We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sticky fingers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Faribault

Save Saved
You added Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Faribault to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Faribault
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Lavender Dr., Faribault, MN 55021 (Formerly Hotel Faribault)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Faribault
Hector, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sticky fingers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Someone in the building thought they needed an Ipad more than I did so mine somehow disappeared from my locked room. Management did not seem too interested in investigating the issue and the end result was that I was basically told I was scamming them. I have stayed in this hotel many times this year and it has always been adequate but one bad apple on the staff has made me not too willing to stay there again and feel comfortable. I guess I have to take all my belongings out of the room daily to feel safe and I suggest you do the same.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAFbltGM, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Faribault, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
First, let me apologize for the amount of time it has taken to respond, however, we were still in the middle of investigating the situation. I also am truly sorry for the frustrating experience you have endured here with us at the AmericInn of Faribault. It is certainly not acceptable for any of our guest to leave an AmericInn location with the feelings and perceptions that you shared in your Trip Advisor Review.

In regards to this specific situation, as you know, we have worked closely with the local police department. Unfortunately, we (management and the police department) were unable to locate the missing item or determine who was responsible. The staff in question was found innocent however, due to the accusations she is no longer employed with us.

We appreciate you and your business here at the hotel and I am thankful you have returned multiple times to the property. Thank you for the second chance you have given us to prove that our staff is still the trustworthy staff you have grown to count on.

Teresa Schalz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    4
    2
    10
See reviews for
10
13
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had my hesitations when checking in to this hotel. While I immediately noticed an unusual odor it turned out to be the chlorine from the pool which situates immediately to the right of the check in desk. Once I realized that I only smelled the pool, my concern subsided. As it turns out, everyone that works at that hotel, from the check-in to the maid service, is very nice and accomodating. The prices are excellent, the rooms are of good size, and the bathroom has enough counter space to comfortably hold toiletries for two people. Breakfast is included and was fairly typical of what you normally would expect from a free breakfast bar.
I would definitely stay again as this is the best value in town when considering price, room and amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAFbltGM, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Faribault, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. Our staff strive to make each guest feel welcomed and at home. I hope you are able to come back and visit our great town of Faribault and stay with us here at AmericInn.

See you soon,

Teresa Schalz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holcombe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just a one night stay. Place was very clean. Was very quiet even though our room was on the front of the motel and close to the check-in. Nice breakfast. Hot tub was not very hot.. but that's the way I like it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAFbltGM, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Faribault, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share how you enjoyed your stay with us here at the AmericInn in Faribault, MN. It always makes me happy to hear when a guest enjoys their stay, and am very glad that we were able to accomodate you and provide you with what you needed during your stay! We hope to have you come stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Kristine Ulrich
General Manager
AmericInn Faribault, MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had a to make a trip to Fairbault for a function in town It was still to cold to stay out at my camper at the resort! So I decided to make a hotel resi for one night. looked all around town and compaired pricing and I could have stayed at a cheeper Hotel. But I chose to stay here because after the reviewing all the hotels in town this one fit my needs and I was very comfortable here. Staff was very friendly and room was clean and comfortable. Thank you for being there. If the need arises again I will stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAFbltGM, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Faribault, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us here on Trip Advisor! I am very glad that we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable room, especially when it was still too cold out for you to be able to stay in the comfort of your own camper. Here at the AmericInn, we take pride in our very friendly and helpful staff, and I am glad that you were able to experience this first hand!

As the weather is finally getting warmer, I hope you are enjoying spending time in your camper at the resort! If you are ever in need of a hotel rooom or have visitors, it would be our pleasure to host you again.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and thank you again for taking the time to review your stay!

Kristine Ulrich
General manager
Faribault, AmericInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family enjoyed a brief, one-night stay with a group of friends in Faribault. Hotel was clean, neat and convenient. The staff was very helpful and accommondating to our group. Comfortable sitting area in lobby for conversation, enjoyed some pool-side time while kids soaked and sweated in sauna and typical continental breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAFbltGM, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Faribault, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the AmericInn in Faribault, Mn, and also, thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor!

I am very glad to hear that, although it was a short stay, you were able to enjoy your time here with your group of friends! We take pride in being able to consistantly provide a clean hotel to our guests, and also in our staff, who take pride in their job and truly care about making our guests stays the best they can be!

Good conversation with good friends can quickly turn any weekend into a great weekend, and I am happy to hear that you were able to use our comfortable lobby to chat, and that you were also able to enjoy poolside time watching your kids have fun in our pool!

We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future!

Kristine Ulrich
General Manager
AmericInn Hotel & Suites, Faribault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel a few times a year for over 20 years. Our last stay at Christmas 2012 was disappointing. The bedding is getting worn The blankets and bedspread are faded and very thin for a Minnesota winter. We had to run the extremely noisy heating unit all night to stay warm as the bedding was insufficient. The upholstered chairs were dirty in our room. Hallways and public areas were not cleaned during our stay. Additionally the hotel rents out the pool and "breakfast" room to outside groups so we were unable to use these spaces.

The breakfast has really gone down in quality. You get biscuits and gravy three of five week days! Hard boiled eggs were at least 2-3 days old as they were of a rubbery consistency. the breakfast area was dirty.

The hotel staff remain very friendly and helpful and two papers are available daily -- which is wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the back side of the hotel. It faces a residential street. Stay away from the South E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I thought this hotel wasn't bad. My room was clean and the beds were comfortable... My wife and I stayed here and both enjoyed our stay... If I am ever passing through here again I would come back and stay...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Faribault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Faribault

Address: 1801 Lavender Dr., Faribault, MN 55021 (Formerly Hotel Faribault)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Faribault
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Faribault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Faribault 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boarders Inn & Suites Faribault, Minnesota the ideal location for your next stay, whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. We are proud to provide the amenities you want most and deliver them at the highest level possible starting with comfortable, quieter guestrooms. Our Faribault hotel offers a variety of room types including suites with a whirlpool and fireplace. Wake up each morning to our free, hot breakfast and stay connected with free, hotel-wide, high-speed internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. The Boarders Inn & Suites in Faribault is conveniently located in Faribault, right next to the Faribault Golf and Country Club, and only minutes away from Cabela's and the Medford Outlet Mall. Faribault is the home of Shattuck-St. Mary's, known worldwide for its hockey and soccer programs, the 150 acre River Bend Nature Center, Legacy Golf Course, South Central College and State Academies for the Blind and Deaf. The hotel is adjacent to a snowmobile trail and the Sakatah State Bike Trail. There are 20 nearby fishing lakes and 40 parks within the city limits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Faribault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Faribault

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Faribault, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.