We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Forest Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Forest Lake to your Saves list
AmericInn Forest Lake
1291 Broadway Ave W, Forest Lake, MN 55025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forest Lake
Osceola, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I work as a mechanical design contractor and travel around the country to work for different companies. So, when I do move to a different state and town I don’t get an apartment, I stay in hotels for the pure convenience of not moving everything I have around the country. With all that being said, I have stayed in a lot of hotels! I stayed at the AmericInn in Forest Lake, Mn at the hotel from the first part of January to the first part of May. The entire staff was very nice and accommodating, they have a good breakfast in the mornings, they kept my room cleaned, the linens changed every week and the bed was comfy. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone. Thanks to everyone at the AmericInn for a very pleasant stay, and to Anita the manager you rock!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
5
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

All staff were friendly. The room was clean and very quiet. The bed and pillows were excellent. The towels could have been a little more plush. The breakfast the usual fare at most motels these days. Coffee was excellent though. Walking distance to Applebee's:)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed here for a hockey tournament and here are a few issues I had... I wish I would have taken pictures...

~ The evening/night front desk clerk was very unfriendly and seemed irritated when we asked to stay on the same floor as the rest of our daughter's team. She became somewhat agruementative when we asked her to check to see if there was anything on the same floor. Not sure why this happened as we had a block of rooms. She seemed cranky that there were kids there... if that's the case then don't book sports teams! We don't let our kids run around like maniacs but they are kids and laugh, talk & move!

~ The NON SMOKING room REEKED of smoke and the bathroom had nicotine stains on the walls! GROSS! Pretty much the whole building smelled of smoke. I can see where it might be tempting to sneak a smoke in the bathroom since the fan sounded like it was operating on a heavy duty motor.

~ The old & outdated furniture was very wobbly and most of the finish was scratched off. Also, the bathroom was tiny and the sink area was very tiny as well and poorly lit... the towels were smelly too.

~ The breakfast bar was poorly stocked at best! No fruit, bagels, peanut butter, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, breakfast sandwiches or any other foods of substance! When you have a 8 am game you need to feed your player a good quality breakfast and when that's supposed to be provided you don't think you need to bring it with you. If there was any food out, it was gone by 7 am.

~ The dorm fridge in our room made a loud tapping noise continuously all night! We thought of unplugging it but we had drinks & yougurt in it etc... It was a relief when the heater kicked in as it would temporarily drowned out the sound and we sure weren't going to "bother" the front desk clerk.

There are only two reasons why I didn't give this a rating of terrible!

1. The housekeeper was very friendly and seemed to do her best of keeping the rooms as clean as she could get them!

2. The morning front desk clerk was very nice and helpful! When we needed to cancel our second night's stay due to our daughter's unexpected illness and head home early she was very understanding and only charged us for a half of a day's stay.


They are close to Key's Cafe & Bakery and that is a great place to eat!

Room Tip: Stay at Country Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Forest Lake hotels

Denver, co
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Nothing extraordinary, a nice, clean room. Comfortable bed, clean bath. In-wall electric heating which worked fine, but the fan was a tiny bit loud.

Due to weather, I got in very late, so didn't get much of the experience, but it seemed fine.

Breakfast (waffles, bagels, fruit, coffee, juice, etc) and newspaper in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volga, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I rated this hotel average, because it's just about normal for the types of hotels in which I stay. I try to stay in hotels that are under $100/night, and the AmericInn Motel Forest Lake was under $100. They do have a great discount, though. If you show them your Running Aces Harness Park rewards card you get a 15% discount. Running Aces is the racetrack and casino that is 3 miles away from the hotel. Just stop by the casino, sign up for a rewards card (it is free), then show the card when you check in to the hotel.

Even though you can tell the hotel is older, they do a good job of keeping it in good repair. I did not see anything that was broken or falling apart. My water temperature did fluctuate a little while I was showering, though. The bed was comfortable (not too firm, but not too soft), and the pillows were very soft. The shower was clean, but there were a few hairs around the sink. The pool and hot tub in the hotel were both fully functional and in good condition.

Across the street from the hotel are Target, WalMart, McDonald's, and Taco Bell. I don't know what else is around the area, because the point of my trip was the casino.

Overall, it's an average hotel, the staff were very friendly, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

To put it in quick and easy to understand bulleted points:
* It's affordable.
* The service is friendly and inviting.
* The continental breakfast was great.
* The beds were comfortable.
* The rooms were spacious and homey.

Overall, when stopping after a long trip, this is a great place to unwind. The location is excellent, it's right off of the freeway (but you wouldn't even guess it from how quiet the rooms are), there is a wal-mart open 24 hours right across the street so you can get anything you may have left behind and there are several nice little restaurants within walking distance.
The rooms are cozy, warm and feel like home. The beds are very spacious and comfy. My room was so quiet, I could just relax after a long day of driving.
The staff was courteous, very helpful and generally a treat to talk to.
It was a very relaxing stay, and it felt like a home away from home.

If you need a place to stay for a few nights, this should be your first option!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Compared to the other options in the area, the AmericInn off of 35 is by far the best value. I've stayed a few times and have never been disappointed. Their beds are plush, an impressive breakfast spread is offered, and the pool area is perfect for a soak before bed. The prices are comparable to the surrounding chain, but your dollar will go farther here. The hotel also accommodates pets and offers smoking rooms allowing for comforts away from home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Forest Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Forest Lake

Address: 1291 Broadway Ave W, Forest Lake, MN 55025
Location: United States > Minnesota > Forest Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forest Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your AmericInn Forest Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Forest Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.