We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodations and even better hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moose Track Adventures

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moose Track Adventures
593 Kawishiwi Trail, Ely, MN 55731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$80 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty lodging in Ely
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great accomodations and even better hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Joan and Jim did all in their power to make our trip the best. Joan stayed up late to welcome us and make pizza when our flight was delayed. Jim gave us the best of fishing advice and even took us into town to get the right bait. The cabin was much better than I expected for a "remote" cabin and was in a idyllic location. Wouldn't hesitate to use them again next year with my family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
16
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I Just returned from a fishing (not catching) trip to Minnesota. Joan and Jim at Moose Track Adventures were great. We stayed at the Kawishiwi River Cabin. It's a real nice cabin just a few paddle strokes away from the Boundary Waters Canoe Area. We didn't catch many fish but it wasn't for lack of trying or lack of assistance form our host. I think we just hit a tough week to fish. I would recommend the folks at Moose Track.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Prague, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We wanted a quick early fall get-a-way and this was the perfect spot! We love Ely and try and make it there at least once per year. The cabins were roomy, clean and right on the lake which was great since we brought our boat. We also liked having our own fire pit as many cabin places only have a shared one. Great place to stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We had such an amazing time with family and good friends in Ely at Moose Track Adventures. Jim and Joan made our trip so comfortable and nice. The cabins were immaculate and the service was amazing. We look forward to another summer trip in Ely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Our two weeks stay at the cabin (Moose Antler), was nothing short of wonderful.
We had easy access to the wilderness, kayaking right from our cabin on Farm Lake.
And yes, we were lucky enough to see a MOOSE! YEAH!!! (On Kawishiwi River)
Caught fish for dinner, too.
Joan and Jim were right there to meet our needs, and are a lovely interesting couple.
Our cabin was newly redone on the inside, VERY clean and well stocked.
Easy access to ELY for great food.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Jim and Joan are wonderful host and we are very thankful that they have shared their piece of paradise with us. Spending the night in a cozy cabin and then waking up to the spectacular sun rises cannot be beat.

Our teenagers swam, canoed, used the paddle boat and even wanted to attempt fishing. We even rented a motor boat. With no fishing skills, we turn to Jim for advice. A quick trip into town, where The Great Outdoors had the tackle Jim suggested waiting for us, and a map with locations marked where Jim told us to fish, had us occupied for the day. We even caught fish!

Moose Track Adventures is a wonderful place to stay and the kids were making plans for our return visit before we even left.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

What peaceful sleep! Access to the BWCA directly from Farm Lake, easy drives to other BWCA lakes. We stayed in the Bear Paw cabin which was very comfortable and clean, had all the kitchen items we needed for cooking. We were supposed to have 2 teens with us, but glad we didn't since it would have been a bit tight for 4 of us in the cabin. Beautiful view across the lake from our picture window and dock. Lake was great for a swim in the evening. Jim, Joan and Josh had loads of information and advice about the area lakes and fishing, and the pictographs on a lake just a 15 mi. drive up the Echo Trail. Very clean, quiet, basic cabins and very clean grounds.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moose Track Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Track Adventures

Address: 593 Kawishiwi Trail, Ely, MN 55731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty lodging in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Track Adventures Resort, Outfitter & Guide Service is located near Ely, Minnesota and has direct access to the famous Boundary Waters Canoe Area (BWCAW). We offer newly remodeled 2 & 3 bedroom cabins only 25 feet from the lake. Each cabin is fully equipped (except kitchen & bath towels). We also offer complete & partial BWCA canoe outfitting and full & 1/2 day guided fishing & fly-fishing trips with professional & experienced guides. Opened May - September. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moose Track Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Moose Track Adventures to your Saves list