We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel Ely

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Motel Ely to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Motel Ely
1605 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Ely
N California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Friendly motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I managed to find this place at the last minute on a peak season weekend in northern Minnesota. I appreciated the friendly staff and their small but carefully-tended garden with herbs, vegetables and flowers. Not many amenities, but very tidy and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
15
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

We have now stayed at this hotel around 2-3 times in the last year. The front desk staffs are very friendly and helpful. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area. The hotel is located a few minutes from the downtown, however they do not have a shuttle service but the young gentleman at the desk was kind enough to give us a ride after his shift. Check in was smooth and efficient. The lobby is spacious with a very nice little seating area. They have a continental breakfast nothing special just cereal, donuts, coffee etc. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable, bigger than any other Super 8 we’ve stayed at in the past. The beds and pillows are good, and the bathroom was definitely clean the way we all like, excellent over-sized showers too. The hotels free wireless internet WiFi is just the perfect choice for a leisure or business traveler.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

I stayed at the hotel for the weekend to get my daughter settled at the college in town. I brought along my other daughter for the trip, too. The price was reasonable. The place is clean and so was the room. The Wifi worked great. The breakfast included coffee, juice, cold cereal with milk, english muffins with jelly and an assortment of mini doughnuts, muffins, etc.. Some hot cereal choices and fresh fruit would have been nice.

The rooms are very big, at least ours was. Bigger than other Super 8's we've stayed at. We arrived on Friday for the weekend and I'm afraid the noise level was very high. I was awakened the first night at 4am by the neighbors on one side bumping the wall and moaning, while the neighbors on the other side sounded as though they were watching a football game yelling and laughing and jumping around. This is NOT a quiet place by any means. Also, our room was on the first floor which meant we heard every footstep above us. Don't come here for peace and quiet.

The staff seemed friendly and polite.

I don't know what it's like during the week, but the most complaints I had was the noise.

  • Liked — BIg room, location near the college
  • Disliked — Noise, noise, noise!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. The hotel is fairly clean and OK to sleep in at night. The price is right depending on when in the season you get there. The morning "breakfast" is coffee and a few other sparse offerings. The location is a little out of town but that's not a big deal if you drove there. Management was helpful with requests.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

Best deal in this area. Provides a clean, safe, comfortable, quiet place to sleep. Best hotel/motel in town. Interior corridors make it one of the quietest too - day or night. Not many vacation amenities, but that's for the town to provide and it does! - This is just a great palce to stay that will not eat up all of your vacation nestegg!

  • Liked — Price, internet, cleanliness and comfort of beds
  • Disliked — nothing...
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

Clean, comfortable, pleasant staff. A great value. It's a "stay over on the way someplace else" kind of hotel...not the place I'd go as a destination...no pool, no food service, etc.. But for the price in that part of the world it's a real value.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2005

First off, we thought we would have a pool or that without a pool at least it wouldn't be as expensive. We found it expensive for what you did get especially when you compare it to other places in Ely. We stayed there because it was right next to Vermillion College where our son goes to school. We were told it would be more expensive if we used both of the beds in the room!! We thought that was a little strange!! The room was not vacuumed, but other than that it was ok.....The continental breakfast was some powdered donuts. I believe the price was $89.00 per night.

  • Stayed January 2003
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Motel Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel Ely

Address: 1605 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Motel Ely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ely
Super Eight Ely
Ely Super Eight
Ely Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel Ely, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.