We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fairmont

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Fairmont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fairmont
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Torgerson Dr, Fairmont, MN 56031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

My family and I stayed here for a week for a family wedding. The staff were extremely nice, friendly and very helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent. We ate in various places while on holiday but the food in the Green Mill Restaurant in the hotel was definitely the best-their pizzas are delicious!!! The decor in the rooms was a bit basic but the beds were very comfortable-would love to take it home with me. I would definitely recommend it as the best hotel in Fairmont

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
6
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

Stayed here for a wedding in May 2007. The property was deep into construction and was obviously run-down and dirty. Didn't feel comfortable in the room - thin walls, old bathroom fixtures, etc. The wedding reception was held at the hotel and the food was dreadful.

Only bright point is that it's right off of the highway and there's a Starbucks very close by with a nice patio to enjoy your coffee.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — condition of the property
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

I've been stopping at the Holiday Inn at Fairmont for a few years now. This last time in January 08. It's the best that's on offer at Fairmont and as its right next to I90 its handy for a stop over on route to elsewhere as well as for those visiting Fairmont.
The hotel is not new and has recently been refurbished but still shows it's age in places, particularly in some of the bedrooms, but they're OK. The public areas are now much better and that is where the hotel scores. The bar and restaurant are good, good atmosphere in the bar and the restaurant, part of the Green Mill franchise, offers a good selection for both dinner and breakfast.
What makes a real difference is the service - the staff are friendly and efficient, great service and really make you feel welcome.
There's a pool, hot tub and gym to help wind down or exerercise if that's your thing.
No five stars but if you need to stay in Fairmont then the Holiday Inn is your best bet and good value.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Some of the rooms still drab
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

We stopped here on our way back from Rapid City (Mt Rushmore), so we only stayed one night. Too bad there's not more to do in the area, because this property truly is nice. The pool area is superb, spacious and the flooring prevents slips and falls. There were game tables and an arcade area too. We ate in the bar (pizza) and it was good too. The staff are friendly enough. The room was clean but a bit on the cramped side (we used the pull out couch for my daughter). If we're headed that way again in the future, we'll stay there again.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Size of the room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

We had a first-floor poolside room, and the kids loved that the kiddie pool was separate from the larger pool, though they kept running back and forth between the two. The hot tub was nice, too, as was the mini-golf putting green which had three holes for putting practice. Staff closed the pool at 10 p.m. which I thought was a bit early, but I guess ome people have to sleep.

Good travel stop between Rapid City and Chicago, about half-way.

The restaurant was nice (kids ate for free!), but breakfast took a bit long getting to us. Still, it was hot when we got it, and tasty.

I'm not sure when the rooms were redone, but I thought the hotel overall was dated. The kids would love to go back.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2006

Stayed for one night in a poolside room. Rooms are very clean and updated. Pool area is very nice and kids enjoyed it. Restaurant is good, pizza is excellent. The bar was great, good margarita's and free popcorn and peanuts. If you are looking for a quick getaway in the middle of nowhere, the Fairmont Holiday Inn is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fairmont

Address: 1200 Torgerson Dr, Fairmont, MN 56031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Fairmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fairmont 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn-Fairmont is nestled within a pleasant, charming community. A day's drive from either the Black Hills or Chicago makes it a convenient stop for travelers across the Midwest. Our hotel offers very nice guestrooms with upgraded Duve bedding, a nice work space in every room and all rooms have 32” flat screen TVs. Our Executive Kings and Suites offer refrigerators and microwaves. We have a large indoor pool area to ensure that everyone will have room to relax poolside and enjoy the heated pool, whirlpool and our one foot deep kiddie pool. Take in some family fun in our arcade or enjoy some free activities like foosball or ping pong. We have a state of the art fitness center and our guests enjoy our business center. We have WIFI throughout the hotel so you can stay connected anywhere on the property. No matter what meal of the day, you will find out Green Mill Restaurant and bar a great place to gather with friends, family or co-workers for a great dining experience. Our guests can take advantage of our Kids Eat Free program and is you’re interested in just staying in room service is always an option. There's always plenty of seasonal activity around Fairmont. Summer fun includes boating, sailing, water-skiing, wind-surfing, swimming and fishing on the chain of five lakes. In the winter you can take in renting an ice fishing house or do some snowmobiling, country skiing or just hitting the sledding hills. The Holiday Inn is located at the intersection of I-90 and Highway 15 so we are very easy to find. We hope that you travel safe and we look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fairmont Hotel Fairmont
Fairmont Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fairmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.