We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be better!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
43 19th St. SW, Forest Lake, MN 55025
651-464-4400
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 43 Restaurants in Forest Lake
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Chisago City, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Used to be better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Prices went up when portion size went down :(
The "new" burnt ends were chewy and fatty and the fish was frozen and deep fried. Even with the many coupons and "specials" they send out, the value is very poor for the high prices. Famous Dave's used ot be a fav of my family and now they'd rather eat fast food. The atmosphere is the only thing that is worth enjoying any more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    14
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Famous Dave's I have been in, and they have all been good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Been going here on and off for years. Best Famous Dave's I've been in, and all the ones I have been to are good! This place is on top of the game. Great food, great service considering it is more of a self service place. The people have always been friendly and make ya feel at home. I look forward to going there next month!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistent experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This location holds up to the standard I've experienced with Famous Dave's. While no sit down table service, as with most locations, orders are placed and delivered to your table promptly. Food is what you expect from Dave's, good BBQ. I've eaten here several times over the last 5 years. No disappointments.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our First Time at Famous Dave's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Came with a large group of family and everyone enjoyed their meals. The BBQ nachos were great. A number of us ordered the two meat special with ribs and wings which were tasty. There are extra sauces of various heat on the table. The salads and chicken tenders were enjoyed as well. You order the food from a cashier and the food is brought to your table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The baby backs had tiny bits of edible meat, but the regular ribs were awesome!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nice atmosphere, always able to chat with dinner guest. Haven't run out of napkins-ever! Staff is always friendly. Though I do believe someone played around with the sauces- Sweet n sassy was a bit warmer than usual!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.