We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britton's Cafe

Britton's Cafe
5 E Chapman St, Ely, MN 55731-1227
218-365-3195
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Ely
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Open for Breakfast and Lunch
Cedar Rapids, IA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good stuff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Outstanding breakfast. But get there early, or you'll wait for a table!

Your classic cafe. An experienced waitress covering 6-8 tables all at the same time and still able to warm my coffee. Big, stick-to-your-ribs breakfast. I had the ham/cheese omelet (eggs were just 30 seconds too done, but that's being picky). Son had the ham steak and was very satisfied.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Siler City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hearty Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hugh portions of food, fresh baked cinnamon and caramel rolls. Pancakes are gigantic. You will not go away hungry. Very busy in the morning, tables are close together and it was crowded.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Best breakfast in the world!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I hadn't been to Britton's since I was a young girl ( I am now 51). My husband and I went this past weekend. It is still the same wonderful food I remember. The stuffed hashbrowns are the best I have ever had. I still say Britton;s is my favorit restaurant the world over!!! I love being in a place that is swarming with locals..... Ach, ya!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Britton's Cafe was recommended by the host of our motel. You can not believe how wonderful this little "hole in the wall" cafe is! You have to go there and find out for yourself! The portions are HUGE and the taste is wonderful! We did not have to go for lunch. A great start for a wonderful day in Ely, Minnesota.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stuffed hashbrowns are terrific!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The veggie and cheese stuffed hashbrowns are terrific...perfectly crispy and golden on the outside, creamy on the inside--delish! My companion had two pancakes that were literally as big as the plate...they were light and fluffy and the side of bacon was thick, smoky and salty...not your ordinary bacon. I can see why this place is so popular with locals and visitors alike.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Britton's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britton's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.