We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Fairmont

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Fairmont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn Fairmont
2225 N State Street, Fairmont, MN 56031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Fairmont
Cedarville
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

While on trip to the Black Hills we stopped to check about room for the night. There was two families in my group and we needed two rooms which they had they did not however fit well into our budget. The nice lady (Betty ?) at the desk was very heplful and even called some of the other hotels nearby to help with finding us a place to stay. I would return here just because of the service alone even though we did not spend the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. I was sad to hear that you didn't stay with us but I am very glad that Betty helped you find accomodations.

I was glad to hear that you will try us again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Please travel safely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, OR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My trip to the midwest included passing through Fairmont, MN. where I decided to stop for the night. After trying to check-in at The Holiday Inn and sharing my budget restrictions with them, I was told to go next door to the Super 8 to be accomidated.
Don't get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with the Super 8, there are many fine ones.
I, however, wasn't in a Super 8 mood.
As I prepaired to move on to Albert Lea (55 miles away), I saw the Comfort Inn and decided to try there.
Wendy, the lovely desk clerk, was able to accomidate my budget restrictions, as well as being a pleasant personality to deal with. I was given a lovely room that was clean, VERY COMFORTABLE, and a pleasure to stay in. Thank you Wendy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a nice review. I will share you nice comments with Wendy and the rest of our staff.

Thank you again for choosing Comfort Inn and we would love to have you back when your travels bring you back to the area.

Jason Subbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presho, South Dakota
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We specifically chose to stay at the Comfort Inn in Fairmont because of a memorable experience we had there several years ago. That visit we were forced to stop at 10:00 a.m. because of a blizzard. Not only did they let us into our room, but invited us to have breakfast. We were very impressed with such great customer service.
This visit, while the staff was friendly and the rooms were adequate, we were disappointed at the different attitude towards customer service. There were quite a few construction workers staying at the hotel. At about 6:10, there were a few cold breakfast items out. One of the workers asked about the hot food.
The desk clerk said he was under orders from corporate not to put hot food out until 6:30. Many places have moved breakfast to 6:00 and many airport hotels even earlier because they are meeting the needs of their customers.
This was not an inexpensive hotel ($100) especially considering tourist season is over. Instead of appreciating the contractor business, they ignored their needs. I was disappointed to see the change in attitude and I doubt we will go out of our way to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very glad to hear that our staff did a great job for you last winter in a blizzard and you appreciated the extra efforts of our team. After reading your comments we have decided to change our policy to have all of our breakfast items out every day by 6am. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

most of the staff is friendly. the chairs in the rooms are very uncomfortable. they did not get the breakfast out until the last second.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the review. We are always striving to improve our service and to make sure our guests are comfortable. I will share your comments with our staff to make sure that breakfast is available to all of our guests every day by 6am. Thank you again for staying with us, thank you for your comments and I invite you back the next time you come to Fairmont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Hotel was very clean and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast could use a little help but overall it was ok. There is a restaurant across the street and the food there was prett good. Value here was just a little pricy. We paid $98.88 total Senior rate. $88 would have been a real value/

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate your feedback and we are thankful that you choose our Comfort Inn to rest and renew for the next day. We hope that you travel safely and when you come back to the Fairmont area we invite you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

This room was great! Perfect for a one night stay in the midst of a long road trip. Very clean, very comfy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, TN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Reviews are subjective. I note some very poor reviews on this hotel, but we did not find any of those negatives during our overnight stay. We thought the lobb abd /front personnel presented a professional look. Personnel were attentive and when we found there was no elevator, they readily changed us to a first floor room. Our room was clean, and, in spite of the nearby interstate, quiet. Front personnel gave very clear directions on the Channel Inn, where we had supper. The rate we received was compatible with similar places we stayed on our two week trip. The breakfast bar, however, was indeed quite skimpy, but I would readily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Fairmont

Address: 2225 N State Street, Fairmont, MN 56031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Fairmont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn of Fairmont. Our guest room have recently been renovated and have comfortable beds and updated furnishings. All rooms have new 32” flat screen TVs and our guests enjoy the new WIFI system. Guests are welcome to start the day with hot Belgian waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits/gravy or a variety of other items available with the free deluxe breakfast. This Fairmont, MN hotel offers many additional amenities, including free USA Today newspaper, free coffee and free local calls. Guests will enjoy unwinding in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. The Comfort Inn hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 90, just two miles from the historic Fairmont Opera House. This Fairmont, MN hotel is just minutes from the Interlaken Golf Club, Lake George and the Martin County Fairgrounds, home of the Fairmont Raceway. This "city of lakes" is home to five interconnected lakes that provide abundant recreation for everyone. Families will enjoy the beaches, picnic areas complete with grills, playgrounds and more. Golfers may take advantage of the two 18-hole championship golf courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Comfort Inn Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Fairmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.