We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Good as Previous Visits” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sir G's Italian Restaurant

Sir G's Italian Restaurant
520 East Sheridan Street, Ely, MN 55731
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 22 Restaurants in Ely
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Stillwater, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not as Good as Previous Visits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was my third or fourth time at Sir G's restaurant. I was disappointed in the taste of the meal on this visit. Previous meals were all very good. I was there with 3 other canoeing buddies and we all thought the pasta dishes we ate were so-so at best. We each ordered different things, so I think the issues was not just limited to my meal nor to just my taste buds.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    19
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This Pizza beats the Chains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Have been coming here for years and it is a good pizza. Coming from the Chicago area we are used to all variations of pizza. Thin crust, stuffed, deep dish. Although it is not a Chicago pizza it is quite good and takes care of the pizza craving when in Ely.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delish!! :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had the Shrimp and Chicken Alfredo...delicious!! :-) Nice size portion and great service! Definitely will be back to try more. Thank you for a great evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Italian.....Maybe Upstate MinnesotItalian......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

After a couple nights of walleye, we went to Sir G's for some "Italian". Uh, yeah, just because you have some Italian food names on the menu doesn't mean it's the real deal. The quality isn't absolutely terrible, but for the price, it's not that great either. Take for example the bread - a little loaf of some crusted white bread that's about Italian as my Uncle Murphy. I ordered an Italian sausage ........it was a patty and I think I would have just called Spicy Ground Beef on the menu. I doubt it was sausage at all. Of course if you douse pasta or whatever in enough marinara and cheese, I guess it seems Italian. They had some of the pasta as a kind of "side" dish, which seemed strange. I had the ravioli as a side to the sausage, and it just so-so.

Over all....for the price and quality I was disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Pizza and Pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Best Pizza, LaSagna, and Cappoletti in Minnesota!! Service was very good and the food was Excellent!
Atmosphere very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir G's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sir G's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir G's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.