We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
1145 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ely
Rochester, Minnesota, Usa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good hotel at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very good family-run hotel. The owners were friendly and obviously wanted to ensure we enjoyed our stay. They shared with us about the changes they're making to make the motel more 'green', which was interesting.

The rooms were quite clean and well cared for, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    24
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
40
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

What I noticed immediately was the lack of chemical smells usually evident in motels. Stayed in the new building with beautiful bathroom, nice linens, eco-friendly wooden furniture, and comfortable heating. Very comfy all around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I were super excited to head up to Ely to a dog friendly hotel where we could bring our "kids". I was very disappointed when the owner pointedly asked me if we planned to bring our dogs with us when we were heading out for the day. I told her we would be usually but if we were shopping or eating out they would be in the room. She then told me of all the times peoples usually well behaved dogs behaved poorly in her rooms (chewing a bed corner=, ruining the blinds, and barking). It was less than 30 minutes after we left to shop we received a phone call saying the dogs were barking excessively. When we got there a few minutes later they were not barking at all. Upon check out we found out the time at which they were barking the place was a "madhouse". There were people coming and going, tons of people checking in, three dog sled teams checked in with their dogs barking in the trucks, well no wonder they were barking. Not to mention the dog friendly room we were in was on the main floor in the center of the parking lot that saw the most traffic out of any other room. The room was so hot we had to sleep with the windows open, even though we had the heat off in the middle of winter. The second and third night we just had to sweat it out because of the barking dog sled teams’ right outside our windows. The walls and ceilings were so thin we could perfectly hear the conversation or upstairs neighbors were having at 12:30 in the morning. Our dog dig tear a sheet with her nail on their "Expensive Organic Sheets,” Fortunately we were only billed $25.00, which we were not notified of until after they charged it. We received the receipt in the mail a few days after the charge with a demeaning note telling us maybe we "learned our lesson" and that the sheets are normally $125 since they are organic, but since these sheets are older they only charged us $25.00, which come to think of it is how much my husband and I paid for our sheet sets that are organic at target. By the way, the sheets on the beds did not even match. This was an awful stay, snowmobiles ran by all night, the hosts were inhospitable, the bed and room uncomfortable, and not all that dog friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I was the person who talked to you upon check in. As you know, it was the Wolf Track Classic dog race and you were here to help at the race. I discussed with you our policy of not leaving pets unattended in rooms. Dogs do become frightened and disoriented when this happens. Dogs that are normally well-behaved will act out if frightened. when you left, the dogs did start to bark and unfortunately the dogs were making enough noise that it distracted the guest next to you trying to put their baby to sleep. I had explained to you that if the dogs did start to bark that we would have to call and you understood that. It was a crazy weekend with several trailers of sled dogs and the town was busy with everyone here for the race. I do apologise for all the extra noise caused by so many dogs. As to the other complaints, it was a very noisy weekend and I know that all the activity was disruptive. All of the motels on the main strip of Ely are on the road and you can hear the traffic. The front building has the doors opening into a hallway. which does help in that regard. The rooms are all heated with in floor heat. Changing the temp up or down takes a bit longer but the heat is quiet and no blowing or motors running. Opening the window to cool a room down faster is understandable. The sheets were shredded when you left. It would have nice if you had notified us before you left and we could have talked about everything. The sheets were not $125 originally but were definitely much more than the $25. I am sorry your stay was not a happy experience, but I did want to reinforce the message about why we have a policy of not leaving dogs unattended in a room. I had waived it for you and wanted you to understand that we have had a lot of experience with pets and this is why we ask pet owners to be responsible for their pets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Decided to take a last minute weekend away to Ely for the winter festival. Decided on staying here for the night. Good decision. Very cozy all around nice stay. Highly recommended. Why does my review need to be 200 characters long?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here when we came up for the Ely Winter Fest. Such nice rooms. Lots of attention to organic, sustainable, and natural products and furnishings. On top of that they use solar panels and environmentally friendly practices. AND it was inexpensive. Staff was friendly and helpful. For anyone wanting a nice place to stay no matter what your priorities, this is a fabulous warm homey motel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you Sue for your kind words. We are truly dedicated to doing our part to reduce our comsumption of energy and chemical. We also are dedicated to support local businesses. Our towels are actually made here in the US and our soaps are all plant based and made right here in Minnesota. It is so awesome to have guests stay with us who appreciate our efforts, but also, even more importantly, gives us a chance to help encourage everyone to do their bit as well.
Our guests are important to us and when we make someone as you happy then our job has been complete. Thank you again and do hope to see you again. Sue Edgington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in Room 5, the Wolf Room. I found the room extremely clean and at a comfortable temperature. Comfortable bed, clock, microwave, refrigerator (turned off) and cable TV. No coffee maker, hair dryer or phone. Coffee and donuts available at 7am in the office. I was very impressed with how well maintain and clean the inn is. The inn is located on the east side of town, quite a walk to the other end of town where most of the unique businesses are in this small town. During the off season, there is not much going on in town. Those businesses that are open close at 5pm. The inn has an excellent TV channel line up. I will not hesitate to come back when in Ely.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel has everything you could need for the weekend get-a-way up-north...we stayed here 2 nights last year & stayed in the queen pine cone room...we decided to go back this year for 4 days, 3 nights in a king room in the main building (with the office) and it was THE most comfortable bed ever. Down blankets & pillows, plus a very comfy mattress. The size of the room was bigger than expected. There was lots of room to put all of our stuff, a flat screen tv (that we hooked up our brought-from-home-blu-ray player to), a nice sized table & chairs, plus a comfy side chair. There is a refrigerator & microwave, which we used to hold our bottled waters, leftovers, & heat up some food. The bathroom was exceptionally clean & very updated. The staff in the office is incredibly nice (especially Louise!) and they offer coffee/tea/pastries in the morning. The town of Ely is quiet & so is the hotel. It is a must stay if you are looking for a budget friendly yet upscale homelike environment up-north. Next time we will try the king-jacuzze suite!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: 1145 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Inn is an earth-friendly, sustainable motel that is dedicated to reducing their energy foot print while providing comfort to their guests. A family run motel. We now have a brand new energy efficient solar thermal building with earthy comfort in mind. Quiet, comfortable with platform beds, hand made furniture,down blankets and pillows. We also have 2 brand new jacuzzi suites. The old economy building no longer exists and we are in the process of rennovating the 10 yr old back building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel Ely

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.