We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Grand Rapids

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Super 8 Grand Rapids
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1702 South Pokegama Avenue, Junction Highway 169 South & Airport Road, Grand Rapids, MN 55744 0335   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thunder Bay, Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel was comfortable and friendly. The cookies were made, the room was exactly what we requested and clean. They could use better toilet paper, though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJN8, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Marilyn S

Thank you for complimenting us on our amenities and another big thanks for the one on our friendly staff. Customer service is always at the forefront of our priorities and I am glad to hear we are doing well on that. Thank you as well for commenting on our toilet paper available to guests. We will definitely research options and see what we can find. Thanks again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    59
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
81
39
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our problems with this hotel started at check in and didn't end until I left! My wife and I were on our way to Duluth but found ourselves in the middle of a massive snow storm, so we decided to make reservations with the Super 8. We received poor directions to the hotel from one of their representatives who seemed annoyed at us asking, and didn't end up arriving until 7 pm. When we got there, the girl told us she was going to upgrade our room because they were overbooked. We were then directed into a room that smelled like sour milk and wet cardboard. We asked to be moved but we were instead offered incense and a small candle. That night, we were awaken to what we later found out was a pizza delivery guy knocking on the wrong room at the wrong hotel! The only positive thing to happen was when the morning attendant apologized for our troubles and refunded us our money. He also told us that although we were told we received the senior citizens discount, we were actually overcharged. We will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor because the ceilings don't hold noise well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJN8, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Chuck S

Thank you for taking time to bring your stay and experience to our attention. We are currently near the end of all of our updating of the property including transitioning the last two smoking rooms to non as of 1/1/14, we have many practices in place freshening things up. Thank you for letting us know we still have a couple strides to make as it will only help us continually improve. You have my word that several customer service issues will be addressed also. We apologize you had a less than desirable stay, and in the future would ask you to consider staying with us again and let us know how we are doing. Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed overnight in route to Red Lake, MN for an ice fishing adventure. Nice accommodations, seemed clean, no frills. Had trouble with kids running up the hall at 11:00 p.m., I informed staff and never heard from kids again. Breakfast consisted of cereals, fruit, pastries and Biscuits and Gravy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJN8, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear BellCopterJockey

Thank you for staying with us during your trip, we hope you found success on the ice! I am very glad to hear that when you noticed the noise issue it was taken care of by our staff. We will do a reminder throughout the building however to make sure we are informing guests of our policies upon check in, and making them more vigilant to notice issues when they arise and proactively take care of them. Thank you again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014


excellent site for a stay in
Grand Rapids. We consistently stay here when we come to town (2-3 times a year).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJN8, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Gregory V

Thank you for taking time to review our Super 8. We highly value guest feedback and always share every review with the entire staff. We hope to see you soon! Thanks again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Grand Rapids

Address: 1702 South Pokegama Avenue, Junction Highway 169 South & Airport Road, Grand Rapids, MN 55744 0335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Grand Rapids 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest up at Super 8 Grand Rapids hotel, located at the intersection of U.S. Highway 169 South and Airport Road. Our Grand Rapids, MN, hotel sits just minutes from family-friendly pastimes like Children’s Discovery Museum and Hill Annex Mine State Park. Enjoy close proximity to some of the finest ski resorts and hiking trails in the region.Our pet-friendly hotel in Grand Rapids, MN, offers convenient amenities to help you save time. Our rooms come with free Wi-Fi, microwave, refrigerator, large-vehicle parking with outside outlets and access to guest laundry facilities. Enjoy a sound sleep, then fuel up with free SuperStart continental breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Super 8 Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Super Eight Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Super 8
Grand Rapids Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.