We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat this one in Grand Rapids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Highway 169 South, Grand Rapids, MN 55744   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
193 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“You can't beat this one in Grand Rapids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

As a pilot I stay in a lot of hotels and I must say this is one for my top ten list. Most definitely the top in Grand Rapids MN. I stayed here on a personal motorcycle trip and I felt I must share my experience.Great staff from Autumn & John on the front desk, the Ladies taking care while setting out breakfast and housekeeping. The motel is well kept and the rooms are neat clean and everything works. Great beds and pillows. I can’t say enough good things about this Country Inns & Suites all for $73.00 I’ll be back. Oh and do not miss the Prime Rib at the Sawmill next door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    57
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
41
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Usually stay here twice a year as I travel back home. Always a decent price and a clean room with good staff. Pool is decent. Awesome shower heads. Good selection of channels and HBO. Breakfast is good if you are into hotel freebies. Last time I stayed no fee for a cat. Our cat loves to look out the window on the backside. May want to book in advance during tourist season. Comfy beds.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We travel through this town a few times a year and always stay here. It's nothing fancy, but it is always clean, every room has a fridge and microwave, the staff is very friendly, and they don't charge for pets. It's great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed one Saturday night. The room was a little small and the decor a little dated. However, it was quiet, clean and comfortable and that's what counts. The beds we had were probably the most comfortable beds we've ever had at a hotel. The A/C unit in our room worked very well and was quiet (unlike the constantly on-again, off-again noisy units you get in most hotel rooms). Service was good and staff was friendly. Recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room at the far end of the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
476 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Was at the Sawmill the night before and needed to get to a cleaner place for my daughter. This hotel tends to attract retiress which means it is a lot quieter and cleaner. The front desk people were very nice and attentive and the room and bedding looked very new. Clean, efficient and a nice breakfast included. I'd definately stay here again when in Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Nothing special - nothing wrong is how I would summarize my one night experience.
I would stay at this hotel again if I was in town. The hotel was clean top to bottom.
A few things to note for those who may have different priorities than me.
- The beds in my room were not queen size
- The hot breakfast was standard hotel definintion - Now a good size dining area
- The new dining area took out the exercise room - gym access is 1 mile away

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed here in July 2010 following a full day's drive. The hotel was not easy to find - not recognized by my GPS and highway advertisements did not help. Asked for the largest room available for my family of five and was disappointed to open the door and see two double beds crammed into a tiny living space. The beds were below average in comfort and the continental breakfast was lacking at best (we skipped out and ate at a local breakfast joint instead). Not many other choices in Grand Rapids - I would plan my stops elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#3 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timberlake Lodge Hotel
Timberlake Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
15.5 mi away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids

Address: 2601 Highway 169 South, Grand Rapids, MN 55744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Carlson and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.