We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the area!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fairmont

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Fairmont to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Fairmont
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Torgerson Dr, Fairmont, MN 56031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
Bartlett, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Holiday Inn Fairmont is a very good and comfortable hotel. We stay here at least five times a year as my wife has family in the area. It is in a great location for travelers as it is right off of I-90. The rooms are good size and are very comfortable. The room includes WiFi and has a good TV cable selection. The hotel also has a nice restaurant, Green Mill, which is very good. There is also another restaurant within walking distance and a gas station across the street. We have used the fitness center and pool which are both nice. It would be a great stay for families with children or those traveling further.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for your continued business and for taking the time to write us a nice review. Our staff takes great pride in the work that they do and our Owners are very committed to providing our guests with a nice hotel.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Jason Subbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
8
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We've stayed here 2 times already this year. They consistently do a good job. The beds are comfortable, the pool area is great, and they keep the water temp warmer than most hotels!
Make sure to order some Green Mill pizza while you are there!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for the four star review. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed both of our stays with us this year. We look forward to seeing you again when your back in our area.

Jason Subbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

First off let me say that this hotel is nice in appearance. It has a very nice pool area. The rooms are average. The restaurant is very nice and the food was good also. I picked this hotel based pretty much solely on the pool area. My son loved to swim and since we very rarely get to go anywhere it is important to me that he gets a chance to swim in a nice pool area. So we get checked in and head to the Green Mill for supper. The staff was very nice and very timely. Our food was very good. After supper we head back to the room to watch a little TV and let our food settle before we head to the pool. Well that is where things start to go bad. The TV doesn't work. Not a huge deal, I only wanted to watch the weather as bad weather was forecast. I walked down to the front desk and the young lady attending followed me up to check the TV. Yep, doesn't work. So she does right and puts us in another room. She offers to lower our rates to make up for it. I told her no big deal, that things just happen sometimes. After watching the weather we change into our swimsuits and head for the pool. We just get to the pool area, slip our shoes off, about to put our feet in the pool and the hotel manager tells me the pool is closed because someone's child could make it to the restroom. Am I upset yes. But again, this is out of the hotel's control so I understand. Unfortunately the pool area must remain closed for 24 hrs. So after only having been in the hotel for a couple hours I decide a change of hotels is in order. I call across the street to a different hotel. a hotel that was actually my second choice behind the Holiday Inn. They tell me they have rooms available. The price is higher and the pool area isn't as nice but at this point we don't have alot of options if my son is going to get to swim. So we head to the front desk of the Holiday Inn to announce our plans. The hotel manager is very understanding as is will to help in any way he can. He offers us a stay at the Comfort Inn as they are affiliated. I decline as we wanted the nicer pool are. So he gets the "Head" manager on the phone to see if there is anything she can do for us. She puts the manager at the hotel on hold while she calls the hotel of our choice to see if there is anything they can do for us. While on hold the manager gets pulled away and a young woman takes over. This is where things change and attitudes become tested. The young woman puts the phone to her head and says she is taking with the "Head" hotel manager. The young woman again offers me the Comfort Inn. I decline.....again.(She was standing right there the first time I declined.) But now a new twist and this is why I will never stay there again. She tells me the hotel of our choice is booked up and that the Comfort Inn is our only choice!! I tell her I called and that they have rooms available. Then she tells me, "well they could have booked up in the last couple hours." I JUST CALLED 15 MINUTES AGO!! So I get out my cell phone and call the hotel while the woman is standing there. Yep, they have plenty of rooms. Up until this point I was, while not happy with the situation, very understanding. But now I am being lied to. This in my opinion is the very worst thing customer service can do. Lie to a customer just to make a buck off of a sister hotel. Again, I will not stay there again. Unfortunate to put the blame on this hotel for the actions of one person. But this woman was employed by the hotel therefor they are responsible.
Lastly I do want to say again. Hotel, rooms, pool area, parking.....all very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. I feel terrible about the poor experience that you had at our hotel and I feel worse about how things where handled. I have sent you a private message to try and get an opportunity to talk with you about this. Guest feedback is critical to future guests experiences and I always welcome honest feedback. I hope that I get a chance to talk with you soon and I apologize once again.

Jason Subbert
General Manager
gm@hifairmont.com
507-236-0318
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I'm just going through all the hotels on our road trip. And this one has very few notes. This to be honest is quite a good thing, as it means there was nothing really wrong with it and nothing truly remarkable about it. Check-in was efficient. The room looked exactly like the last two Holiday Inn's. The restaurant served reasonable food. It's another convention hotel, so full of photocopier salesmen. The only other note I have about it was the wi-fi was fairly poor. So for a stop-over it's fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Tim & Jamie,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking them time to write a review. I'm glad to hear that you had nothing bad to report but also which you had something great to report. We do appreciate your feedback on our wifi. Something must have been wrong because we have 100 megs of service and we don't usually see complaints on our service. I will follow up to ensure all of our access points are working correctly.

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for staying with Holiday Inn.

Jason Subbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We recently had the occasion to stay in this property. We had a few times before and this time was as comfortable as we have become accustomed to at this location.

Unless you are traveling as a family or pool-party type, we tend to look for rooms away from the central court which overlooks the pool. It can get busy--and noisy--and unless you choose to be part of the water-fun ask for a room elsewhere.

The rooms are clean, and smell-free...the beds and bedding clean and comfortable.

The adjacent restaurant is very good too--serving all meal service for the hotel. They even feature happy hour specials, and a restrained sport-bar vibe.

Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We have a lot of poolside or poolview rooms that give our guests direct access to our wonderful poolarea. I'm glad that you got the opportunity to experience our GreenMill Restaurant and Bar.

Thanks again or staying with us and travel safely,

Jason Subbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here during a business trip to the US from the UK. After a 5 hour drive from Stoughton WI, we just wanted somewhere to get our heads down and relax. The staff on reception were very welcoming and soon had us checked in to our rooms. The rooms were clean and tidy and the usual size for The Holiday Inn.

The restaurant next door served great food and was a perfect way to end the day.

Bonus, free cookies on arrival!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Philip,

Thank you for staying with us and for the nice review. I was glad to hear that after a long day of travel you where able to rest and relax. We hope you had a safe trip home and we look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to the Fairmont area.

Thank you again,

Jason Subbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was in Fairmont on a business trip and wasn't having high hopes for the accommodation as I drove in town but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff was very friendly and the room was great. The dinning on site was awesome! This was a great place to unwind after a long day and long trip..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Shawn,

Thank you for staying with us and for the nice review. I was very glad to hear that at the end of a long business trip you where able to rest and relax. I will share you comments with our staff and encourage them to keep up the good work!

Thanks again and I hope that you choose us again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Jason Subbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fairmont

Address: 1200 Torgerson Dr, Fairmont, MN 56031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Fairmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fairmont 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn-Fairmont is nestled within a pleasant, charming community. A day's drive from either the Black Hills or Chicago makes it a convenient stop for travelers across the Midwest. Our hotel offers very nice guestrooms with upgraded Duve bedding, a nice work space in every room and all rooms have 32” flat screen TVs. Our Executive Kings and Suites offer refrigerators and microwaves. We have a large indoor pool area to ensure that everyone will have room to relax poolside and enjoy the heated pool, whirlpool and our one foot deep kiddie pool. Take in some family fun in our arcade or enjoy some free activities like foosball or ping pong. We have a state of the art fitness center and our guests enjoy our business center. We have WIFI throughout the hotel so you can stay connected anywhere on the property. No matter what meal of the day, you will find out Green Mill Restaurant and bar a great place to gather with friends, family or co-workers for a great dining experience. Our guests can take advantage of our Kids Eat Free program and is you’re interested in just staying in room service is always an option. There's always plenty of seasonal activity around Fairmont. Summer fun includes boating, sailing, water-skiing, wind-surfing, swimming and fishing on the chain of five lakes. In the winter you can take in renting an ice fishing house or do some snowmobiling, country skiing or just hitting the sledding hills. The Holiday Inn is located at the intersection of I-90 and Highway 15 so we are very easy to find. We hope that you travel safe and we look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fairmont Hotel Fairmont
Fairmont Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fairmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.