We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Staff - But The Hotel Needs A Makeover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fairmont

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Fairmont to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Fairmont
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Torgerson Dr, Fairmont, MN 56031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Staff - But The Hotel Needs A Makeover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Stopped at the Hotel in January - A good Front Desk Reception , Helpfull Staff ,Bar that was Ok ...But I'm sorry about the rest.

This is my own opinion based on a weeks stay - i admitt that its based on one bedroom - but talking to business colleagues the other rooms are the same or worse.

As a business traveller i want from a Hotel, Clean Rooms , Well maintained Bathrooms, somewhere to rest of an evening watching a decent tv + free wifi ...Oh and a decent place to eat.

Hallways -Carpets need reoplacing - decor restyled -dramaticaly

Bedroom - OH Dear Carpets years past the sell by date , lights dim -giving the room a dark and dingie feel ( like a place to lie low in a 50's gangster movie) -sorry the room was also dusty in the corners.

Also soundproofing ....do you have any?

Heating - have you ever watched Fawltey Towers ...have a look at one of the episodes on UTube ..very heating -wore a beanie hat in bed.

Had Breakfast the first day very average...

The Hotel and function room was busy at least 3-4 nights out of the 7 i stayed so it can not be that the hotel isnt making Money -So why doesnt the Chain spend Money on it and fit it out correctly? thats the least they could do to give the staff a chance!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorgersonProperties, Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff! At the same time, please accept our apologies. In reading your review, I want to sincerely apologize as your experience definitely doesn't reflect the quality and value we strive to provide for our guests.

Since your visit in January, we have undergone a number of exciting changes at the hotel. We have updated our high speed internet service, which is an absolute essential for our guests. We have updated all of our guest bathrooms with new finishes on nearly every surface (new tile, new vanities, new lighting). We also added an elevator to the hotel.

Our renovations are never "complete" as we will always be making improvements to the hotel as we are committed to being a hotel of choice in Fairmont now and in the future. We will take your comments to heart in our planning for the additional improvements we will be making this fall and winter.

I sincerely hope you will visit again with us on your next trip through Fairmont and allow us the opportunity to show you the value and service you (and we) expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
8
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainwell, Michigan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Once we got past the nice lobby, we realized we should lower our expectations. Yes, coming into the room, there was hair in the corners of the bathroom easily picked up with tissue paper and excused as "probably busy" in my head. There was a roll of toilet paper with only a wisp left, but there was a second roll, so I didn't panic. There was soda pop splatters inside the bottom dresser drawer that I cleaned out with a wash cloth. Gross, but I guess the staff don't look in there.
We stayed poolside - which was apparently open until 11:00 pm - not the 9:00 pm I was told when I booked the room. The beds were uncomfortable and the room was surprisingly dry (for being next to the pool!) but we survived the first night. The pool was pretty noisy. We didn't sleep very well until it closed at 11:00 am.
The second night brought some surprises. We were out of the hotel all day, and when we returned, the beds were made. The full toilet paper roll had migrated from the back roller to the front (why bother re-situating it without replacing it?). We settled in but couldn't sleep because of the excessive music coming from the pool area. We called the front desk and learned there was a wedding going on - live band - nothing they can do about it. No rooms available to move us away from the noise, either. No discount on our room.
The band lasted until midnight - the loud drunken babbling until 2:00 am. Calls to the front desk were in vain. Then to my horror, we discovered a disgusting "used" hand towel in-between the sheets of our bed. I swear it wasn't there the night before, but it wasn't a "clean towel caught in the sheets" either because - well - it wasn't clean. We didn't get much sleep either night. I complained to the front desk but no offer to discount - just a shrug like this happens all the time.
I'm never staying there again. I'm considering never staying at a Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorgersonProperties, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
I can’t apologize enough for your stay at Holiday Inn Fairmont. The situation you described is unacceptable and I am sincerely sorry. Not only did we not meet your expectations in terms of cleanliness, but we failed to respond to your requests for assistance throughout your experience. Please understand that we take your comments very, very seriously. I will immediately share your feedback with my staff and we will identify where we went wrong and fix it. But the first step is to express to you how sorry we are that we failed to provide you with a clean room, a restful night and friendly, helpful service.

Jason Subbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fairmont hotels

Rosemount, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Just returned home from a fun weekend at the Fairmont Holiday Inn. We were very pleased with the friendly service from several employees including two who went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. We did miss the ping pong table that was there the year before and a daily newspaper would have been nice but overall we had a great time and plan to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorgersonProperties, Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your comments and your business! We want to let you know our ping pong table is returning so you will be able to enjoy that on your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHague
Level Contributor
162 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

To be honest I expected better from Holiday Inn than a 1970's motel from a B-movie, looking a bit sorry for itself. The prices certainly aren't motel ones though !

By the time we arrived the pizza restaurant and bar had shut, I think 11pm is a little early for a hotel bar to shut, but maybe thats how things are in the Midwest. There's a McDonalds across the street, although that didn't solve the beer problem !

The corridors seemed to be a sea of discarded pizza boxes and room service trays, obviously cleaning wasn't high on the agenda.

Breakfast was served by lovely chatty old ladies, the food wasn't brilliant though.

It was just a late-night stopover, I'm glad I didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn in Fairmont. We appreciate all of our guest’s feedback and I feel bad that you didn’t have the experience that you were looking for. We take great pride in providing our guest’s with a clean hotel and great service and we have a long history of doing just that. We been working hard on renovating our property and our exterior along with our Restaurant, Bar and Banquet Rooms have all been completed. We are currently putting an elevator in and our guestroom bathroom renovation will start Spring of 2011.

I am disappointed that our staff didn’t get the room service trays cleared timely and that you were not able to serve you for dinner in our GreenMill Restaurant. Our hours are Monday through Saturday 6:30am to 10pm in the Dining room and the GreenMill Bar is open until at least Midnight. Sundays we are open from 7am to 10pm in the Dining room and the Bar. I’m glad that you had good service for breakfast and I hope that when your travels bring you back to our area you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Jason Subbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Don't be fooled by the remodeled exterior and lobby, the rooms have probably not been updated since 1970's. Probably have not been cleaned since the 1970 either.
There is no elevator in this hotel. So we had to lug all our bags up the stairs to our room. The rooms are dated colors, popcorn ceilings, old TV's.
Dated bathrooms, bathtub floor dirty, needed a good scub. No room on bathroom counter- was wet and everything slipped on dirty floor.
Housekeeping was horrid- there was at least 6 inches of dust and filth behind the bed. (No, I did not pull it out it was the type that curved back from the wall).

Toletries: Bath & Body Works Shampoo (no cond.)
Coconut Lime & Verbena Lotion
Citrus Mint Hand Soap
Citrus Mint Bath Soap

Pet Friendly

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savage
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

With sudden tornado conditions, we turned in to this hotel. Every guest of the hotel and restaurant was already in the hallway. Staff welcomed us in, sent us down the hallway with no pause and kept us informed of weather without worrying the kids. I felt lucky to have found this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines, iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed here for a weekend and were very happy with everything. The staff was very accomodating. The pool area was very clean. There was always clean towels and we really enjoyed having the separate pool for small children only. The rooms were updated and clean. My only complaint was no continental breakfast. They had a restaurant with a breakfast buffet though.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#1 of 4 in Fairmont
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Fairmont
Comfort Inn Fairmont
#3 of 4 in Fairmont
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Fairmont
Super 8 Fairmont
#4 of 4 in Fairmont
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth
22.1 mi away
Super 8 - Saint James
Super 8 - Saint James
#1 of 1 in Saint James
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
17.5 mi away
Super 8 Blue Earth
Super 8 Blue Earth
#2 of 2 in Blue Earth
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fairmont

Address: 1201 Torgerson Dr, Fairmont, MN 56031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Fairmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fairmont 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn-Fairmont is nestled within a pleasant, charming community. A day's drive from either the Black Hills or Chicago makes it a convenient stop for travelers across the Midwest. Our hotel offers very nice guestrooms with upgraded Duve bedding, a nice work space in every room and all rooms have 32” flat screen TVs. Our Executive Kings and Suites offer refrigerators and microwaves. We have a large indoor pool area to ensure that everyone will have room to relax poolside and enjoy the heated pool, whirlpool and our one foot deep kiddie pool. Take in some family fun in our arcade or enjoy some free activities like foosball or ping pong. We have a state of the art fitness center and our guests enjoy our business center. We have WIFI throughout the hotel so you can stay connected anywhere on the property. No matter what meal of the day, you will find out Green Mill Restaurant and bar a great place to gather with friends, family or co-workers for a great dining experience. Our guests can take advantage of our Kids Eat Free program and is you’re interested in just staying in room service is always an option. There's always plenty of seasonal activity around Fairmont. Summer fun includes boating, sailing, water-skiing, wind-surfing, swimming and fishing on the chain of five lakes. In the winter you can take in renting an ice fishing house or do some snowmobiling, country skiing or just hitting the sledding hills. The Holiday Inn is located at the intersection of I-90 and Highway 15 so we are very easy to find. We hope that you travel safe and we look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fairmont Hotel Fairmont
Fairmont Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fairmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.