We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bridgeman's Embers America

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bridgeman's Embers America
331 NW 4th Street, Grand Rapids, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 38 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cloquet, Minnesota
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I enjoy going to Embers for breakfast. They have a nice menu variety for everyone. Usually frequent Embers in the summer time. Nice place, good food and fare prices. Good selection of icecream.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Poor service, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We dined here on a whim as we drove through Grand Rapids. The place had a certain small town feel so we thought we'd experience some local cuisine. Firstly, we came after dinner hour (around 7pm) and so there was one other couple there and us. To our rather surprise, the hostess seated us right behind the other couple even though the whole place was empty. When we asked about the specials of the night, the server simply pointed to a chalkboard that was 5 metres away from us that we could barely read and said everything was there.
We decided to order and share an entrée that consisted of two chicken breasts grilled with a salad and fresh vegetables. The server took our order and when she came back with it, she only brought one plate and rather rudely asked us, "oh did you want two plates?!" when we looked at her quizzically. The salad was anaemic, super cold and dry (the tomatoes were still frozen...gross)...she brought the salad dressing on the side as we asked, but once I went to put it on, a fly came out of nowhere and decided to swim into the dressing....needless to say, the dressing remained on the side. The chicken was SO SALTY that we nearly died from dehydration after we left the restaurant. Lastly, the fresh vegetables...you'd think nothing could possibly go wrong with that; well, they were definitely not fresh but were cooked to death to the point of limpy-ness.
Then, while we were eating, the server simply comes by and snatches away our salad plate even though there was still salad on it without asking! We weren't going to eat it, but ask before you take, please! Apparently this place is very popular for ice cream, but at that point, we were already done with it and ready to leave.
Would definitely not eat here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Love the selection of Ice cream here. Huge list. A little pricey for a single waffle cone but I love mint and they always have some variation of it on hand. Great when you have a sweet tooth that's for sure.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Awesome food, amazing value, OK staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Some basic rude restaurant activities such as vacuuming right near with without asking if you mind, disappearing waitress, waitress swap with no warning, etc

Food always amazing. Prices terrific for what you get, sundaes, malts, etc done to your liking with a smile. We eat here often, 6-10 times a year

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Pretty decent food and ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stopped here for a quick dinner one night after cross country skiing. We were on vacation in the Grand Rapids area, hungry and wanted to try something new. It was similar to a Denny’s or something along those lines, wasn’t very busy at all. Nothing to fancy or expensive but a big menu with lots of choices. That’s often times a bad thing as everything is pretty mediocre. That wasn’t the case with Bridgeman’s. I got the special, a hot beef sandwich with fries. My wife got the Gyro with fries. Overall it was pretty darn good! We were pleasantly surprised as we hadn’t expected too much. My wife really liked her Gyro a lot! The hot beef was pretty good, not super great, but pretty good. I also got a small cherry shake which was good but not nearly as thick as I like it. We would definitely go back again for a quiet meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgeman's Embers America also viewed

 

Been to Bridgeman's Embers America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridgeman's Embers America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.