We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paddle Inn Motel

Paddle Inn Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paddle Inn Motel
Save
You added Paddle Inn Motel to your Saves list
1314 E Sheridan, Ely, MN 55731   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ely
Baxter, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I would stay again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Older motel, but very well kept. Owner's take pride in the property. Best nights rest I've had in a long time! Clean, clean, clean!! No spiders, no bugs and only one small fly that I probably let in myself!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Enjoyed every minute spent at the Paddle Inn. Very clean, friendly environment. Excellent customer service. The owners were wonderful! Making this an annual vacation location!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glarus, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Once a year, we travel to Ely for a fishing trip into the Boundary Waters and stay a night at the Paddle Inn before entry. This year, the fishing was a little slow on Basswood, so we spent five nights. With a few tips from owners Dan and Rose, we did very well fishing the local lakes! Sauna was nice after a long day on the water. Nice people, nice rooms and a great dog named Bart. Next year we plan on staying more than one night again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stay at the Paddle Inn every time we go to Ely. Our last trip 5/13 was just as great as the 1st. Very clean rooms and wonderful hosts. I had work that needed to be done so we asked for a quiet room towards the back (it was very quiet). All of my work was done on the internet. We'll be back later this summer.

Thanks
Joe
Montana

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Tiny room. Noisy through walls to next room. Zero updates since built in the 1960s or whenever. Small beds. Soft mattresses. Semi-clean. Same carpeting as mini-golf course. Power strip for AC bolted to wall. Ungracious innkeepers. Lied about WiFi ... didn't work. Should have taken photos to upload to really give this place "justice." AVOID!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paddleinnely, Owner at Paddle Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
I'm really not sure how to respond to this as we have had no complaints to us, so we don't know who this is or what room they were in. All of our rooms have been updated. As soon as I read this I took my laptop over to the farthest room from the office and was able to receive internet connections. Our rooms have A/C, microwaves, refridgerators, coffee makers, cable TV, new beds 2010/11, small table with chairs in most rooms. I will say they did not have these in the 60's.
Our rooms are not as big as a suite, but have ample room and our rates reflect that. Yes, our rooms have green carpet and are kept well cleaned, as far as being the same as the mini golf I would,nt know as we Do Not own the mini golf. All of our rooms are checked and cleaned daily to ensure the best stay in the area for our customers.
We strive to make everyone as confortable and happy as they can be. We have different size rooms fo fit everyones needs, rates will be higher for larger rooms.
I'm sorry this person had a bad experiance, but without knowing something was wrong we had no chance to make it better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Beware of this place....They ran my credit cards 5 times also ran son's girl friends credit card ... Still fighting with the paddle in to give us our money.... We will have to settle this matter in court.... BEWARE DO NOT give them your Credit card INFO.. Very Rude people scam's the are.... I was to pay for ONE night 73.45 they have two charges for 147.00 and another for 220.89.. charged for 73.65... BIG BIG BIG SCAM"S they are BEWARE OF THE PADDLE INN

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

I stayed at the Paddle Inn while traveling thru Ely. The room was very clean and quiet. I even enjoyed a nice sauna before I turned in for the night. The owners of this establishment (Dan & Rose) were the friendly and most accommodating. I do highly recommend staying here if you ever travel thru Ely and the BWCA. The rates are very reasonable. Be sure to say hi to Bart (the dog) when you stay there he likes to be petted.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paddle Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddle Inn Motel

Address: 1314 E Sheridan, Ely, MN 55731
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ely
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddle Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.