We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular property in quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starhaven Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Starhaven Retreat to your Saves list
Starhaven Retreat
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   13 Calimo Place, Indented Head, Victoria 3223, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Spectacular property in quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

There is no doubt this place is a spectacular contemporary home. Multi-levels with all sorts of bells and whistles. I think there was a flat screen TV in every room and Indonesian furniture featured heavily. We just stayed the one night and our timing wasn't great as my wife had been unwell so she spent much of the afternoon resting in the room. The room was quiet and comfortable, so it made for good respite. The room is on the smaller size though, with the walk-in robe almost half the size of the bedroom! I had a good look around the house and even indulged in the swim spa. The design of the house tends to mean it's a bit echoey (not a word I know, but west way to describe it). With the spa jets on, I had to have the TV turned right up and that echoed through the room and upwards. With the jets off, I could hear the other couple staying chatting with the hosts. This tends to happen across all of the levels. As to the hosts, they are incredibly welcoming and clearly proud of their property. I did feel a little overwhelmed at times by their effusiveness and felt like I had to engage in conversation rather than sitting quietly. But there are plenty of areas to do that. If you are looking for a cosy, quiet B & B, I don't think this would be it. But if you like modern design and engaging with your hosts, go for it.

Room Tip: I'm not sure which rooms, if any have water views, so it may be worth asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Owner at Starhaven Retreat, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Starhaven Retreat. All feedback is very welcome. Based on your comments we have taken the large divan out of the Sunrise Suite that you stayed in, thus making the room much more spacious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taylors Lakes, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our experience at the Starhaven Retreat was nothing short of excellent. Robert and Ian were ever so welcoming providing excellent service during our stay. They were fabulous hosts that did everything from making cocktails at the downstairs bar to serving us a delicious hot breakfast the next morning, as well as making us feel extremely warm and welcome.

The extravagant house is nothing short of a GRAND DESIGN and no expense is spared in the top quality finishes. There is plenty of wow factor in the house from the cinema to the swim spa and sauna but biggest wow of all goes to the stunning view of the bay.

Id happily recommend the starhaven retreat to anyone and will definitely be coming back in due time.

Room Tip: We had the basement polaris suite and it very pleasant and comfortable :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Owner at Starhaven Retreat, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review. The pleasure was all ours, meeting you and having you stay with us here at Starhaven Retreat. We look forward to your next visit. Best regards Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here over the weekend, what a beautiful place, right on the beachfront in quite Indented Heads and we easily explored the Bellarine Peninsula from the great location.

Gorgeous warm hosts, nothing was too much trouble, yummy breakfasts, beautiful comfortable beds, lots of great technology TV's, movies etc. We didn't get to try out the 14 person theatre but will definitely return to try again.

Room Tip: We had the sunrise room, was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Owner at Starhaven Retreat, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Starhaven Retreat. It was such a pleasure meeting you and we really look forward to welcoming you back with us. Warmest regards Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhaven Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhaven Retreat

Address: 13 Calimo Place, Indented Head, Victoria 3223, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Indented Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Indented Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhaven Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starhaven Retreat, an internationally acclaimed home, as seen on Grand Designs Australia, offers stylish accommodation. The ideal choice to stay, meet & relax with a difference. Its beachside location offers stunning surrounds with fantastic views across the bay to Melbourne. Relax in the spa & sauna or simply enjoy a drink & movie in the starlit cinema. "You should be here!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Starhaven Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhaven Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.