We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world Italy meets Old West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bello Cucina

Bello Cucina
106 W Lincoln Ave, Fergus Falls, MN
218-998-2221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Fergus Falls
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Old world Italy meets Old West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Fashioned in an old main street building in downtown Fergus, the original wood floors with exposed brick and wrought iron gates create a mixture of general store meets old West bank mixed with smells of Italy. The restaurant is very warm and cozy. The service is slower so don't expect to be in a hurry. Enjoy as the Italians do...eating is the event. You are started off with Tuscan bread and dipping oil which is very light and refreshing. The wine selection is quite good. I recommend the Tenderloin Marsala. Very delicious mushroom sauce with very well prepared tenderloin, cooked to perfection, medium rare, with excellent fresh vegetables as a side. The quality of food was surprising for a small town but definitely would make any Italian chef proud.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpena
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Bello Cucina...Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My meal was Great! The Marine... well, he doesn't like cooked tomatoes (so HE chooses an Italian restaurant!!!) I ate the pieces of tomato from his plate, but I guess I should have helped him by suggesting another dish. Oh well. I had a LOVELY meal! & parts of his.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The Rudest, Most Unwelcoming Establishment I've Ever Encountered”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

3 girlfriends and I visited Bello Cucina on a recent trip to Fergus Falls. We were by no means a large group and the restaurant was not busy at all (downtown was surprisingly very, VERY quiet for a Saturday). We were seated quickly (it wasn't busy) and everything seemed ok. We were having a nice conversation over a glass of wine when one of the waitresses came over and in the most condescending tone I have ever heard, told us there were complaints that we were too loud and that our table was reserved (which, in her own way basically meant we should leave). We were stunned. I do understand how distracting a group can be if they are intoxicated and/or laughing and talking loudly. However, none of us had even gotten through one glass of wine, so we were far from intoxicated and it was just the 4 of us having a regular conversation. At no point were we loud or disrespectful in any way. Nobody told us that our table was reserved when they seated us, and it was clear by looking around the restaurant that there were plenty of other tables left. We are a group of business owners and professionals. We've traveled all over the world and have never, ever been treated the way we were at Bella Cucina! After treating us so rudely, the wait staff took nearly a half hour to bring us our bill, so we couldn't leave (as they asked us to) even if we wanted to! The whole experience left a very bad impression not just for Bello Cucina, but for the city of Fergus Falls. We will never return.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Pretty neat experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I think this place has a very unique atmosphere, and the food was good. I would definitely eat there again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Excellent Italian food place is busy even on a Monday night so call for reservations if they allow.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bello Cucina also viewed

 
Fergus Falls, MN
Fergus Falls, MN
 

Been to Bello Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bello Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.