We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run to Ely, Run Away from River Point” 1 of 5 stars
Review of River Point Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Point Resort
Save
You added River Point Resort to your Saves list
12007 River Point Road, PO Box 397, Ely, MN 55731   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Run to Ely, Run Away from River Point”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We felt like we were a burden. Simple requests like “can you recommend a place to eat in town” were met with heavy sighs. The grounds are pretty but the accommodation is of poor quality. Drains not draining, no/few towels and a disinterested staff really spoiled an otherwise great trip. Once in town we met the great people of Ely and everyone was helpful, kind and fun. Maybe these folks have been in the hospitality business too long but just about everyone working at River Point seemed to hate what they were doing and viewed the guests as a nuisance. If you avoid this outfitter you will avoid the only negative experiences we had in a week in wonderful Ely, MN.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quietriver, Owner at River Point Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2010
We value your feedback and do apologize for all on staff for not paying closer attention to your needs while a guest at our facility. It is most unfortunate that you perceived that the staff viewed you “as a nuisance”, and for that we are truly sorry. More information will be added to our present flyers and handouts outlining in even greater detail all the restaurant and cafes to enjoy in downtown Ely so that it is at our guest’s fingertips, for greater ease in making dining choices.
The drain that did not drain in the accommodation you rented was, unfortunately, filled with hair as is quite common. Mentioning this in the Office during your stay or filling out the convenient “Maintenance & Repair” form found within the "Guest Notebook" lying on your accommodation’s kitchen table, and then turning it in at Wildwood Lodge, the Office, or passing it along to any staff person, as suggested on the “Maintenance” form, would have been appreciated. Maintenance staff would have been dispatched to your accommodation, at your convenience, to correct the situation and make your vacation more pleasant. This type of maintenance is a most simple “fix”. By not reporting this inconvenience while you were here did not offer us the opportunity to “make it right” for you during your stay.
Towels: River Point is a housekeeping resort, which means that you are renting a completely furnished and fully equipped accommodation with a kitchen. You provide your own food; cook your meals, etc. You bring your own bath/kitchen towels, including pot holders for oven cooking/baking for rentals of two or more nights. Bath and kitchen towel sets are provided when renting just an overnight stay. A convenient Guest Laundromat is also onsite. Should you have desired additional toweling, a request for such would have been honored immediately.
More information on this and other helpful topics can be found on the “Frequently Asked Questions” on the website. Again, we appreciate and respect your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    2
    1
    11
See reviews for
15
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

I booked this trip at the last minute and was lucky enough that Riverpoint had one cabin still available. We booked the one bedroom Riverview unit. Although it was not cheap ($330 per night) it was very nice and had all of the best amenities. It had a nice screened in porch, deck with chairs, full gourmet kitchen, central a/c, fireplace, queen bed, two baths and a jetted tub. The location is very nice and you truly are in the wilderness. We rented boats two of the days and did a lot of fishing and exploring. The fishing was not so good this particular weekend but I hear it normally is.

I have no idea what some of the other reviews were talking about with the customer service. I found every single employee to be extremely friendly, helpful, and really just a pleasure to be around. Jane and her husband and family were warm and welcoming. I will be sure to come back.

My only negative is that the Riverview cabin has no privacy whatsoever. While you do have a lake view, you are sandwiched in between two other cabins. You can hear every word the other guests are saying if you are outside and can see in each other's cabins.

Be sure to go to Burntside lodge for the best meal in the area.......it was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quietriver, Owner at River Point Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Thank you for finding River Point Resort for your "last minute" getaway vacation Up North. Much appreciated are your most kind words and compliments regarding both the Riverview Cabin and the service from our friendly staff and our family. Just one FYI: the building to the right of Riverview as you face the lake is simply a small Bait & Tackle Shop (open 8:30 am-5:00pm), and is not a rental accommodation. Having satisfied guests like you is a pleasure and a reward for all of us. We look forward to your return visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Once upon a time, back in 1982, my husband and I settled on a vacation at "River Point Resort". In this pre-Internet age, we made our decision based on the best "brochure" we had received from area resorts.

It proved to be a match made in heaven, and we have returned annuallly with few exceptions.

The setting, at the juncture of Birch Lake and the Kawishiwi River, is nothing short of spectacular. We have enjoyed watching the evolution of River Point itself over the decades as larger "homes" and "villas" have been built and added to the resort. Older, smaller accommodations are never neglected; we are continually impressed with regular updates and improvements.

Two of my favorite activities are joining my husband fishing, especially on a quiet, foggy morning as the loons call...and catching up on my reading in the myriad peaceful, serene settings offered.

The entire Koschak family are warm, wonderful, gracious hosts without fail. They are, at once, respectful of guest's privacy, yet always ready and eager to be of assistance.

In closing, I'd simply say: Relax, Refresh, Renew.... River Point !!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Those who have traveled to Northern Minnesota and Wisconsin in search of lake cabin accomodations know that the term "resort" can and does take on many different faces. While most travelers are in search of fine fishing, solitude, canoeing, hiking and all the other outdoor activities offered in this region, it doesn't hurt to have a nice, clean, comfortable cabin waiting at the end of the day.

Our family has experienced three different resorts in the Ely, MN area over eight years. The past four years have been with River Point Resort. Why do we keep going back? Setting aside all the wonderful scenery, wildlife, great fishing and paddling, it's because the accomodations at River Point are the finest in the area according to this camper. The housekeeping cabins are kept up to date and clean, the grounds are well-maintained and the staff is always eager to help in any way possible to make our stay enjoyable. We have enjoyed the same cabin (Shifiting Pine) for three consecutive years and are booked again for Summer, 2010.

Short of buying or building our own cabin, Shifting Pine at River Point is our Northwoods home-away-from-home.

Steve and Jane Koschak own and run the resort along with their son, James. The resort has been in Steve's family for many years and he is a native of Ely. With his knowledge of the area, Jane's attention toward customer service and James' expertise in outfitting those who wish to venture into the Boundary Waters Canoe Area, they have all the bases covered.

If you're looking for a great getaway in the Northwoods for some quality relaxation, fine fishing, excellent paddling and topnotch cabin accomodations, please consider River Point. It's the highlight of our Summer each year and will be for many years to come.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Ely, Minnesota and the BWCA have always been a magical place to visit; our family has many fond memories associated with this pristine wilderness area. Much like the changing seasons, so have our needs changed over the years in terms of selecting the perfect vacation spot. We have tried several resorts in the Ely area and are thankful for eventually landing at River Point Resort.

This summer will mark our fifth year at River Point Resort and we look forward to making the 900 mile drive because we know what awaits us. The excitement sets in as we drive through the tiny town of Ely, marveling at her quaint shops and familiar main street. As we drive through town and turn up the road, we anticipate reaching the entrance to River Point. The mile long drive along a wooded roadway leads to what can only be described as one of the most splendid resort areas in the Midwest.

The staff, especially owners Jane and Steve Koschak, are friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and most caring. I can honestly say they treat all their guests like members of their own family. There is something for everybody – you can join in on many fun & interesting planned activities which are provided for guests, take advantage of the fine outfitting service if you’re so inclined to really rough it or you can go off on your own adventures without ever interacting with another soul if that is your desire!

The accommodations are top-notch – I often joke with my friends that the “cabin” we stay in (Shifting Pine) is nicer than the house my husband and I lived in when we were first married! Every comfort of home abounds and if you need anything – all you have to do is ask. It’s like they’ve transported upscale suburban dwellings and nestled them neatly into the forest. Even the pickiest of guests would agree that everything on the grounds exceeds expectations.

My husband would go fishing the entire time if he could, but there are so many other things to do! We also canoe, hike, and just relax with a good book on the deck which overlooks the water. It is a relaxing, peaceful and simply stunning place to spend a vacation. Unlike other resorts or vacation spots, you actually feel rested and renewed when you leave. There are so many reasons we keep coming back to River Point Resort – I highly recommend you see for yourself.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blownawaylucy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We decided to spend our honeymoon up in northern minnesota for the beauty of it. We found the RIver Point Resort online and decided to book their honeymoon package. For the price we paid, we were very dissapointed. The room we booked was small, the "extras" that came with the room - warm wine, dirty wine glasses, and their "luxury" robes that have been bleached and starched one too many times.

The host were less than hospitable. Only time we saw them is if we needed something and had to seek them out. They didn't bother to ask how our stay was going, which was strange especially since we were the only ones there. They would commonly close up the shop/office and hide in their house the whole time. After learning about our hosts, it is no wonder why the service sucks. A couple from the cities who try to run a resort in gods country doesn't work. When they are use to being pampered, it's hard to turn a leaf and help someone else.

Besides the bad hospitality at this resort, the scenery is beautiful. I would recommend heading up there to see it! We saw deer, bald eagles, and caught some big fish.
But if you are traveling to this area, find another place. At the most, bring a boat and stay at the hotel downtown for cheaper. Most of the stuff you do is outside anyways, and you mostly just need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Mn
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

My wife and I have spent a week at River Point Resort 27 times, so we've spent over a half a year of our lives there, and we have never had a bad experience. It is about 2-3 miles outside the BWCA, so it is a near-wilderness experience, yet after a day of hiking, fishing and/or canoeing we can return to a luxury 2 or 3 bedroom "cabin."

Many resorts seem to have rows of "modern" cabins (meaning there are indoor toilets and running water) on lakes ringed with private cabins. Most of River Point's accommodations are really very up-to-date homes with distance between each, on a 17 mile long lake with very few private homes. We've stayed in many of River Point's homes and they are always clean. There are expansive decks and screened porches, large whirpools, nice kitchens, and wood-burning fireplaces.

I have found the staff to be wonderful: replenishing supplies daily, getting gas for the boat, recharging boat batteries, chatting with us like they care about us and as if they enjoy what they are doing. Owners, Jane, Steve and their son, James are a joy to see again each year. I believe their customer service to be exemplary. Need something?... they make it happen and never give me the impression they are too busy.........though I know they are, because every year we come up, there have been upgrades made, new cabins built, more flowers planted, boats with new motors that never fail to start.

So based on our many visits, I would say we LOVE the place and the people associated with River Point. The setting could not be better. Just got back 3 weeks ago and can't wait to get back up there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Point Resort

Address: 12007 River Point Road, PO Box 397, Ely, MN 55731
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Number of rooms: 33

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.