We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible staff, deep pool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fairmont

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Fairmont to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Fairmont
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Torgerson Dr, Fairmont, MN 56031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
East Troy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible staff, deep pool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at the Fairmont Holiday Inn on our way out to Custer State Park last weekend, then again last night on our way home. We were so impressed with the level of service from the staff at this hotel. Over the course of the two nights we stayed, Jay, Jeff and Jerry all helped with our various requests and did so in a way that made us feel they wanted nothing less than our complete satisfaction during our stay. Truly first class service. The rooms are fairly standard, but quite clean, although the carpet in our poolside room was a little damp. No big deal though. Our 10 year old son was thrilled to have the pool located just out side our door, and my 47 year old husband was thrilled that the pool was 8 ft deep at one end, a rarity among hotel pools. And I was thrilled that the water in the pool was incredibly warm! Oh -- and the pizza from the hotel restaurant was fantastic too. Can't say enough about what a lovely surprise it was to stumble upon such a great place to stay on I90 in "the middle of nowhere", SD!

Room Tip: Families choose poolside or poolview, business, couple and single travelers will want to request a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn and thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear that you and your family had a great time and it sounds like a great vacation. Our staff works hard to take care of our guests and I am glad to hear that Jay, Jerry and Jeff left such a great impression on your family. I’ll share your comments with our staff and thank you again for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
8
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Great location right off the Interstate. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to insure our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for the nice review and thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn. I am very glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable and our staff did a great job for you. I am very proud of our staff and they work hard so thank you for taking the time to recognize them. We invite you to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the Fairmont area. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I had a meeting here and took my familiy. It was a perfect hotel for the family since it has a nice pool, hot tub, game area and an excellent restaurant which serves excellent pizza until late in the evening! Perfect for the kids and when they are busy and having fun it makes it relaxing for the adulta! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The hotel is clean and nicely updated. We apprecaited all the amentities. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing our Holiday Inn and for the nice review. I am so glad to hear that your family had a great time. Our staff takes great pride in providing clean comfortable rooms and our company is committed to having the amenities that really matter. I will share your comments with our staff. Thank again for staying with us and we will look forward to seeing again when your travels bring you back to the Fairmont area.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

There is really no reason anyone should have to go here to Fairmont unless for business or needing a break during a long drive on the 90. This hotel has a decent lobby and the restaurant/bar onsite is nice seeing as there really isn't much else around. However, the rooms are seriously lacking. I even had the nicest room in the hotel which was a two room suite with a jacuzzi. The bathroom was the only part that had been renovated. The jacuzzi was ancient. The televisions were old tiny tubes with poor reception quality. The carpet was dirty, furniture old, and I was disgusted looking on the ground behind the bed. During my stay they repaved the parking lot and I was away with a collegue offsite when they started. Came back that evening and found my rental car had been moved down the street (not by me and obviously by tow). No one ever contacted me and there was no warning about them planning to repave the parking lot. Had it been my own car and not a rental I would have been furious. The bar and restaurant onsite has pretty good food and good drink specials as well as friendly staff. The front desk staff is also very cordial but again it's the room that matters to me more than anything. In that respect (the room), this hotel was a fail. I stayed across the street at the Hampton the following week and the rooms are small but much newer and much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am disappointed that you didn’t rest well while staying with us and that you were not happy with your accommodations. I apologize for the carpet not being clean in your room and I will share your comments with our housekeeping team to ensure that they do a better job.

I also apologize for your car being towed during our parking lot improvement project. Trust me that this was a last resort. We tried to communicate the project to everyone with information at check in. We posted signs on the entrance doors. We ended up having to tow just one car and I apologize that we didn’t have your contact information to be able to have you move it.

We have been working hard to improve our property and we recently renovated all of our guestroom bathrooms and added an elevator. I am happy to hear that our staff did a nice job taking care of you and that you enjoyed your meal in our GreenMill Restaurant.

I hope that when you travel you will consider giving Holiday Inn another chance. Our hotel would love another opportunity to do a better job for you. Thanks again for your feedback and please travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Very old property. No update to property or rooms. Room was however clean and didn't smell. Most king size rooms are located adjacent to stairways which are very noisy. Reservered a king room but had to switch to a double . If you are a light sleeper, you will not want room 266. There's a cooling unit located on the roof above the room and its really loud.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for staying with us in Fairmont. We always strive to have guests be able to rest and recharge for the next day and we apologize that you were not able to rest comfortably.

Concerning the noise in room 266, I personally went to this room today to check into it. We did find that we have a problem with the air conditioner in that room and we will have Maintenance replace the unit today. I also noticed the noise from the roof top unit that services the pool area and our Maintenance team is investigating that problem as well.

Thank you for your feedback as this is how we improve. We would have liked the opportunity to help you during your stay and I would encourage you in the future to let us know if you are having a problem so we can get it resolved for you while you’re still at the hotel.

We have been working hard to improve the quality of our guest experience. We have upgraded our free High Speed Internet service, we added an elevator and the bathrooms are completely renovated. Our property is committed to continuous improvements and we will strive to learn from your comments and apply necessary changes.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope that you will consider staying with us again when your travel needs bring you back into the Fairmont area.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fairmont hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Stopped at the Hotel in January - A good Front Desk Reception , Helpfull Staff ,Bar that was Ok ...But I'm sorry about the rest.

This is my own opinion based on a weeks stay - i admitt that its based on one bedroom - but talking to business colleagues the other rooms are the same or worse.

As a business traveller i want from a Hotel, Clean Rooms , Well maintained Bathrooms, somewhere to rest of an evening watching a decent tv + free wifi ...Oh and a decent place to eat.

Hallways -Carpets need reoplacing - decor restyled -dramaticaly

Bedroom - OH Dear Carpets years past the sell by date , lights dim -giving the room a dark and dingie feel ( like a place to lie low in a 50's gangster movie) -sorry the room was also dusty in the corners.

Also soundproofing ....do you have any?

Heating - have you ever watched Fawltey Towers ...have a look at one of the episodes on UTube ..very heating -wore a beanie hat in bed.

Had Breakfast the first day very average...

The Hotel and function room was busy at least 3-4 nights out of the 7 i stayed so it can not be that the hotel isnt making Money -So why doesnt the Chain spend Money on it and fit it out correctly? thats the least they could do to give the staff a chance!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorgersonProperties, Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff! At the same time, please accept our apologies. In reading your review, I want to sincerely apologize as your experience definitely doesn't reflect the quality and value we strive to provide for our guests.

Since your visit in January, we have undergone a number of exciting changes at the hotel. We have updated our high speed internet service, which is an absolute essential for our guests. We have updated all of our guest bathrooms with new finishes on nearly every surface (new tile, new vanities, new lighting). We also added an elevator to the hotel.

Our renovations are never "complete" as we will always be making improvements to the hotel as we are committed to being a hotel of choice in Fairmont now and in the future. We will take your comments to heart in our planning for the additional improvements we will be making this fall and winter.

I sincerely hope you will visit again with us on your next trip through Fairmont and allow us the opportunity to show you the value and service you (and we) expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, Iowa
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Once we got past the nice lobby, we realized we should lower our expectations. Yes, coming into the room, there was hair in the corners of the bathroom easily picked up with tissue paper and excused as "probably busy" in my head. There was a roll of toilet paper with only a wisp left, but there was a second roll, so I didn't panic. There was soda pop splatters inside the bottom dresser drawer that I cleaned out with a wash cloth. Gross, but I guess the staff don't look in there.
We stayed poolside - which was apparently open until 11:00 pm - not the 9:00 pm I was told when I booked the room. The beds were uncomfortable and the room was surprisingly dry (for being next to the pool!) but we survived the first night. The pool was pretty noisy. We didn't sleep very well until it closed at 11:00 am.
The second night brought some surprises. We were out of the hotel all day, and when we returned, the beds were made. The full toilet paper roll had migrated from the back roller to the front (why bother re-situating it without replacing it?). We settled in but couldn't sleep because of the excessive music coming from the pool area. We called the front desk and learned there was a wedding going on - live band - nothing they can do about it. No rooms available to move us away from the noise, either. No discount on our room.
The band lasted until midnight - the loud drunken babbling until 2:00 am. Calls to the front desk were in vain. Then to my horror, we discovered a disgusting "used" hand towel in-between the sheets of our bed. I swear it wasn't there the night before, but it wasn't a "clean towel caught in the sheets" either because - well - it wasn't clean. We didn't get much sleep either night. I complained to the front desk but no offer to discount - just a shrug like this happens all the time.
I'm never staying there again. I'm considering never staying at a Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorgersonProperties, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
I can’t apologize enough for your stay at Holiday Inn Fairmont. The situation you described is unacceptable and I am sincerely sorry. Not only did we not meet your expectations in terms of cleanliness, but we failed to respond to your requests for assistance throughout your experience. Please understand that we take your comments very, very seriously. I will immediately share your feedback with my staff and we will identify where we went wrong and fix it. But the first step is to express to you how sorry we are that we failed to provide you with a clean room, a restful night and friendly, helpful service.

Jason Subbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fairmont

Address: 1200 Torgerson Dr, Fairmont, MN 56031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Fairmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fairmont 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn-Fairmont is nestled within a pleasant, charming community. A day's drive from either the Black Hills or Chicago makes it a convenient stop for travelers across the Midwest. Our hotel offers very nice guestrooms with upgraded Duve bedding, a nice work space in every room and all rooms have 32” flat screen TVs. Our Executive Kings and Suites offer refrigerators and microwaves. We have a large indoor pool area to ensure that everyone will have room to relax poolside and enjoy the heated pool, whirlpool and our one foot deep kiddie pool. Take in some family fun in our arcade or enjoy some free activities like foosball or ping pong. We have a state of the art fitness center and our guests enjoy our business center. We have WIFI throughout the hotel so you can stay connected anywhere on the property. No matter what meal of the day, you will find out Green Mill Restaurant and bar a great place to gather with friends, family or co-workers for a great dining experience. Our guests can take advantage of our Kids Eat Free program and is you’re interested in just staying in room service is always an option. There's always plenty of seasonal activity around Fairmont. Summer fun includes boating, sailing, water-skiing, wind-surfing, swimming and fishing on the chain of five lakes. In the winter you can take in renting an ice fishing house or do some snowmobiling, country skiing or just hitting the sledding hills. The Holiday Inn is located at the intersection of I-90 and Highway 15 so we are very easy to find. We hope that you travel safe and we look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fairmont Hotel Fairmont
Fairmont Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fairmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.