We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rockwood Bar and Grill

Rockwood Bar and Grill
302 East Sheridan Street, Ely, MN 55731-1454
(218) 365-7772
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 22 Restaurants in Ely
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Moline, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food was disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had read great reviews , celebrated my birthday there! was disappointed in the food though had shrimp and baked potatoe- both were bad! Ambience is nothing great would avopid it in the future as ther are soem great places to eat in Ely with a lot better food and ambience!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Average overall. Beautiful patio, great beer selection. Good menu but average food. Lots of fish available. Decent enough to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Our favorite restaurant up north!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family loves to go up north. When we go to Ely, Rockwood is our first food stop! We love the fun atmosphere, friendly staff, wonderful service, and AMAZING food! I always order something different and my food is great every time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest IL
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Ely Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We go to Ely every year for fishing and take at least one trip into town for food and stopped and the food was excellent. Decent beer selection with outstanding service. Nothing fancy but to quench your fishing thirst and fill your belly I would recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We were able to get a patio table for lunch at the beginning of summer. The ambiance was wonderful- the garden surrounding the patio was splendid and made for a delightful place to eat. Now for the food: stuffed avocados reported to be under seasoned and rather boring. The fish tacos were dry, greasy and without the salsa they served on the past. Burger was overcooked. My grandson's plate had hot peppers on the side! This must be an inexperienced chef. Service was spotty with the hostess greeting being the highlight. Too bad because we thought much time and energy was dedicated to the garden, less to the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockwood Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rockwood Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockwood Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.