We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorothy Molter Museum

Dorothy Molter Museum
Ely, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Ely
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a very interesting museum to see on a rainy day! The facility was nice and it was cool to see her cabins and items she owned, and learn about how the government treated her. Our tour-guide actually knew Dorothy and that was a treat. The museum smelt of rootbeer which I'm sure Dorothy would have loved, there and around Ely you can get her rootbeer and there are rootbeer related items sold there.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Iowa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Knowledgable and friendly guides walk you through the story of an incredible wildress icon, Dorothy Molter, and then give you a tour of the original cabins that have been moved board by board to their now home just outside Ely.
The tour is into a different world of canoes and living off the land as well as the help of hundreds of strangers that became friends.
Very young children may have a hard time sitting through the introduction but the staff is helpful and accommodating.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Minnesota
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
169 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“It was ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I visited the Dorothy Molter Museum with my wife and mother-in-law. It costs $6.00 for adults as of August 2011. It’s more of a $5 and under attraction but they probably don’t get thousands of visitors. The visit included a video documentary, a guided tour, and we took a hike on the nature trail. The video was good; it included footage of Dorothy working on the islands. The guided tour was informative but our tour guide was a little awkward. We would have enjoyed it more if we could have done our own tour. The nature trail was also fun, though flip-flops in the woods are not a good combination. The gift shop is well stocked with something for almost everyone. Wear close-toed shoes.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Ne.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“It Opened Eyes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

We had arrived in Ely and my group (me and 3 women...two which were teenagers) were a tad bit taken aback by how "rustic" the cabin we had rented was. It didn't bother me, but the females in the group were a little shocked. Well..it was a cold rainy day so we decided to go into Ely and go to the DMM. Well...after 1 hour of being there, educated, learning about how a 77 year old woman lived in the wilderness, well our "rustic" cabin didn't seem so "rustic"! It was an attitude adjustment that came at the perfect time for my group. The staff at the DMM does a fine job and we really enjoyed it. My girlfriend ended up reading the "Root Beer Lady" and even enjoyed the small musuem even more after reading the book about Dorothy Molter.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Must See for Culture Enthusiasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

The Dorothy Molter Museum had an extremely interesting narrative about the life of this fascinating "root beer lady of the Boundary Waters" played out by local volunteers. They were very friendly and willing to answer questions. After the inside story, visitors were taken on a tour of the grounds and buildings, complete with the furnishings as Dorothy had left them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorothy Molter Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorothy Molter Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.