We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept, with good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 South Highway 169, Grand Rapids, MN 55744   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Well kept, with good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews from Trip Advisor and it was indeed a good stay. The room was clean, and the breakfast was nice too. Country Inn and Suites have been good choices for us and this one just reinforced that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    46
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
32
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wentzville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We decided to take a road trip vacation this year. A clockwise trip from Missouri to Iowa to South Dakota to North Dakota to Minnasota to Wisconsin to Illionois to Missouri.and on this trip we were very pleased with our choices of sleep . I will tell you this Country Inn and suites by Carlson was the best place we have ever stayed !We like B&B'S . And this was like a big bed and breakfast. great conversation and great people working there .felt like family.Thank you.

Room Tip: second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

From check in to check out the staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived during a time just following a major storm and power had just been restored but you'd never have known it. The hotel was clean and everything ready for guests. Room was large and comfortable, big huge and very comfortable. A very clean bathroom and hot shower. Pool was smaller but very clean and comfortable. Very good value for the money. Note, there is no elevator at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Going thru massive traffic jam in town this motel was worth it. Room was very clean and the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Have never been in this part of the country but will definitely stay here the next time. It was next to the Judy Garland museum but we got there too late to see it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, On
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My fanily and I have stayed at this property every time we come to Grand Rapids, at least twice a year for five years. Wonderful staff, well maintained and, "did I say" a great place to spend a night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We recently stayed here, and we were very impressed, room was clean, very good price, even had a microwave and small refrigerator. One thing missing is an exhaust fan in the bathroom, which got very steamy from taking a shower. Beds were very comfortable, with plush comforter! We could hear someone taking a shower, either upstairs or next door, but didn't hear any other noise from rooms.

Right off the lobby they have several small tables and chairs, this seems to be the little "coffee" area, as they have jars of cookies set out, and rolls, this is separate from the Breakfast room. By the door as you go out is a Big Jar of hard candy for the taking.

The Breakfast Room is nicely laid out, with a TV over the fireplace, lots of tables. What impressed me, was they had real dishes and glasses and silverware. There was a sign by the door, if a person wanted disposable dishware just ask for it. The breakfast was fantastic, with breads, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, real scrambled eggs, and breakfast potatoes and good sized sausage patties, which were very good incidentally, I had two of those, usually take one and that is it, not this time. Also they had my favorite Belgian Waffle Maker. May I make a suggestion though, right next to this hot waffle maker sets the margarine and butter containers. I picked up a margarine one, and it was pure liquid, which may not be the best trying to put on certain food items, so if they could find another place for that to sit?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, MN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Lovely, clean beds with no overbearing chlorine in the sheets and towels, nice big TV. Duvet covers on the bed which you know have been washed. No Fabreeze smell in the room. Friendly staff. Got a coupon for a free drink at the restaurant next door, within walking distance. Plenty of towels. AND a strip of outlets by the bed so I could plug in my cell phone. I took off one point for the internet connection that went in and out. For the price, it was very pleasant.

Room Tip: There is a pool, so perhaps you might want to be near or away from the pool. We had a room that fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids

Address: 2601 South Highway 169, Grand Rapids, MN 55744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Carlson so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.