serving an eclectic mix of small plates, appetizers and desserts in addition to our beer and wine list in the Wine Bar. Chef's Tasting Menus available in the Main Dining Room.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Elegance and Fine Cuisine in Harmony, MN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A local running an antique shop in Harmony suggested the Quarter/quarter as the best restaurant in Harmony, and in her opinion better than anything in the more well known Lanesboro nearby. The decor is a clean modern that feels very welcoming. There are two large rooms, one with bookshelf-type dividers to separate it into a few sections, and the other room which has a bar and can be configured for large parties with a table that forms a square with an open middle. I had home made ravioli (5) stuffed with lamb and covered in a dark creamy mushroom sauce with a bit of parmesan. The flavor was mild but rich and mushroomy. My wife ordered a plate that had two pieces of a house made sausage wrapped in pork wrapped in bacon. The dinner roll that came with each was house made and was dense and tasty (not pasty and flavorless like most). House wine and a bottle of seasonal beer were very reasonably priced. The price with dessert didn't break the bank.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    10
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The service was conscientious and attentive, and the food was very good. There were some creative choices, and my meal was excellently prepared and a highlight of our visit to Lanesboro. The early hour they closed was a challenge, but I suppose to be expected in a small town.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Quarter/quarter is a bistro that would be a popular addition to any large city. It's a lovely surprise in the tiny town of Harmony. The setting is simple, clean, and tasteful. The menu is small but imaginative and delicious. The service is relaxed, friendly and efficient. And the prices are very reasonable. There's wine, a small but excellent selection. I had crabcakes for a starter--delicious with a light dressing of garlic mayonnaise. The ravioli is excellent. Portions are small but adequate. The chef served our dinner. We thought he should have collected the dirty plates instead to hear raves for the wonderful meal we had. If you're anywhere near Harmony, don't miss this gem. Quarter/quarter doesn't serve breakfast or lunch, so plan your trip for an evening meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed, did not live up to others' recommendations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

On fooda recent visit to Lanesboro, we tried Quarter Quarter on a recommendation from our B & B hostess and other guests. Unfortunately everyone in our party of six left disappointed. The atmosphere was visually pleasing but the room was uncomfortably warm. The oscillating fan didn't help. When we mentioned the room temp to the hostess upon departure she remarked that it was even hotter in the kitchen. OK, but was that suppose to make us feel better?

We had mixed experiences with the food. We enjoyed the ravioli and the dinner rolls, but we didn't care for the salad dressing at all and it was the only one available. Seems like there could have been different dressing options.The ribeye was tasty but thin. The curry dish was dry. We love supporting local chefs, unfortunately this was a strike out for us all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Loved everything! The featured "Hen in the Woods" mushrooms were great and the dessert sorbet and gelatos were an added treat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed QUARTER/quarter also viewed

 

Been to QUARTER/quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QUARTER/quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.