We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spanky's Stone Hearth Restaurant

Spanky's Stone Hearth Restaurant
24785 County Rd 4, Frazee, MN 56544
218-334-3555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Frazee
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Amazing food and view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wow, we were very impressed with both the service and the food. The prices scared me at first because it is quite pricey, but the food was delicious. I am not sure that I would come here often due to the high prices, but I will definitely be back for a great meal. One member of our party had the ribs and said that they were the best she had eaten in a long time. My summer salad was amazing with lots of fruit and nuts. I also had the artichoke dip which was amazing. Our service was great and the view over Rose Lake was awesome. We were a little underdressed since we didn't know it was that fancy- I would fix that next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Music, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What most attracts us to Spanky's is the jazz music. We love the fact that they support local jazz. The food is good, sometimes excellent. It is also quite reasonably priced for the general quality. They have a large and varied wine list with some true bargains. Their sauerkraut-garlic mashed potatoes alone are worth the trip to this beautiful location. Their appetizers are varied and show some creativity. They are best known for the basics: steak, lamb, fish, shrimp--all of these are tasty and well prepared. The building is rustic--logs and frontier ambiance. The art they display is attractive and well chosen. Overall, they offer good food, good service, and a fine dining and listening experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Spanky's is a great place to eat if you don't mind spending a little extra. We have been here many times and the food is always good. It is a little expensive but worth it, and the atmosphere is nice. A fun place to go every so often!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Minnesota Lakes Area Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If your close to Detroit Lakes Minnesota and looking for exceptional food in a beautiful lodge setting then Spanky's will not disappoint. I had the 12 oz Sirloin topped with melted blue cheese and it was flavorful and tender. In addition the Beer Cheese soup was the best I ever had, thick tasty with just the right balance of cheese and ale flavor. We have eaten there several times and it has only gotten better with each visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochert, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Food found in this part of Minnesota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Every thing is alway perfect when we take friends to dinner at Spanky's!
Awesome from start to finish.
Friendly staff

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanky's Stone Hearth Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Spanky's Stone Hearth Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanky's Stone Hearth Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.